We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding”
Review of Crewe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crewe Hall
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We attended the wedding reception of our Nephew and stayed overnight. The old part of the building is grade 1 listed, and is absolutely amazing. The interior comprises lots of small wood panelled rooms with extremely ornate carvings and even a small chapel. The bar was in one of these small rooms and is a bit small. The wedding itself ran perfectly, the food and service was excellent. Our room was in the new extension, and was much the same as most modern hotel rooms these days. It was clean and we'll furnished. On the downside, as with all hotels of this size, the bar prices are a bit on the heavy side. All in all however we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,101
    584
    231
    119
    66
See reviews for
333
838
29
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Spa facilities are basic especially the one jacuzzi that no more than two people can comfortably sit in at any one time. The staff are all welcoming and pleasant however the treatments that my friend and i had in comparison to other spa's were very poor value. I spent £35 on a back and kneck massage which lasted just over 15 minutes usually these treatment are around 30 to 40 minutes. Sorry will not be returning.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We first visited Crewe Hall in 2012 and loved it so returned for another weekend. We asked for the same room, only 70+ stairs from the spa area but worth the effort (see photo). The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good and the hotel clean and welcoming. Our stay included bed & breakfast and two evening meals, a bottle of wine in our room & 2 free hot chocolates in the tea room. I found lots more photo opportunities in the old house & the grounds. The only slight down was that it was hen party 'spa weekend' with about 15 young women all using the pool area at once. No chance of the hot tub and my lazy swim was 'bombed'. They had a wonderful time. We used the sauna & steam room instead. A great time was had by all.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms in the old house have a lot of stairs but are worth the climb. The rooms in the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralBeaniebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel has a beautiful driveway and frontage, but the problems started as soon as we entered, to be told we couldn't have our room until 3pm. There had been no indication of this unusually late check-in time in the booking process (check out is 11am - 4 hours turn-around? Smacks off understaffing). The front of house staff were a study in indifference, showing no interest in us at all. There was a conference just finishing and a wedding the next day, so we were clearly an irritation and unworthy of any attention. We weren't told anything about the layout of the hotel and didn't know where the bar was. A cleaner told us it was next to the Brasserie. There was indeed an area to have drinks there, but I wouldn't call it a bar. It most resembled the waiting area of an as-you-wait tyre fitters. We subsequently learned that there was a real bar near the front of the hotel. I asked the receptionist if we could use it and was told "So long as you're not too long; the wedding guests will be wanting it soon". "I'm so sorry to be in the way of the smooth running of your corporate and matrimonial services, but I paid £145 a night for our room and I'm not happy". Blank stare. Then there was the noise from the central heating like a hoover next to your ear every few minutes through the night, the tea tasting like fish and the free breakfast which wasn't free (£3.85 for a cappuchino - more than you'd pay in London) - I could go on, but I think you get the picture. This hotel is a fake. You'll be much better looked after in a roadside Travelodge or similar institution.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tier55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Over all very good. The only criticism is the long Que. for toast at breakfast , as the toaster is on the wrong settings as I had to put my toast through three times and even then it could have done with one more attempt. Thankfully this can be easily rectified.
I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We went for a spa day package and really enjoyed our day. The receptionist in the spa was very pleasant and friendly and gave us a good tour of the facilities. We used the pool, steam room and sauna and they were all fine. The sensory shower was a bit odd as it didn't seem to do much apart from flash coloured lights, I couldn't notice a fragrance.

The spa treatments were pleasant enough but I would say that the relaxation room really needs to be bigger. It's like a small lounge and the chairs are quite close together so it wouldn't be overly relaxing if busy.

Our lunch in the Brasserie was gorgeous - fresh, tasty and good-sized portions. Highly recommended, but be aware that if your drinks are not included that they are expensive - £7.20 for a pot of tea for two!!

Overall we enjoyed our day and felt like we had had a nice treat. I'd go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cuttlefish_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood
Level Contributor
83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Solo spa break in January 2014. Checked into standard room in new wing. Leaky toilet discovered on return from arrival day spa treatment. Two maintenance men unable to fix, so required a room change. Complete pain in the neck as I'd unpacked everything before discovering the issues, so I asked for a cheeky upgrade for the inconvenience. Promptly upgraded to the room I'd previously stayed in, Q Star room in the old main house. LOVELY!!!

Spa treatments were mixed. Oriental head massage was heaven but the following day's massage was delivered in a rather robotic way that left me disappointed.

Stunning food in the restaurant as per last time.

Would definitely recommend, although for spa treatments it seems a bit hit and miss.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade price or a cheeky request for rooms in the old house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyberhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
18.4 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
19.1 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
20.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
8.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crewe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewe Hall

Property: Crewe Hall
Address: Crewe Hall Weston Road, Crewe CW1 6UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crewe Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 17th century hotel located in Crewe in Cheshire. This Grade I listed building has been attracting refined guests since the 17th century, including our current monarch Queen Elizabeth II. This hotel is a fine mix of historic Jacobean and sharp 21st century architecture. The magnificent history oozes throughout the hotel from exquisite marble fireplaces to stained glass windows. Yet the contemporary edge of Crewe Hall can be found throughout the hotel from the revolving bar in the brasserie to the state-of-the-art leisure club. The hotel has 117 spacious, comfortable bedrooms, some are located in the historic old building but majority can be found in the new contemporary wing. Just minutes from the M6 motorway, Crewe Hall is only 24 miles from Chester’s sights and shops and close to Liverpool and Manchester.Crewe Hall is home to a modern conference and events centre. It is very impressive with both it's facilities and service that we offer you. Modern facilities, free Wi-Fi, extensive grounds and a meetings package that gives you total piece of mind, whether you’re brainstorming with the team or delivering an important message, Crewe Hall makes meetings easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Crewe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crewe Hall Hotel Crewe
Hall Hotel Crewe
Crewe Hall Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing