We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic b&b”
Review of The Huntsman

The Huntsman
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Cheadle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A multi award winning pub close to alton towers and the staffordshire moorlands
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic b&b”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just got home from our second stay at the huntsman pub and b&b in Cheadle staffs, only about 15 mins from alton towers and what can I say well one word FANTASTIC. The two brothers that run the huntsman conor and keiran are the the most friendly landlords you will ever meet, they make you feel welcome from the start of your stay till the end. The rooms are fantastic and the beds are the best (didn't want to get up lol) even my partner paul who doesn't normally sleep well managed to sleep better than normal. The food here is absolutely worth every penny (not expensive) I think I have put on a few pounds. Real ale drinkers would love the guest ales they have on from local breweries Thanks for a brilliant stay conor and keiran, hope to see you both again very soon :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cazza0267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsmancheadle, Owner at The Huntsman, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the B&B I know it was your & Pauls second stay with us and it has been a pleasure. Hope to see you again the next time you are down this way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    39
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic pub”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Nice friendly pub, lovely owners, great beer & good pub grub & a lovely beer garden & play area for kids in summer

Helpful?
Thank hillyspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsmancheadle, Owner at The Huntsman, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for such a nice review of our little country pub hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

All food was excellent, complete with homemade chips and very fresh tasting vegetables. Can't fault it.

All thought beer was very high standard but wine was mainly cheaper pub variety jack rabbit, full bottles were very pricey ,shame.

Ladies were fairly clean but broken loo seat and taps let's it down, desperate tlc required.

Staff were lovely . Tables too squished together and no privacy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UkCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsmancheadle, Owner at The Huntsman, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank You UkCoco for your review so glad you enjoyed the food, Regarding the toilet seat it was broken on Friday night and the handy man was not in till Monday to replace it so sorry for any inconvenience and I hope it did not spoil your visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food, good beers, Excellent value”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Called in with my daughter, first visit for about a year and was very impressed. The place has had a facelift and the lunch menu seemed improved. Two courses for £5 and two very good courses they were. The Haddock and chips main was superb, best chips I have had this year!

Helpful?
Thank Normanbitesyerleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsmancheadle, Owner at The Huntsman, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell everyone about our chips we seam to be getting quiet a reputation for our real chips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Huntsman Pub”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Been using the Huntsman Pub for the last 5 years, for meals, social events, birthday parties and everyday leisure. Cannot praise the owners Kieran and Connor highly enough for their outstanding customer care, service and hospitality. Both my wife and my family have eaten at the pub on countless occasions and cannot fault either the food or the hospitality shown to us all on EVERY occasion. I understand that on occasions due to the demands on the kitchen a lead time for food is to be expected from such a welcoming establishment!
I would encourage ANYONE to visit this well run public house and sample good food, fine beers and wines, and above all else a fabulous welcome.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsmancheadle, Owner at The Huntsman, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Amy thank you for taking the time to review us and thank you for what you have said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Huntsman also viewed

Cheadle, Staffordshire
Cheadle, Staffordshire
 
Alton, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Cheadle, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Huntsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing