We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Old fashioned Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alderley Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderley Edge
Ickleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice Old fashioned Hotel”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed here recently for a business trip. I was given a nice but small room. It was very comfortable, but the TV was small and there was no wifi in the room! Even worse was on the hottest day(and night) of the year, there is no airconditioning. The atmosphere was very middle England with great service from the staff and a great breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonG371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    88
    81
    35
    6
See reviews for
56
138
9
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

A very delightful stay, it is surrounded by posh and beautiful houses, woods and a charming village.

The service was excellent, food very good, walking distance to shops and great restaurants. I want to especially thank Aimee and the Hanna(s) for making me feel welcome and, at home, while I was away.

The Wi-Fi in the room could be improved.

I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markmag56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I got married here on 8th June 2013, and from our first visit to the hotel to the big day itself, the whole experience was fantastic. The hotel is lovely, as are the staff - and the food is not to be missed. If you're looking for a Cheshire-based venue for 50-100 guests I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Delamere, one of the bridal suites, is gorgeous, as is the cottage close to the Laurent-Perrier suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leejdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

stayed here two nights for a friends wedding, the wedding was perfect and the surroundings are lovely but i was surprised how small the bedroom was for the price, also the tv was very tiny and difficult to see.

breakfast was ok,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibraltar2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brize Norton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This was a business trip and for the money I had to pay (£140) I have to say it was very disappointing. In my opinion the hotel is stuck in the 90's. While most of the staff were very friendly and help the overall service provide by the hotel is not up to standard for the price. The room I stay in (room 13 of the ground floor) was very small and tacky, although it was clean.

I will not be staying here again as it is not good value......... If this was a sub £70/night hotel I would not be writing this feedback.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed here for just one night whilst up on a photo shoot for a local Pilates Studio - this was their recommended hotel for guests and I can see why. What a lovely place. Polite and helpful staff, great breakfast and really comfortable rooms. Mine seemed to have been recently refurbished, and the bathroom was beautifully tiled and decorated. Super shower too (the measure of a good hotel in my opinion).

The only thing that lets it down is the paper thin walls ... I could hear people upstairs walking around and in the loo at various times throughout the night, so my trusty ear plugs were needed at about 2am, to ensure I could get back to sleep.

Apart from that, a really good choice in a lovely part of the world !

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ThomasViaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel by accident as we were having work done on the house and could not stay there. As Alderley Edge must be one of my favourite places I wasn't complaining.
The location for the village is great, just an easy short walk even in the highest of heels.

Check in was quick and very efficient the staff were friendly and knowledgable about the area. We got a very good price on the internet which was much lower than the rack rates displayed and at the weekend all rates include Breakfast.

The rooms were a little on the small side but I believe the 'named' rooms are considerably larger. All rooms have a great view of the Cheshire Plains or the village and beyond Manchester.

All staff were very helpful throughout the weekend. The only reason for the 4 star rather than 5 star review was Breakfast service. The food choice itself was great and tasted amazing. But the staff were clearly not trained or just not bothered. We were seated and not offered coffee etc... for around 10 minutes which then took a further 20 to turn up. As things ran out on the continental buffet it was not replenished and staff did not service check the table and so it was very difficult to get anything at all. If it had not been included in the price I would not have paid.

Just to note for all you girlies travelling there is no conditioner in the rooms and none available from reception.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex2683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
1.7 mi away
Kingsley Lodge
Kingsley Lodge
#1 of 5 in Wilmslow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderley Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderley Edge Hotel

Property: Alderley Edge Hotel
Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alderley Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elizabethan-Gothic Alderley Edge Hotel, with its panoramic views over the beautiful Cheshire Plain and Derbyshire countryside, is matched only by its superb facilities, excellent reputation and relaxed, inviting atmosphere.The award-winning hotel - with 50 comfortable and welcoming rooms and suites - offers guests the perfect choice of business, pleasure, private dining, corporate entertaining, conference, family celebration and wedding facilities.All supported by exceptionally stylish food from an executive chef and kitchen team whose coveted three AA rosettes standard serves the hotel's Alderley Restaurant and the more traditionaaly casual brasserie. Two very different eating experiences reaching from fine dining to a modern take on high-quality classically retro food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alderley Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderley Edge Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing