We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheadle
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Whiston hall is in a great location especially for Alton Towers. A very friendly atmosphere and we where greeted on arrival by very friendly and happy staff who couldn't do enough to make our stay the best it could it. Rooms are big, clean and very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was very nice, although some dishes maybe a little quirky. Would recommend a stay here to anyone and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    33
    14
    12
    39
See reviews for
59
41
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here after a day at alton towers. Fantastic location only few minutes drive away from park. Room was very spacious unusual for family of 5. We had dinner in the restaurant and quality was really good. Will definitely stay here again when we visit alton towers again. Staff were attentive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A very charming hotel in beautiful surroundings. Excellently modernised inside. Great location especially if you're going to Alton Towers like we were! Food very tasty and good choice of starter and main courses, was a bit disappointed on the dessert side though!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was our 1st time at Whiston hall and I can safely say it will not be our last! We arrived late so they left room number 9 open for us! The room was nipping clean full of charm, the hotel it's self is a stunning building old exposed beams with lovely surrounding the Staff are not rude and could not do enough to help us, breakfast was tasty good selection and took about ten minutes to arrive just enough time to show it's cooked to order. Over all ten out of ten lovely place lovely staff could not fault it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyappleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just arrived back home after spending a night at Whiston Hall.Very friendly and welcoming on arrival.Very clean throughout building.Great food and very helpful with all that we required.Would definately recommend to others and will book again when holidaying in that area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My partner and I have just spend 2 nights at Whiston Hall and we were blown away by the friendliness of the staff. The hotel itself is a impressive structure, when you pull up to the front you are met by some fantastic motor vehicles parked up. The room was quiet and very well decorated. All in all a very pleasant stay. Would be glad to rebook in the future! Negative reviews must be from someone bitter and twisted!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed over at Whiston Hall last night and had a lovely stay the staff were very friendly and the owner bent over backwards to make sure we had a comfortable enjoyable stay, as we had a 7 yr old in a wheelchair. We stayed over ad we spent two days at Alton Towers. We had an evening meal which was gorgeous, very well cooked, presented and tasted delicious, room was amazing, very clean and spacious, breakfast was very good too we had a full English each, we would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely be back when we visit Alton Towers again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairesodp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheadle
2.9 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
8.0 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
7.1 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club

Property: Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Black Lane | Whiston, Cheadle ST10 2HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheadle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whiston Hall is set in scenic Staffordshire countryside, just a 10-minute drive from Alton Towers. The 17th-century hotel has a leafy golf course, a modern bar area and elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi. The historic Whiston Hall estate features large grounds with ornamental fountains and 3 fishing lakes. The 18-hole golf course has a putting green, and offers wonderful views of the nearby hills. The bright and airy bedrooms each have a private bathroom with free toiletries. All rooms feature cable TV and tea/coffee facilities. In the mornings, guests can enjoy a continental breakfast,or for a small extra charge a hearty Full English. In the quiet village of Whiston, this elegant hotel is just a 10-minute drive from the Peak District National Park and from Alton Towers. Free on-site parking is available, and Stoke-on-Trent is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whiston Hall Golf Club And Mansion Court Hotel
Whiston Hall Hotel Mansion Court
Whiston Hall Hotel And Golf Club Cheadle, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing