We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice garden views / close to Alton Towers”
Review of The Manor Cheadle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Manor Cheadle
Ranked #1 of 4 Cheadle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Booked this as a one night stay as it was close to alton towers. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a young lad who quickly checked us in and showed us to our room and advised us of places to eat. Breakfast was nice and cooked to order, the staff searving us were again very pleasent & couldn't do enough for us.

I would recommend this to friends and family, who are looking for a nice little place to stay close to alton towers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2012RAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind remarks. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much that you will pass the word and come back.

Ann and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have just come back from this hotel after a very tiring day at Alton towers were greeted by a young man very helpful and friendly. All seemed great until we were met at reception by an aggressive man asked about where we eating we advised we were going too look around the village he then started to tell us we would be charge a ludicrous amount for the table we had apparently booked 5 months ago which he had no proof of. !! we had not booked but as this man is very aggressive towards our party, one of the party members decided to pay this amount £ 20.
In the morning we were greeted by a lovely girl very friendly however we put in a room by ourselves for breakfast we were not asked if we could sit outside with other guests and we could hear the manager going round saying morning to other guests but did not grace himself to us to even to say morning. Unacceptable behavior from a 4 star hotel manager.
As for 4 star hotel , the room carpet was dirty with stains on , the walls were covered in marks and the bed linen had to be dried with the hairdryer as they were damp . The pillows on the bed were hard and beds were cheap mattresses not what you would expect from a 4 star.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsRue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Have you ever been in a situation where you have had a conversation with someone and then when you read their report you wonder if they were actually there?
They say a little knowledge is dangerous and this is certainly the case.
As a matter of course we email all our customers a couple of days before arrival to welcome them and to ask if they would like dinner here too? We did this and the young lady who organised this room replied that they would have dinner. She was charming and after looking at her emails agreed that she did ask for a table to be reserved for them.
We understand completely that plans change and if guests lets us know we can be very flexible.
As it stood we were expecting them to be with us at 8.00pm. We had already served other customers and were waiting for them to arrive but they turned up and said we are going out.
We had staff waiting for them and had bought food in to ensure we could offer them the full menu.
Bearing in mind we had not been told of their intentions we had actually suffered a loss and it was not unreasonable to ask them to cover our costs namely £20.00.
At this stage our reviewer became quite vociferous without the full facts at her fingertips. Yes we could not prove they had booked a table as we delete emails and work on trust. However the young lady who booked the room agreed and apologised and paid a £20 charge willingly.It is worthy of note that we had a good chat in the morning and we had an unsolicited apology from her for her friends behaviour.
We are quite surprised that someone (the reviewer) with such a forthright approach felt unable to ask to have breakfast in the garden... everyone else did.
Now we get into fantasy land. We do not have damp sheets. Even if we did with temperatures of 25degrees plus outside how long would they stay damp?. The walls are depicted as though they are covered in graffiti and the carpet?
We are confident that the seasoned traveller in the know will disregard the unseasoned traveller with no know' comments.
Oh and by the way, this is the watered down version of her review as the first one was not within guidelines. Got to tell you something?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Couldn't have been happier we had the most perfect day in such a beautiful venue... Ann and Pete were wonderful hosts and took care of every detail they went above and beyond our expectations! We found The Manor and the staff friendly and warm can't say enough to compliment the team. Would strongly recommend this venue and the support you receive before and during the day. Xxx thank you for such special memories x x x x

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powellzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thanks so much Kate and Rich. We have enjoyed your company hugely meeting up to plan your day and your day itself was a pleasure for us as you had so many lovely guests. Thank you for trusting us with your big day.

Ann and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Have just stayed for 2 nights with my teenage girls and their friends, we were visiting Alton towers for the concert on Saturday. This place is a real oasis of calm and tranquility, the garden is beautiful and we spent time sat on the terrace soaking up the sun and watching the birds hop around the grass, it was lovely. Breakfast was good, rooms fine ( I would have given 5 stars but I am always hoping for more from a room wherever I stay, just too fussy !! )
The staff were great, very helpful and the owners were fantastiic nothing too much trouble it was like home from home. I would definitely return ...not to go back to Alton Towers but to sit in the garden with a glass of wine and relax !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Jennie, it was great to meet you and thank you for your very kind remarks. Please do come back and enjoy our wonderful garden. For anyone reading this for the first time, Ann is the gardener and she does an amazing job.

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Just got back from our two night stay at the Manor where we had a great time!
We were a group of 3 friends visiting Alton Towers sharing a family room which was perfect for us!
The staff (Peter and Josh) were really helpful over the phone as we arrived after check in closed at 10pm but we were still able to get to our room and just check in in the morning which was great. Breakfast was absolutely ace and put us in good stead for a long day of roller coaster fun!
The location couldn't be better for Alton Towers, only a 15 minute drive with no traffic and the village is really handy for a trip to boots or the bank. We ate at a nearby Hungry Horse pub but I'm sure the food would have been lovely at the hotel if we had come back earlier.
I would def recommend this hotel and come back for my next Alton Towers adventure! Wouldn't think twice.
Thanks for the great service!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Helen

Thanks for your really nice comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we can welcome you here again and for dinner!

Ann and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here as a group of 6 adults before heading to Alton Towers - it's only 15 minutes drive away and is situated in a great little village. The only drawback was that we arrived after the hotel had stopped serving food and they don't allow you to bring food or drink onto the premises (takeaways etc) - however they were efficient enough to notice this, and a couple of days before even had the courtesy to contact us and ask if we would like something leaving for us.

We declined as we managed to find a Wetherspoons in the village that serves till 10pm but it was still a nice gesture.

We had exclusive use of the annex or 'The Stables' - it was all very nicely set up, clean, modern and just like being at home, with tea and coffee making facilities, toiletries, towels - everything you needed and nothing you didn't (we were even told how to work the heating if it got to hot or cold during the night!)

We were greeted by a young man on arrival (Z...) who checked us in with minimal fuss, was efficient and friendly - in fact he was also there at breakfast with other staff members who across the board were polite, professional and a credit to the hotel.

It was a great stay (only a night stopover) but if we're ever in the area again we will definitely be checking here first for availability.

Room Tip: If you're in a mixed group of around 6-8 individuals / adults then ask about the stables, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Hi Anthony

So pleased you had a good time and thanks for your understanding about bringing in food.
We ask guests not to bring in hot takeaway food as odours are difficult to shift and can be off putting to the next guests. Also in the past our linen has been so badly stained that we have thrown it away. Nevertheless thanks for your very generous comments and we hope we will see you again.

Ann and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed here this weekend as a hen party of 7 ladies after going to Alton Towers (15m drive away) for the day. We stayed in the bungalow, and had a lovely time! Cannot fault the staff who couldn't do enough for us..from lending us a cake knife, to taking our pictures at dinner, really great customer service. The rooms were lovely, clean, comfy beds. Only one bathroom but great power shower,fluffy towels and toiletries provided.Nice communal room for socializing with tea and coffee facilities. We booked dinner in the restaurant and it was beautiful, with very attentive and kind staff. Great breakfast, full english + cereal/fruit options. The parking is ample but worth noting you will need to turn off before the hotel and the car park is behind the hotel on the right, rather than the tiny one at the front of the house.
Really would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a nice place to stay near the park. Only reasons I didn't give it 5* are.. the curtains in the room are very thin and let a lot of light in first thing in the morning (5am brightness!) so could do with thicker ones,no cleaning materials for washing and reuse of mugs, few spiderwebs need removing (and a very large spider which was removed by the bravest member of our group!!) and the bathroom could do with a re-paint above the bath as paint damp from shower. All in all a brilliant stay, thank you so much! x

Room Tip: The bungalow is a great choice for groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki00280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Hello Nikki

We enjoyed having you here. The curtains we can do something about if you don't like morning light. As we all know spiders do suddenly appear but we are pleased you had a brave member of your party.
We are genuine pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review and kind comments.

Ann and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheadle
4.9 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
3.1 mi away
Quarry Walk Lodges
Quarry Walk Lodges
#1 of 1 in Freehay
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park View Guest House
Park View Guest House
#2 of 4 in Cheadle
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
0.6 mi away
The Huntsman
The Huntsman
#3 of 4 in Cheadle
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abbot's Haye
Abbot's Haye
#4 of 4 in Cheadle
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Cheadle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Cheadle

Address: Watt Place, Cheadle ST10 1NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cheadle
Price Range: £77 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Cheadle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Manor Cheadle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Cheadle Hotel Cheadle
The Manor Cheadle Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing