We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Manor Cheadle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Manor Cheadle
Ranked #2 of 4 Cheadle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

ive just returned from a 2 day visit to the manor house and as guest houses go this is top class excellent cooked breakfast with local produce and i also had 1 evening meal again top notch i would reccomend this guest house to all travellers oh good price as well

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    57
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
84
56
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

So close to Alton Towers! Great Staff. Wonderful cooked to order Breakfast and lovely clean rooms. Wonderful value for the price. We will stay here again on our next trip

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blamol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We only stayed here as we went to alton towers there was seven of us and they have next to the main building a sort of self catering accomodation but without the cooker fridge etc.
It was satisfactory for us and we were only staying the one night.
The staff are excellant and are a credit to the hotel they printed out directions to go ten pin bowling in stoke we came back and had dinner the food was excellant
Breakfast in the morning was faultless and again service was impeccable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

used this guest house as a base for alton towers. We were made welcome as soon as we arrived until we left. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was lovely, poached egg was particularly good.

10-15 minute drive to alton towers along country roads.
Free wifi access in room and TV with DVD player if required.

Room was clean and bathroom had small toiletries. Plenty of clean towels and extra pillows if required. Bed was comfortable with soft bedding.

Overall no complaints.

Staff ask guest not to bring takeaway food back to room due to odours, plenty of pubs withing driving distance and meals can be ordered if you arrive before 6pm.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thrillseekers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

We stayed at The Manor during a visit to Alton Towers, and to be fair its very close, but that's about it.

We payed for 2 family rooms which sleep 3 each. The main building looks nice and has a lovely garden at the rear, unfortunately we were led to an outbuilding that looked like something from the 1950's. The building consists of rows of rooms all of which are very dated on the outside which squeeky floorboards, thin walls and tired decor.

The rooms, whilst clean, are very very basic. There is no room service and you are instructed not to bring any food or drink back to the hotel, I can never understand the logic in alienating your customers, its just gets your back up. Especially when there is nothing else to choose from in your room.

The rooms look onto the garden which we thought would be nice unfortunately that's also where all the smokers gather so don't leave your windows open during the night.

The most disappointing part of the stay was breakfast, we were given a cold pot of tea, the toast was barely toast. We ordered poached eggs on toast, and got one slice of cheap white bread with a tiny egg on it which tasted like it had been poached in nothing but vinegar! It looked and tasted dreadful but above all we really felt as though we had been 'done'.

The Hotel gives the impression of penny pinching and the customer suffers due to this, maybe of they spent a bit more on the little details in the rooms and made an effort at breakfast you'd feel like you were getting value for money, we certainly didn't.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattHellier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
We always welcome and appreciate our guest reviews and we learn from them all.

We do not like to have unhappy guests at any time although thankfully it is rare. Clearly we got breakfast wrong and we have learned from this. We now make extra sure that when a breakfast check arrives for a poached egg that it does just mean one not two or even three.
We now check the amount of vinegar we use in the water to cook them.
The disappointing thing is that had the guest brought this to our attention at the time we could have put it right straight away.
Our rooms are in the garden wing of the Manor constructed in early 1980's. The facade is of reclaimed brick to match the brickwork of the Main house. They are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms have been newly replaced, there are good toiletries too with fluffy white towels. The televisions are flat screen with DVD and are set up for freeview. There is a well stocked welcome tray and hair dryer. The furniture is contemporary. They are not plush, plush but certainly NOT basic. We do though have a few floor boards that creak. All rooms were repainted in March.

We do ask guests not to bring takeaway food into the rooms. Very simply it causes unwanted odours that linger and stains difficult to remove and can be unpleasant for guests arriving the next day.
The reason we ask that alcohol is not brought in is that we have had instances in the past where guests want to bring in trays of beer. The end result is a party that will disturb other guests especially families. That said many guests will bring in a bottle of wine biscuits/crisps etc and that is just fine by us. We are certainly not alienating customers we are being pragmatic.
It may be that some guests in ground floor rooms smoke. If they do they will stand outside and yes smoke does go up. We are working on this to ask any one who smokes to move to the patio area. This is never may people, there are just five rooms. This though is difficult to police 24/7.

We are a guest house. We are not a full service hotel and therefore do not offer room service. We do though offer a bar and dinner in our restaurant and our food is good and reasonably priced.

We hope this has responded appropriately to this guests views.

Peter and Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

My close friends got married here and the day was lovely. Unfortunately, it seemed that the owners were on a tight budget with the heating as it was freezing in the room where the ceremony/wedding breakfast was held, to the point where people didn't remove coats!! The staff were very efficent although a few needed to learn to smile and the proprietor was quite rude and obnoxious to several guests throughout the day. He moaned when doors were opened , told grown men off for 'running' when in fact they were doing no such thing and forceably confiscated a bottle that was given to the usher as a gift with the refusal to return the item so it could be put away!!!! He told the people concerned to call the police. He seemed to have no concern for the bride and groom who had paid thousands of pounds to hold their special day at his venue. All in all, I would not recommend The Manor to anyone until there is a new proprietor or until he has some lessons in tact, decorum and hospitality!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
You know there always a fuller version of events than is sometimes given.
The Manor is an old house and will get cold if doors are held open, especially in late December.
This reviewer was the worse culprit for holding doors open, not once but continually.
It is simply inaccurate to say guests ate their lunch with coats on, they did not! The Hall was warm.
Yes the grromsman was this reviewers partner. He did have a bottle which he was covertly pouring into a glass of pepsi under the table. We are in business to sell food and drink. On the basis that you would not take your own pizza to pizza hut, the bottle was removed for safe keeping. He could have had the good grace to save it until he got home.
It is no surprise that when folk are asked/told to stop behaving in unreasonable fashion they do not like it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

We were a bit worried after leaving Alton Towers fireworks as it took us over an hour to get there due to the traffic (only 10 minutes to go back the next morning!) as the website suggests they prefer you to arrrive before 10pm. However the restaurant and bar still had customers and we were shown to our room by friendly helpful staff. The rooms are in a coachhouse next door which is really a fascade with a 1970's motel behind it, but our family room was clean and with modern furniture and extremely comfy beds. The bathroom was a tad dated in style but everything worked properly. The rooms overlook very nice gardens with a pond.

Breakfast was from 8-9 and we were first down. The staff were helpful with tea coffee and drinks and made a full cooked breakfast to order, which was delicious. We thought it was great value for £89 for the three of us and is only a 10 minute drive from Alton Towers unless there is a special event such as fireworks or a concert!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnieMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheadle
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
9.7 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House
0.6 mi away
The Huntsman
The Huntsman
#3 of 4 in Cheadle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park View Guest House
Park View Guest House
#1 of 4 in Cheadle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Cheadle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Cheadle

Property: The Manor Cheadle
Address: Watt Place, Cheadle ST10 1NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cheadle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Cheadle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Manor Cheadle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Cheadle Hotel Cheadle
The Manor Cheadle Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing