We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alderley Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderley Edge
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel with great service”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel had nice clean rooms with classic charm. The restaurant had an excellent breakfast and the pub was a great place to relax. The hotel staff went above and beyond during my stay. In particular, they helped track down a lost mobile phone that I had left in another town and would have ruined my trip if it was not found. In addition, the hotel is an easy walk to Alderley Edge with additional restaurants and shops and a train station.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    91
    88
    38
    7
See reviews for
60
143
10
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the food. So as a lone business traveller the dine in options are great meaning I don't have to go out for a dinner for one. Room service food is some of the best I have had.

Rooms are quite average - if you need to work make sure you get a room with a proper desk (not dressing table and stool). Small and floral.

Walls are paper thin - I could hear my neighbour's TV and phone conversations.

It is not my hotel of choice but there aren't many options in AE. In summary, food excellent, everything else average.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

I read reviews, I read their reviews! I wasn't worth the money! We were met my a group of chattering girls on reception, it must of been a shif change, or something; I was the last person getting the attention. Finally checked into my room, very nice, great styling. I woke in the morning to discover a wardrobe full of clothes, suitcase, laptop, toiletries etc.. After much confusion the receptionist explained that the room was booked for a week, that person had gone away with friends for a couple of days!! If I was him, I'd not have been happy!
Sooo noisy throughout the night, doors banging, creaking floors.
There's better in Alderley Edge, although it was a good base to explore the town's restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichStanleyGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We booked a gourmet package for ourselves & my sister & brother in law,in a executive suite. We were not disappointed. The rooms are spacious,with a large comfy bed.comfy easy chairs,mini bar and a good tea tray. The bathroom,although on the small side,was plenty big enough. My only gripe is,if I was washing at the basin,I would be caught by the door if my husband had come in. We opted for the 7 course tasting menu with wine. It was amazing,we also added a cheese board as well. The service was easy and relaxed. Breakfast was great too,with a buffet selection of quality ingredients. Whilst it was expensive,we wouldn't hesitate to cone back for a special occasion. The staff were all brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrewsburyChefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights for family wedding. Reception staff pleasant, welcoming & helpful. Well appointed room probably only just refurbished. Fabulous fluffy towels & bathrobes. Very large comfy bed. Everything worked. Disappointing view of shed & fence outside albeit hidden by net curtains. Fabulous breakfast thrown in with weekend price. First morning most attenive service ever received in a restaurant. Not so next day when a wedding group invade & breakfast reduced to buffet scrum. Not staff's fault but glad we did not pay the £17.50 for that. Clearly consider themselves a top dining location with tasting menu at £69.50. However whilst restaurant nicely appointed inside it looks out on to same boring fence as our bedroom. You would not notice this in the winter when dining. It is located within Alderley Edge village which is quite chi chi with plenty of expensive restaurants & jewellers for their footballer clientele. If you like football you will probably see one or 2 footballers with their Bentleys & Overfinches at the hotel. Overall enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here in the summer for a night. Generally it was ok. My room was a bit tired maybe. But the biggest problem was that it had paper thin walls. I could hear everything happening in the room next door. Unfortunately my neighbour was from the states, and was on the phone to home I presume at 2am. I could hear the entire conversation, and had to get up, go to reception and ask them to call him to keep the noise down. Probably the worst night's sleep I've ever had in a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

After three previous excellent "Taster Menue" visits, the latest was a serious disappointment, two of the five offerings were no better than silly little concoctions, the so called cheese and ham "sandwich" and the "Reconstructed" apple and blackberry crumble, were poor both in concept and substance. The problem with taster menues is trying too hard to be original and perhaps funny, yet produce serious food.
A word of advice avoid the "wine package", a tiny glass of Sauvignon and Pinot and a small glass of second rate pudding wine represent poor value, they do some excellent wines, cheaper to buy a couple of bottles for a group of four
It's an excellent kitchen so we won't give up.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderley Edge
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,557 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
373 reviews
8.4 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
6.7 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderley Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderley Edge Hotel

Property: Alderley Edge Hotel
Address: Macclesfield Road, Alderley Edge SK9 7BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Alderley Edge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderley Edge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alderley Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elizabethan-Gothic Alderley Edge Hotel, with its panoramic views over the beautiful Cheshire Plain and Derbyshire countryside, is matched only by its superb facilities, excellent reputation and relaxed, inviting atmosphere.The award-winning hotel - with 50 comfortable and welcoming rooms and suites - offers guests the perfect choice of business, pleasure, private dining, corporate entertaining, conference, family celebration and wedding facilities.All supported by exceptionally stylish food from an executive chef and kitchen team whose coveted three AA rosettes standard serves the hotel's Alderley Restaurant and the more traditionaaly casual brasserie. Two very different eating experiences reaching from fine dining to a modern take on high-quality classically retro food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Alderley Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderley Edge Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing