We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“homely, friendly, good food, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Huntsman

The Huntsman
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Cheadle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A multi award winning pub close to alton towers and the staffordshire moorlands
Letterkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
“homely, friendly, good food, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Having had a long fun day at Alton towers we were glad to check in at the Huntsman. On arrival we were greeted by a smile and a welcome, but were informed due to a problem with laundry service we had no clean sheets on our beds however within half an hour this was sorted out and problem solved. Room was basic but homely, clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast next morning was both continental and a fry, you can choose either or both. The fry was very good with lovely herby sausages. U can also choose what time u would like breakfast which is nice as we were leaving early to return to Alton Towers. Dinner food is of a high standard considering it is pub food. It is fresh and cooked to order- so be prepared to wait a while- it is worth it. I chose pie and pint costing 6.95. Pie was lovely as were the home made chips. I was unsure which local ale to try- they have a good election, so was offered the chance to taste test them which was a nice touch. Staff and owners are good natured and were happy to chat to us. All in all a well priced, homely, local pub/b &b. Good food and service. Should we return to Alton towers we will return. Vincent and Nicola. Co. Donegal

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsmancheadle, Owner at The Huntsman, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    37
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Friendly with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

On our way home from visiting Alton towers, me and my boyfriend we're trying to find a nice pub to grab some lunch, the huntsman was friendly and welcoming, a little quiet as there weren't many eating at the time but the food was lovely and great value for money, we would eat here again, thank you :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wales199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsmancheadle, Owner at The Huntsman, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you we do appreciate you taking the time to review our little country pub :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“The Huntsman”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely family friendly pub. Great large beer garden and swings and slides. Lovely food and fantastic friendly atmosphere. I would recommend and will consider staying at in the future. Landlord service with a smile and very pleasant. 5 out of 5 Scores on the doors. We will a stop as part of a future Alton Towers break. Locals even offered to carry drinks and open the gate to the beer garden.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsmancheadle, Owner at The Huntsman, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review and we are looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just got home from our second stay at the huntsman pub and b&b in Cheadle staffs, only about 15 mins from alton towers and what can I say well one word FANTASTIC. The two brothers that run the huntsman conor and keiran are the the most friendly landlords you will ever meet, they make you feel welcome from the start of your stay till the end. The rooms are fantastic and the beds are the best (didn't want to get up lol) even my partner paul who doesn't normally sleep well managed to sleep better than normal. The food here is absolutely worth every penny (not expensive) I think I have put on a few pounds. Real ale drinkers would love the guest ales they have on from local breweries Thanks for a brilliant stay conor and keiran, hope to see you both again very soon :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cazza0267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsmancheadle, Owner at The Huntsman, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the B&B I know it was your & Pauls second stay with us and it has been a pleasure. Hope to see you again the next time you are down this way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Nice friendly pub, lovely owners, great beer & good pub grub & a lovely beer garden & play area for kids in summer

Helpful?
Thank hillyspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsmancheadle, Owner at The Huntsman, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for such a nice review of our little country pub hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Huntsman also viewed

 
Cheadle, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Cheadle, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Huntsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing