We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of attention seekers”
Review of The Botanist

The Botanist
Price range: US$12 - US$21
Cuisines: Barbecue, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Formally No.15 Wine Bar, The Botanist offers a well stocked cellar of cask-conditioned ales, more than 70 bottled beers and ciders from around the world, a selection of finest Champagnes and an intriguing cocktail menu. Food comes in the form of a deli-style menu with rotisserie and barbecue. Owned and operated by the New World Pub Company, The Botanist is unlike anything else.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Full of attention seekers”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Food was fine, service was fine, but the next time I want to eat next to a pack of Hyena's I'll book a date in the zoo!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsey p, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Happy to hear both service and food were good on your visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    184
    64
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

First time in the botanist for a friends birthday. Nice menu with some different choices. Wonderful to be looked after by happy smiling staff!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsey p, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
A great review - huge thanks for your time and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Victim of their success”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Sunday night May 4th.
Arrived at 8.30, table for 6 booked for 8.45 the place was heaving, great atmosphere, we were happy seated having drinks by the bar for after an hour became restless and kept asking when will be seated. Diners were enjoying themselves and did not want to vacate their tables. In the end we were seated at 9.40 and had a very good meal . As a token of goodwill the manager did not charge us for for pre drinks. This was greatly appreciated and in fact whereas we may not have returned this token made the difference we shall certainly return but maybe not on a bank holiday
it had been a sunny bank holiday day there were extra people in from the outside area all wanting service and that's why they were slightly overwhelmed. But all is well that ends well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank getupanggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsey p, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. Great to hear you will return to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I am addicted to the hanging chicken kebabs and the coconut and banana dessert.
Visited on many occasions and always great service and the atmosphere is spot on with live music on most nights.
For me this is my favorite and I dine out 4 times a week.
Cannot fault anything.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsey p, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Delighted with your review. Our live music is 6 nights per week and over Sunday lunch. Hope to see you back soon. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Bar tenders”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent cocktails but be aware of your drinks on the bar. They may disappear even half full!!! The stuff is extremely fast!

Helpful?
Thank Ilias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsey p, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Please contact us with more details at alderleybdm@thebotanist.uk.com and we will investigate further. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Botanist also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to The Botanist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing