We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”
Review of The Botanist

The Botanist
Price range: US$12 - US$21
Cuisines: Barbecue, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Formally No.15 Wine Bar, The Botanist offers a well stocked cellar of cask-conditioned ales, more than 70 bottled beers and ciders from around the world, a selection of finest Champagnes and an intriguing cocktail menu. Food comes in the form of a deli-style menu with rotisserie and barbecue. Owned and operated by the New World Pub Company, The Botanist is unlike anything else.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We visited again this time bringing friends and having talked about the atmosphere and delicious food I hoped I wouldn't be eating my words! We were not disappointed. We booked for 9pm, arrived early and enjoyed delicious cocktails at the bar before seating. Again the food was beautifully cooked and presented and the service attentive without being intrusive. I think this is now my favourite place to dine in Alderley Edge for an evening meal. There was also live music playing, adding to an overall lovely evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsey p, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
What an amazing review thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    184
    64
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Bank holiday at the botanist ”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

A friend had been asking me to join her down in Alderley edge for a while and the bank holiday weekend seemed like the perfect excuse. We arrived half an hour before our booking and were politely asked by the lovely host if we'd like to have a drink at the bar whilst we waited for our table. The bar service was fantastic. A friendly redhead showed my friend and I through the cocktails whilst our husbands were guided through an extensive beer menu by another bartender. By the time they were finished we wanted to order everything! The botanist is a must! (The cocktail that is) When we were seated the atmosphere in the restaurant was buzzing. The service from Olivia was quick and engaging and because we were having such a good time she suggested we come back the next day for a hangover Sunday roast...that's exactly what we did! The high level of service was continued by Georgia on the Sunday. All the staff have great personalities and make you feel very welcome, as does the homely yet quirky decor. Can't wait
return.

Helpful?
Thank Amandalloyd70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsey p, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
We appreciate your time taken to review us and delighted you enjoyed your visit. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Full of attention seekers”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Food was fine, service was fine, but the next time I want to eat next to a pack of Hyena's I'll book a date in the zoo!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsey p, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Happy to hear both service and food were good on your visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

First time in the botanist for a friends birthday. Nice menu with some different choices. Wonderful to be looked after by happy smiling staff!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsey p, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
A great review - huge thanks for your time and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Victim of their success”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Sunday night May 4th.
Arrived at 8.30, table for 6 booked for 8.45 the place was heaving, great atmosphere, we were happy seated having drinks by the bar for after an hour became restless and kept asking when will be seated. Diners were enjoying themselves and did not want to vacate their tables. In the end we were seated at 9.40 and had a very good meal . As a token of goodwill the manager did not charge us for for pre drinks. This was greatly appreciated and in fact whereas we may not have returned this token made the difference we shall certainly return but maybe not on a bank holiday
it had been a sunny bank holiday day there were extra people in from the outside area all wanting service and that's why they were slightly overwhelmed. But all is well that ends well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank getupanggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsey p, Manager at The Botanist, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. Great to hear you will return to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Botanist also viewed

Alderley Edge, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 

Been to The Botanist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing