We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa Day Heaven!”
Review of Crewe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crewe Hall
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Spa Day Heaven!”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We visited this hotel recently as a large group of Mum's.

We each had two treatments and all day use of the spa which was gorgeous.... The facilities here are great though the jacuzzi could have been a little bigger.

The highlight of the day, however was the spa lunch in The Brasserie. Lovely food, good choice and amazing value at £12.50 per head for basically as much as you can eat. We all had 5 courses plus coffee. Amazing!

Definitely highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartLouwerse, General Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear tracieo,

Thank you for your review and really nice to read that you enjoyed your treatments, the hotel generally and of course our food offering.

We hope to see you back here soon and you're right our current offer is an absolute bargain.

Kind regards

Mart Louwerse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    597
    242
    122
    69
See reviews for
342
870
30
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I will first deal with the reservation process, which in some respects was dissapointing, and then the Hotel which deserves an accolade in terms of both its fabric and its staff.

Having booked two rooms via its dedicated website (run by the QHotel group) I tried to obtain a check-in an hour in advance (2 p.m. rather than 3 p.m) as I was attending a funeral whose reception was to be held at the hotel. After an email to QHotels central explaning the situation, I received a brusque email saying they could not help - its up to the hotel on the day. A more sympathetic/helpful response would have been in order. (the Hotel did manage to allocate one room at 1400 on arrival). After check in, I asked for the two rooms to be charged separately, for one guest wished to arrange her own payment. I was informed QHotels had already taken payment and there was nothing they could do to accomodate - again a lack of customer service.

Other than this the hotel was both excellent in terms of friendliness and services. Rooms were clean, well proportioned and with quality fittings (including bathrooms). Guests were obviously satisfied and happy. The old part of the hotel was a good talking point in architectual terms and the spa modern. Parking was plentiful.

Breakfast was adeqate (buffet) if a little limited. Fruitjuice was not good and a single toaster lead to some queuing.

No problems with checkout.

Crewe does not boast of any attractions but the hotel grounds would still make it good for a long summer w/e.

Room Tip: The new wing is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartLouwerse, General Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Ian_9,

Can I thank you for your comments and for taking the time to review Crewe Hall. In opening I can appreciate your disappointment in being unable to get an early check-in but as you will appreciate we do need to get rooms ready for the following evening and so we can only really commit to an early check-in on the day. Our team do their utmost to deliver this facility even before 2pm however we also provide storage if you do arrive early. I'm sorry in your circumstances we couldn't have done more for you.

The other aspects of your review are gratefully received and I'm so pleased because they highlight all of the positives about this great hotel and our superb team that we always want our guests to experience.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Mart Louwerse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just got back from a 2 night stay at Crewe Hall. It was absolutely superb.
From the moment you drive up the beautiful tree lined entrance road to the moment you checkout - you will not be disappointed.
Set in fantastic grounds - the hotel is a split into two parts - the older building that is like a stately home and the new part that is like the most up to date building built.
The staff are all superb - from the moment you checkin through meal times and checking out. You couldn't ask for more.
The rooms are fantastic - possibly some of the best I hav ever stayed in. We stayed in the new part of the hotel. The beds are so big that each bedside cabinet is in different postcodes!!! The bathrrom is wonderful & the bedroom itself is really spacious with loads of drawspace. We had breakfast included and that is great as well - plenty of choice (cereal, hot food, breads anything you would ever need). There is a gym, swimming pool & leisure facitilies on site.
I would definately recommend anyone to stay at this hotel - you are 5/10 minutes from Crewe. 25 minutes from Stoke on Trent.
There are plenty of places to eat nearby - a chain pub just down the road is perfect - cheap food & great quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuge11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartLouwerse, General Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear nuge11,

Many thanks for all the kind words about this great hotel of ours. It is appreciated and you're right in that our location, our ambience, superb team and grounds make Crewe Hall a very special place to visit.

We would be delighted to see you back here soon.

Kind regards

Mart Louwerse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

really nice stay, good room, old building is worth a tour itself and good food an leisure facilities

Room Tip: stayed in the new section, closer to restaurant and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartLouwerse, General Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear derekhannon,

Thank you for taking the time to review Crewe Hall and I agree at journey around this fantastic building is well worth it as it does have such a rich history.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Mart Louwerse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here for 1 night special offer dinner bed & breakfast. Was really impressed with the drive up to the Hotel and even more impressed with the main reception. The hall is absolutely amazing so have a good look around when you get there - the staff are great and very knowledgeable about the history and are willing to give you the time to answer any questions that you may have. Check in staff really helpful and lovely. Room was given to us in new part which to be honest I was disappointed at first as I really wanted to stay in the old part but the room was fabulous very modern clean with excellent bathroom, including bath and separate shower cubicle, massive bed, flat screen TV and tea coffee facilities. We used the spa and again no problems and very well equipped. We ate in the Brasserie, the food was excellent and the service really good not rushed at all. The only negatives we have about the whole experience is that we waited 15 mins for a drink at the bar and it was the only bar open. The brasserie was nice but it is very contemporary and a little like eating in a Witherspoon or City Centre hotel. In fact it reminded us a little of a Premier Lodge which was a bit disappointing as the Hotel is a country hotel. It was ideal for breakfast and it was one of the best breakfast we have had. We and some other guests agreed that perhaps a little more ambient lighting may improve the eating experience, I do think and know - listening to other guests that this put people off returning. We will definitely go back to this hotel and have already recommended to friends and family. Give it a go you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Any room as they are all fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartLouwerse, General Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Juemar,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Crewe Hall and for all your kind comments about your time with us it is appreciated.

Kind regards

Mart Louwerse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We arrived on Friday 1st June 2012. The sun was shining and it was lovely to drive down the beautiful tree line drive and view the beautiful hotel in the distance. This would make a lovely wedding venue. There is ample parking available free of charge.

The check in was quick, efficient and friendly.

We were allocated a room within the new section of the hotel. Not as interesting as the hall itself, however the room was a kingsize room, with a table and 2 easy chairs, TV, mini fridge, iron, ironing board and a trouser press. Ample storage space for clothes. Tea and coffee.

There was a good size bathroom which had a bath and separate large shower.

The bar area and the restauarant were all in the new part of the hotel. We had breakfast and evening mel included. We enjoyed both evening meals there, the food was fresh and hot. I would advise to book a meal option as the price of the meal is quite high. £25 pounds for steak. However we would still have eaten there as you are not near to any local public houses. The drinks were typical of hotel prices.

The leisure area had a reasonable size pool, sauna and a lovely steam room, there were also 2 heated mosaic beds. There was also a jacuzzi. The towels are provided in the leisure area. We did not get chance to see the gym.

The staff also offered that we could have a look around the old part of the hotel if we wanted to.

Overall a nice stay and we would retunr for a second visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan1warwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed at this wonderful hotel for 2 nights last week! I was part of a group who were up in the area for a wedding. The hotel and staff were fantastic! Couldn't have been more helpful or welcoming. I was so impressed with the actual building and the history connected with it! I was staying in the new addition to the hotel, and my room was most comfortable,clean and well appointed. Some of my friends were fortunate to be in the old building, and they were delighted with their rooms, which were enormous and beautifully furnished. We ate in the Brasserie one evening and found the food delicious. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast on both mornings was of exceptional quality, and one of the best I have had in any UK hotel! Overall a thoroughly pleasant experience and extremely good value for money! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandbird52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
4.7 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
18.4 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,557 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
22.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Wychwood Park Hotel
Wychwood Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crewe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewe Hall

Property: Crewe Hall
Address: Crewe Hall Weston Road, Crewe CW1 6UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crewe Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 17th century hotel located in Crewe in Cheshire. This Grade I listed building has been attracting refined guests since the 17th century, including our current monarch Queen Elizabeth II. This hotel is a fine mix of historic Jacobean and sharp 21st century architecture. The magnificent history oozes throughout the hotel from exquisite marble fireplaces to stained glass windows. Yet the contemporary edge of Crewe Hall can be found throughout the hotel from the revolving bar in the brasserie to the state-of-the-art leisure club. The hotel has 117 spacious, comfortable bedrooms, some are located in the historic old building but majority can be found in the new contemporary wing. Just minutes from the M6 motorway, Crewe Hall is only 24 miles from Chester’s sights and shops and close to Liverpool and Manchester.Crewe Hall is home to a modern conference and events centre. It is very impressive with both it's facilities and service that we offer you. Modern facilities, free Wi-Fi, extensive grounds and a meetings package that gives you total piece of mind, whether you’re brainstorming with the team or delivering an important message, Crewe Hall makes meetings easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crewe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crewe Hall Hotel Crewe
Hall Hotel Crewe
Crewe Hall Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing