We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely relaxed”
Review of Crewe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crewe Hall
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Completely relaxed”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked an overnight spa here for my birthday as my preferred option was booked up. Disappointed ? - Not when I arrived. Lovely pool area with sauna, steam room and heated beds. Treatments were wonderful. Light lunch included consisted of 2 courses and was more than substantial. Couldn't fault the evening meal either. Staff were very friendly. Rooms comfortable and clean. Make sure you take time to peak at the old side of the hall including the long room and chapel and take a stroll round the grounds. If I had one criticism it would be that the pool was a little busy and noisy, but it was half term and l guess to be expected at such a large hotel.
Saving up now for my next trip!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThirtyishDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    584
    231
    119
    66
See reviews for
333
840
29
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were a party of 6 celebrating a forthcoming wedding. We could not fault a thing. The rooms were spotless, food choice and quality was fantastic. Our waiter, Bart, was very pleasant, helpful without being overbearing in fact he gave the service that a guest requires but does not always receive.
We all had 2 spa treatments each which were very relaxing and just what was needed.

Thank you Crewe Hall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
399 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We enjoyed a weekend stay in one of the feature rooms in the main house which we understand dates back to the Jacobean period. Our room (3206) was enormous with a king bed and sitting area beside windows looking out down the attractive main drive. A spiral staircase leads to a further sitting area and a full size desk and chair, ideal for those mixing business with pleasure.The attractive white bathroom had both a bath and separate shower cubicle. All was clean and well presented. The free wireless internet proved easy to connect to and relaible during our stay. Our only one negative point was the scolding hot water which quickly flowed from the taps.
We took dinner on our first night and received excellent service despite a packed restaurant. The breakfast was well presented with a big choice of fresh fruits, the usual hot items and excellent pastries and breads. We recommend visiting the White Lion at Weston, just one mile away, for a good priced quality meal if you are staying more than one night.
Finally we must complement the excellent service provided by staff, particualrly in the Brasserie.

Room Tip: Book a feature room. Room 3206 is very spacious with a king bed and comfortable sitting area plus an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here on a spa break. All in all brilliant. Lovely grounds, the building is stunning,
We did struggle as we had no lift access to our rooms from the Spa. Staff where all very nice, room 4141 and 4139 were very clean and comfortable although our room 4141 was quite noisy at around midnight. Sounded like someone was drilling. Lucky I had ear plugs.
Food was lovely, breakfast amazing. Treatment in the spa was out of this world, Thank you Lauren for looking after me.
Only real negative would be the lack of loungers in the spa pool, on 12 in total, lack of loungers in the relaxation room and no where near enough benches for changing in the changing room. For the amount of people using the spa there was no where near enough. Made it difficult when trying to get dried etc. I really think these few issues need addressing as could not lounge by the pool or in the relaxation room on more than one occassion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed at Crewe Hall on 18 & 19 April and had a delightful time, staff very friendly and helpful on check-in and we were amazed by the size of our room and bathroom with free standing roll top bath in the centre. We were given a free (unrequested) room upgrade. The Jacobean mansion was stunning both inside and out, we enjoyed a walk around the lovely grounds and explored the interiors which were unlike anything I'd ever experienced before, including it's own chapel inside the old part. Also enjoyed the spa in the modern part. I was particularly struck by how well kept the whole place was. Looking forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: As previous reviews have suggested, opt to be accommodated in the old part if possible (although I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DayTripperzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights 16-18th April. Check-in was very quick and staff were very polite and helpful. We stayed in a deluxe room in the main building which was amazing. The room was huge with a large bathroom with walk-in shower and free standing bath. The bed was large and comfortable. The room was spotlessly clean, in fact the whole of the hotel was. We had breakfast each morning which was plentiful and fresh. We did not use the pool/spa facilities but looked very good. Check-out was also done very efficiently. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Although the room (in the new wing) was of a good size with good views, there were several factors we found unacceptable given the price (£113 - 1 night B&B).

The bed hadn't been made, which wasn't detectable until the quilt was pulled back.

The bathroom door wouldn't close due to a faulty mechanism.

A bathroom fitting (toilet brush holder?) was hanging loose from the wall.

The shower control switch was able to turn clockwise multiple times without any noticable change in temperature or pressure. There were no markings to explain on/off or hot/cold as they'd been worn away.

Upon checking out, we were asked if everything had been ok. After explaining the above problems we were informed our comments would be passed on and were charged the full rate.

Room Tip: The particular room to avoid (bathroom problems) is 4105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
18.4 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
19.1 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
20.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
8.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crewe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewe Hall

Property: Crewe Hall
Address: Crewe Hall Weston Road, Crewe CW1 6UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crewe Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 17th century hotel located in Crewe in Cheshire. This Grade I listed building has been attracting refined guests since the 17th century, including our current monarch Queen Elizabeth II. This hotel is a fine mix of historic Jacobean and sharp 21st century architecture. The magnificent history oozes throughout the hotel from exquisite marble fireplaces to stained glass windows. Yet the contemporary edge of Crewe Hall can be found throughout the hotel from the revolving bar in the brasserie to the state-of-the-art leisure club. The hotel has 117 spacious, comfortable bedrooms, some are located in the historic old building but majority can be found in the new contemporary wing. Just minutes from the M6 motorway, Crewe Hall is only 24 miles from Chester’s sights and shops and close to Liverpool and Manchester.Crewe Hall is home to a modern conference and events centre. It is very impressive with both it's facilities and service that we offer you. Modern facilities, free Wi-Fi, extensive grounds and a meetings package that gives you total piece of mind, whether you’re brainstorming with the team or delivering an important message, Crewe Hall makes meetings easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Crewe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crewe Hall Hotel Crewe
Hall Hotel Crewe
Crewe Hall Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing