We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, pity about food”
Review of Crewe Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crewe Hall
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel, pity about food”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a lovely hotel with lots of old style character but also nice new updated rooms in the section that has been added onto the old building.
The old part of the hotel can be explored and has some great history, its really is amazing.
DO NOT go near the restaurant, the food was tasteless and bland, the stuff that did have any taste was purely because it was loaded with salt, not cheap either and really horrible to be honest, when we complained it seem normal to the poor staff who were very nice about it but no offer of anything reduced or a free drink, it just seemed as if they expected it.
However the staff in the main old hotel part offered my wife a glass of wine, they also got me a cola and we were allowed to sit in the old hall and have our free drink which made up for it in some part, just go out to eat as this is a lovely place to stay and well worth it, also great pool with excellent sauna and relaxation areas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Peter K,
Thank you for your review.
Whilst pleased you enjoyed staying at Crewe Hall I am most disappointed that you did not enjoy the cusine served in our Brasserie restaurant. Your feedback has been shared with our Head Chef who continually reviews and monitors all feedback from our guests to ensure the food we serve is in-keeping with current trends and expectations.
Best regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,139
    597
    242
    122
    69
See reviews for
342
871
30
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel and grounds are absolutely gorgeous. Our room was unusual in that it had a wrought iron spiral staircase going up to another level. The room was clean and well set out. The inside of the hotel is like a stately home and very ornate.
We expected the dining facilities to match and be romantic and intimate. However, you have to go to a new annexe to dine and for the spa facilities. It is a large open plan dining room with a very modern design and it does not match the rest of the hotel at all. It was very noisy in there so everyone then has to talk louder to be heard. It would be fine for large parties or work functions. The food and service were fine but not quite as good as we had expected for the price.
The spa leisure area is ok but could be improved if they want to attract a spa clientele. The Jacuzzi only really fits 2-3 people and is very intimate so I would not want to sit in there with a stranger. The salons were nice and the massages were good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATherapist007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear ATherapist007,
Thank you for your review.
Whilst pleased you enjoyed exploring Crewe Hall and enjoyed your bedroom I am disappointed that you did not enjoy the Brasserie layout and design. I do hope this will not deter you from visiting in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, Herts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have stayed in a couple of other Q Hotels, and this is the best by far. It's an amazing place, full of little corridors and oak-panelled rooms, with coloured marble floors, carvings, stained glass, antiques, ornate ceilings and old staircases. We spent our first evening exploring the place - a big treat. There's not much to the grounds but the main building more than makes up for it.

We had paid extra for a room in the old part of the hall, and were upgraded to a four-poster. Our room was spacious, clean, and convenient, and the bed was comfy. Not much of a view from the window, though, because we seemed to be slightly below ground level.

Our only complaint was that our room opened onto the main corridor, so with several business meetings being hosted in the building, we were disturbed into the wee small hours by delegates loudly making their way back to their rooms. At one point in the night, we were woken by someone pushing a rattly trolley along the corridor.

We ate in the restaurant both nights, and found the food to be good, although sometimes a little bland. Breakfasts were good and plentiful.

The swimming pool was an impressive size for a hotel. But do be careful of the tiled floor surrounding it - it is VERY slippery when you've got wet feet.

All in all, a great midweek break.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the main corridor of the old building if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Royston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Sarah-Royston,
Thank you for your review.
We are very proud to operate Crewe Hall as a hotel and I am pleased that you were 'wowed' by the original features and architecture the building has to offer.
I very much hope you will continue to use Q Hotels in the future.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just came back from a 3 night stay at Crewe Hall, fantastic bedroom which was number 3206 had a winding staircase in it, very ornate, it was lovely to have two floors to our room very spacious indeed
Such a Grand hotel very impressive building,
if you want a quiet break don't go on a weekend busy with two weddings & a lot of hen breaks. Monday onwards is more quite, mainly business people.
Now be where when checking out we were on a 3 night package DBB ON TWO NIGHTS, 1 NIGHT BB WHICH INCLUDED A FREE NEWSPAPER EACH DAY, as a member of the breakaway club i only had to pay a deposit when i booked this break, final payment on departure.i spent at least 20 minutes sorting out this bill ,as you can expect,it was higher than stated on my booking form, MOST EMBARRASSING,.
quite pricey on drinks like most Hotels.
Breakfast was average nothing that special, one day they didn't even have any yogurt, can you believe it..

If you want a friendly & a good meal try THE WHITE LION at Weston, only a 5 minute drive away

Room Tip: Stay in the Main house, rooms with high ceilings & very ornate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juju547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear juju547,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and can only apologise that it took some time to sort out your bill on departure. I hope this will not put you off staying at another Q Hotel. As a Breakaway Club member you will continue to receive great offers applicable across the group and I trust you will continue to enjoy exploring the other 20 properties in the Q Hotels portfolio.
Best regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Visited this place because of conference held there. And I never regret I applied for this event!

In the beginning of the event we had our guided tour through the both old and new buildings of the hotel. Our guide was Director of Sales there Susan Dickson, she was INCREDIBLY AMAZING! Her energy, passion and excitement about the place she works was true inspiration, she was so excited to tell us about the history and she did it in a very friendly way I just could not stop smiling. She is definitely an inspiration for me, a person who is so passionate about her job and she does it with her whole heart! It must be a pleasure working with her. A true person to admire and inspire from indeed! Thank you so much!

Staff was very welcoming and during the event I understood how the management team really cares about the customers, doing the best possible!

That is definitely place to visit as the old hotel rooms are just breathtaking and magnificent. And I am sure you feel there always welcomed and taken really good care of.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabeteVar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear ElizabeteVar,
I'm delighted that Sue left such a lasting impression on you and gave you a great tour of the building. I very much hope you will tell all your friends and colleagues about Crewe Hall and I hope we have the pleasure of looking after you again soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briton Ferry, Neath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

A fantastic room in A stunning venue located in glorious surroundings, Visited for A friends wedding, the staff were wonderful as was the food, its A little pricey but you deffinitly get what you pay for. It also makes your stay much better.when your upgraded for free to A four poster bedroom.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DABenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear DABenji,
Thank you for your review. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope it will not be too long before we have the pleasure of looking after you again.
Best regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knebworth
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just spent a perfect weekend at Crewe Hall. Felt like I got free entrance to a stately home,as the place is steeped in history and absolutely stunning.
Our room was extremely comfortable, not to hot which makes a pleasant change, lovely bathroom, excellent food and service, plus very at tentative staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMCKOO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
4.7 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
18.4 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,557 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
22.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Wychwood Park Hotel
Wychwood Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crewe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewe Hall

Property: Crewe Hall
Address: Crewe Hall Weston Road, Crewe CW1 6UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crewe Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 17th century hotel located in Crewe in Cheshire. This Grade I listed building has been attracting refined guests since the 17th century, including our current monarch Queen Elizabeth II. This hotel is a fine mix of historic Jacobean and sharp 21st century architecture. The magnificent history oozes throughout the hotel from exquisite marble fireplaces to stained glass windows. Yet the contemporary edge of Crewe Hall can be found throughout the hotel from the revolving bar in the brasserie to the state-of-the-art leisure club. The hotel has 117 spacious, comfortable bedrooms, some are located in the historic old building but majority can be found in the new contemporary wing. Just minutes from the M6 motorway, Crewe Hall is only 24 miles from Chester’s sights and shops and close to Liverpool and Manchester.Crewe Hall is home to a modern conference and events centre. It is very impressive with both it's facilities and service that we offer you. Modern facilities, free Wi-Fi, extensive grounds and a meetings package that gives you total piece of mind, whether you’re brainstorming with the team or delivering an important message, Crewe Hall makes meetings easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crewe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crewe Hall Hotel Crewe
Hall Hotel Crewe
Crewe Hall Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing