We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at The Huntsman”
Review of The Huntsman

The Huntsman
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Cheadle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A multi award winning pub close to alton towers and the staffordshire moorlands
St. John's, Canada
1 review
“Our stay at The Huntsman”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We loved everything about our stay at The Huntsman. The hospitality was exceptional, the food was delicious and the atmosphere of the pup was very inviting. We can honestly say staying there was one of the highlights of our UK trip. Both Conor and Kerian went above and beyond any expectation we might have had. We wish we could have stayed longer, it was delightful. We were intrigued with the history of the place, we loved taking part in the activities during the week nights in the pub with the locals and our boys loved Gizmo, the pub's cat. We would go back again if we ever visit England and would most definitely recommend The Huntsman to family, friends or total strangers. Thank you again Conor and Kerian for a wonderful time spent at your B&B!
Leona & Tom Abbott,
Newfoundland, Canada

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abbottleona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsmancheadle, Owner at The Huntsman, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Leona & Tom
What can I say it was a delight to meet you and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the pub. I hope the rest of your holiday was great and you all got back to Newfoundland, Canada safe and sound
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    38
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic, thats all that needs to be said”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Arrived on my home from alton towers for a spot of lunch. The people were lovely with us, the place was nice and tidy and the food.... I had the rump steak, and it was maybe the best steak i can say i have ever had. I would recommend 100%.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toaodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsmancheadle, Manager at The Huntsman, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us we are delighted you enjoyed your steak so much . All our meet is locally sourced from the butcher in the town and his field is directly across from the pub cant get more local than that
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Huntsman Cheadle”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Called in for Sunday lunch. 2 adults and 2 children. Lovely clean pub with very good food. 2 roast dinners for £10. Only charged £8 for 2 kids roast. Both big portions with fresh veg and huge Yorkshire puds. Would definitely go if in area again. Only downside was the toilets they need a refurb, corridor was stripped on eat to toilets so maybe it's in progress.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmandaReidAnnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsmancheadle, Owner at The Huntsman, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for the review so pleased you enjoyed our food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best beer in Cheadle and friendly pub”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This has been my local since 2009. Love the food and the drinks. The owners are awesome. Pub quiz on a Sunday is good.
Recommend the Sunday lunch at 2 for £10.
Worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsmancheadle, Owner at The Huntsman, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thanks for the vote of confidence Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great pub lunch”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We dropped in for lunch to break a journey, and had some great food and drinks here. They were very welcoming to us and our baby, and generally very helpful. Nice chilled-out pub atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntsmancheadle, Owner at The Huntsman, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thanks for reviewing us we are delighted you enjoyed our little country pub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Huntsman also viewed

Cheadle, Staffordshire
Cheadle, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Huntsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing