We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”
Review of Crewe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crewe Hall
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed for 2 nights recently and the hotel is beautiful - great surroundings, beautiful building and good food.
I was in the new part of the hotel which, although fine, did not have the same impact as the rooms in the old building (four poster beds, roll top baths etc).
Lovely place, would like to visit the spa next time.

Room Tip: Try and arrange for a room in the old part of the hotel - much nicer!
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank LouLou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,203 - 1,209 of 2,267 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked into Crewe hall for a spa break and left extremely pleased and relaxed. With the spa break you get to stay in a very modern hotel room with a king size bed, awesome bath and shower which can only be described as a tsunami in a cubicle. Crewe hall itself is a wonderful building inside with beautiful decor and features, the only thing lacking is the outside the front is nice with a sun trap with tables and chairs but the rear has a pond which has been neglected unfortunately. With the spa break you get breakfast lunch and dinner, each meal was delicious. Breakfast is self service which ideal with a sore head from the night before, lunch and dinner is al a carte with an impressive menu. The dishes came out with great presentation and great taste, we were unfortunate to find a hair in one course but after showing this to the waiter they responded with honesty and offered to replace it but we declined because we didn't want any fuss with it only being a pre starter, but after that they were extremely attentive especially Bartosz who gave us a complementary pallet sanitiser after our starter which was well received. The staff were very polite, helpful and cheery. I did have sympathy for a few of them when they had to deal with some rude, impolite and egotistical snobs but they handled the situations well. The only downside to the restaurant is the bar, the selection of draught beer is poor with only carlsberg, San Miguel and Tetley's charged at a premium rate. The price you pay you expect premium lager not working man club tipple. The spa treatment was sooo relaxing I received a back massage while the wife had a facial treatment which we both enjoyed.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweeneyt14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Crewe Hall is a beautiful setting for any celebration. I stayed here for my anniversary and had the junior suite which turned out to be the Tower room. The room itself was large and decorated accordingly for the age of the hall. There was a spiral staircase which led to another room at the top of the tower and this housed some chairs, a tea tray and a sink, there were beautiful views from here.

I was disappointed though with the cleanliness and decor of the room. Although old, it really needs some TLC, chipped paintwork and woodwork, stained and dusty carpets, ripped curtains at the top of the tower and no slippers provided, which I thought very unhygienic.

The brasserie restaurant in the newer extension of the hotel, served a decent enough meal in the evening but I was disappointed at lunch as the service was poor, no cutlery provided and they got my sandwich wrong and it wasn't busy so no excuse there. I was also disappointed that the hall itself did not provide an alternative al a carte restaurant more in keeping with its style and age. Also our booking included evening meal and breakfast but it wasn't until we checked out that we were told there was a limit to what we could spend at dinner and had exceeded that by £20.00 so please be aware of this when booking.

The pool is pretty small with seating around, but as the hotel was so busy there was nowhere to sit and also the pool itself was quite full.

The staff were all very friendly and the service in the hotel was excellent but I probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jameseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for our first wedding anniversary (Aug 2011). It was absolutely beautiful, the restaurant was lovely and the spa was comfortable and relaxing.

It's definitely worth the price you pay, and I would visit again without hesitation.

Room Tip: A room in the original part of the hall is beautiful and has a gorgeous view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked an overnight spa here for my birthday as my preferred option was booked up. Disappointed ? - Not when I arrived. Lovely pool area with sauna, steam room and heated beds. Treatments were wonderful. Light lunch included consisted of 2 courses and was more than substantial. Couldn't fault the evening meal either. Staff were very friendly. Rooms comfortable and clean. Make sure you take time to peak at the old side of the hall including the long room and chapel and take a stroll round the grounds. If I had one criticism it would be that the pool was a little busy and noisy, but it was half term and l guess to be expected at such a large hotel.
Saving up now for my next trip!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThirtyishDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were a party of 6 celebrating a forthcoming wedding. We could not fault a thing. The rooms were spotless, food choice and quality was fantastic. Our waiter, Bart, was very pleasant, helpful without being overbearing in fact he gave the service that a guest requires but does not always receive.
We all had 2 spa treatments each which were very relaxing and just what was needed.

Thank you Crewe Hall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We enjoyed a weekend stay in one of the feature rooms in the main house which we understand dates back to the Jacobean period. Our room (3206) was enormous with a king bed and sitting area beside windows looking out down the attractive main drive. A spiral staircase leads to a further sitting area and a full size desk and chair, ideal for those mixing business with pleasure.The attractive white bathroom had both a bath and separate shower cubicle. All was clean and well presented. The free wireless internet proved easy to connect to and relaible during our stay. Our only one negative point was the scolding hot water which quickly flowed from the taps.
We took dinner on our first night and received excellent service despite a packed restaurant. The breakfast was well presented with a big choice of fresh fruits, the usual hot items and excellent pastries and breads. We recommend visiting the White Lion at Weston, just one mile away, for a good priced quality meal if you are staying more than one night.
Finally we must complement the excellent service provided by staff, particualrly in the Brasserie.

Room Tip: Book a feature room. Room 3206 is very spacious with a king bed and comfortable sitting area plus an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
4.7 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
18.4 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
17 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,213 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crewe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewe Hall

Address: Crewe Hall Weston Road, Crewe CW1 6UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range: £85 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crewe Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 17th century hotel located in Crewe in Cheshire. This Grade I listed building has been attracting refined guests since the 17th century, including our current monarch Queen Elizabeth II. This hotel is a fine mix of historic Jacobean and sharp 21st century architecture. The magnificent history oozes throughout the hotel from exquisite marble fireplaces to stained glass windows. Yet the contemporary edge of Crewe Hall can be found throughout the hotel from the revolving bar in the brasserie to the state-of-the-art leisure club. The hotel has 117 spacious, comfortable bedrooms, some are located in the historic old building but majority can be found in the new contemporary wing. Just minutes from the M6 motorway, Crewe Hall is only 24 miles from Chester’s sights and shops and close to Liverpool and Manchester.Crewe Hall is home to a modern conference and events centre. It is very impressive with both it's facilities and service that we offer you. Modern facilities, free Wi-Fi, extensive grounds and a meetings package that gives you total piece of mind, whether you’re brainstorming with the team or delivering an important message, Crewe Hall makes meetings easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crewe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crewe Hall Hotel Crewe
Hall Hotel Crewe
Crewe Hall Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing