We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant!”
Review of The Manor Cheadle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Manor Cheadle
Ranked #1 of 4 Cheadle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

On arrival after a very long day at Alton Towers, we were so pleased to arrive at the hotel.

The young man that greeted us was very helpful and pleasant and showed us to our family room within minutes.

Our room was clean, smelt lovely and the bathroom was spectacular! Spotless and we couldn't fault a thing.

After a couple of hours, we headed to the restaurant for tea. Lit really well and the candles were a nice touch!

Both myself and one of my brothers really enjoyed our meals. My other brother liked his too - until we had found that one of his burgers was slightly red and uncooked.

I did quietly raised this with the waitress and certainly did not want to cause a scene. After 5 minutes she came to our table and explained that "the chef says it is cooked throughout, but he hadn't seen the red in a burger before like it". This did concern me a little, but I didn't want to cause upset and paid the meal in full (and tipped the gentleman). It did look slightly raw to me, hense why it was left - I am no expert however!

I would come back again and stay, especially being so convenient and close to Alton Towers.

Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterKelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Kelly

Thank you for your very kind comments. We are sorry about the burger and immediately took this up with our butcher who makes these locally and we have never had a problem with them before. He was equally concerned and came to see us. He uses burger seasoning and clearly had not mixed this thoroughly enough leaving one or two concentrated clumps in the meat.
This is why it would not cook out. He has replaced the batch he delivered and they were absolutely fine. In fairness to him, we sell so many of his burgers and he makes our breakfast sausage too, we believe it was a genuine oversight on his behalf for which we are very sorry.

best regards

Ann and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    64
    18
    7
    8
See reviews for
90
60
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisborough Green, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here last Tuesday night before going to Alton Towers on the Wednesday. We arrived around 7pm and were greated by Josh at reception who was very friendly and efficient, he showed us to our room and suggested places we can eat. Our room was lovely, very nicely decorated and with a large shower and nice bathroom. We ate at the local wetherspoons which was very nice, obviously not amazing at it was a wetherspoons but it was perfect for what we wanted.
We had breakfast at about 8am, which was a very nice full english and were greated by i think was the owner who asked us if everything was ok which was good and made us feel very welcome. The gardens are lovely and there is a pond with big carp in which was beautiful.
We would definately stay there again if we were to visit alton towers again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments, which have passed on to our team.

best regards

Ann and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed over for a night here recently as we were visiting Alton Towers. We were greeted by a really nice young man (Josh) who showed us to our room. The accommodation is situated externally, sort of like a chalet type building, next to the Manor House. We went via a beautiful garden with pond and some huge fish!

The room was lovely, a reasonable size, and had everything you could need. It had obviously recently been refurbished and was clean and comfortable. The bed was fantastic and I had the best nights sleep. The only slight gripe, and I repeat, slight, was the shower wasn't very powerful though adequate for our needs.

We didn't have dinner at the Manor House as we were out until after 8pm when they finish serving. We found a Wetherspoons in the village which was cheap and cheerful.

Breakfast was lovely, a buffet of cereal, yoghurt, fruit and juice and a hot breakfast of your choice served to your table. Very tasty.

Perfect location for Alton Towers. We will hopefully stay again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPTWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our new beds so comfy.

Ann and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked The Manor for a Diamond Wedding Family Lunch. Peter, Ann and staff delivered an excellent service, the quality of the meal was fantastic too. Everything was timed perfectly and ran smoothly. Peter was most accommodating with last minute changes to the guest list and menus chosen.
The Manor is an excellent choice for a function, whether it be a small family gathering or a larger one. (We have previously used The Manor for a larger family wedding.)
We are always happy to compliment the proprietors, their staff and the service offered.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Karen, it is always a pleasure to welcome you and your family to the Manor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Ann and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Arrived via garden which is very pleasant, to be greeted by a young man, who was very friendly and efficient and taken to my room.
The rooms are in an annexe, which does not apear to be connected internaly and the rooms open onto a open corridor. (Not unlike american Motels). The room was quite small for a double and due to the window onto the corridor somewhat dark. The shower room was smart and clean, towells were fresh and there was showergel,etc.
The bed was fairly comfortable and the TV received clear channels. I had a very good breakfast in the morning.

Now, this all sounds good, however when I first went into the room it smelt a little musty (due to the fact it receives little natural light, I assumed) The walls are quite thin so you can hear the other rooms and people sometimes smoke outside their room and this comes in via the window I had to leave open as there is NO air-conditioning.

Again this would not be so bad if it were a B&B or 2* charging, say £45/£50 for the room, But they charge £85. I travel a lot and for example, Premier Inn at Gatwick airport, with air-con, third bigger room and soundproofed rooms only cost £49 a month ago.
To sum up then, this is a good 2* hotel, with basic amenities and it was a pleasant stay, but overpriced. to warrant £85 a night they need (very least) to put in air-con and more lights in the rooms and soundproof them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We very much welcome all reviews and are pleased that this guest had a comfy bed and a good breakfast as well as admiring our beautiful garden. On a point of clarification The Manor is a guesthouse and not a hotel. We are assessed annually by Visit Britain and have to confirm to their high criteria to maintain a four star standard.
This is not a Premier inn with lots of rooms to sell, we only have 11 rooms and we believe they represent very good value for money backed up by very personal service. Gatwick is a different Market altogether and can not be compared to Staffordshire. It is worth noting that The Premier Inn in Uttoxeter, 15 miles from us was charging around £79 with no breakfast a month ago.

Thanks again

Ann and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Booked this as a one night stay as it was close to alton towers. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a young lad who quickly checked us in and showed us to our room and advised us of places to eat. Breakfast was nice and cooked to order, the staff searving us were again very pleasent & couldn't do enough for us.

I would recommend this to friends and family, who are looking for a nice little place to stay close to alton towers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012RAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind remarks. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much that you will pass the word and come back.

Ann and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have just come back from this hotel after a very tiring day at Alton towers were greeted by a young man very helpful and friendly. All seemed great until we were met at reception by an aggressive man asked about where we eating we advised we were going too look around the village he then started to tell us we would be charge a ludicrous amount for the table we had apparently booked 5 months ago which he had no proof of. !! we had not booked but as this man is very aggressive towards our party, one of the party members decided to pay this amount £ 20.
In the morning we were greeted by a lovely girl very friendly however we put in a room by ourselves for breakfast we were not asked if we could sit outside with other guests and we could hear the manager going round saying morning to other guests but did not grace himself to us to even to say morning. Unacceptable behavior from a 4 star hotel manager.
As for 4 star hotel , the room carpet was dirty with stains on , the walls were covered in marks and the bed linen had to be dried with the hairdryer as they were damp . The pillows on the bed were hard and beds were cheap mattresses not what you would expect from a 4 star.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsRue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxsenior, Owner at The Manor Cheadle, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Have you ever been in a situation where you have had a conversation with someone and then when you read their report you wonder if they were actually there?
They say a little knowledge is dangerous and this is certainly the case.
As a matter of course we email all our customers a couple of days before arrival to welcome them and to ask if they would like dinner here too? We did this and the young lady who organised this room replied that they would have dinner. She was charming and after looking at her emails agreed that she did ask for a table to be reserved for them.
We understand completely that plans change and if guests lets us know we can be very flexible.
As it stood we were expecting them to be with us at 8.00pm. We had already served other customers and were waiting for them to arrive but they turned up and said we are going out.
We had staff waiting for them and had bought food in to ensure we could offer them the full menu.
Bearing in mind we had not been told of their intentions we had actually suffered a loss and it was not unreasonable to ask them to cover our costs namely £20.00.
At this stage our reviewer became quite vociferous without the full facts at her fingertips. Yes we could not prove they had booked a table as we delete emails and work on trust. However the young lady who booked the room agreed and apologised and paid a £20 charge willingly.It is worthy of note that we had a good chat in the morning and we had an unsolicited apology from her for her friends behaviour.
We are quite surprised that someone (the reviewer) with such a forthright approach felt unable to ask to have breakfast in the garden... everyone else did.
Now we get into fantasy land. We do not have damp sheets. Even if we did with temperatures of 25degrees plus outside how long would they stay damp?. The walls are depicted as though they are covered in graffiti and the carpet?
We are confident that the seasoned traveller in the know will disregard the unseasoned traveller with no know' comments.
Oh and by the way, this is the watered down version of her review as the first one was not within guidelines. Got to tell you something?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheadle
3.1 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
4.9 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
3.3 mi away
Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
8.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
8.0 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Cheadle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Cheadle

Property: The Manor Cheadle
Address: Watt Place, Cheadle ST10 1NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cheadle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Cheadle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Manor Cheadle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Cheadle Hotel Cheadle
The Manor Cheadle Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing