We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new years eve”
Review of The Hunters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hunters Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Certificate of Excellence
wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“new years eve”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

attended the new years eve celebrations for the third year running and yet again what an excellent evening with good food excellent staff and a totally relaxed atmosphere. room was adequate but not top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    102
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
58
77
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I recently stayed at the Hunters Lodge during my business trip from Canada. I can honestly say, that out of my two week trip, the Hunters Lodge was the untidiest, most disgusting place I stayed in. My room had mould around the tub and shower, the room stank like a smokers market, the food was horrific, and the staff were kids from Eastern Europe that had no ability, and could hardly speak English. Horrible place. Stay well clear of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benson2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Owner at The Hunters Lodge, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, I would however like to address some of the points you have raised.

If I am honest, I am not sure from your descriptions that you have submitted your review to the correct hotel, one reason being that as all our front of house staff are native English speakers your comment "and the staff were kids from Eastern Europe that had no ability, and could hardly speak English" has me completely baffled? We do not currently employ any Eastern European staff!

Our kitchen and housekeeping teams take pride in their high standards, as can be seen from the many previous reviews.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your booking in further detail, if you would like to conact me directly with your reservation number at info@hunterslodge.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton on Tees
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Was needing to be in the north west close to the M6 so booked. Easy to find hotel area in separate
Building behind bar and restaurant. Rooms are large, clean and tidy, good bathroom and also free wifi which is very important.

Ate in the bar and a very nice ribeye steak and a Guinness, staff were friendly and helpful.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We visited here for a family lunch. The sunday lunch menu is good value, £16.95 for 3 courses with coffee and mints. The food is very nice, good selection, vegetables are served separately so you can choose which to have. The only downside was very slow service. Long intervals between courses and even being shown to the table was a bit of a wait. There isn't much atmosphere and the lighting is quite bright. If you want a good value sunday lunch then it's worth it, but not if you're short of time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Latte_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed for one night, booked at short notice. I booked a single room and the only disappointment was that it had a shower and not a bath; I did not think to ask, I was looking forward to a relaxing bath. The room was spotless. All of the staff were very friendly; housekeeping, reception and restaurant staff. The breakfast was superb with choice of poached haddock, smoked salmon, full break-fast or just beans on toast. I had the full break-fast and the scrambled egg was just right!
I also ate a bar meak in the evening; again the staff were friendly and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Sydney road is very long so do not worry if you can not find the hotel immediately. I enjoyed my gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHughes56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My wife and I have been to a few christenings etc. and have always been impressed, so we decided to try the Sunday carvery. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable when recommending gluten free options for my wife, and the food was excellent, as was the cask beer.We are unlikely to ever stay here as we only live less than a mile away, so cannot comment on the rooms, but everything else is first class.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The lodge has a nice drive approach with ample parking. The accommodation is a newish purpose built building but they really should get a good joiner to come and fix the squeeky floorboards as everyone of them makes a noise. A heavy snorer in the adjacent room kept us awake both nights and on the second night the wedding party moved from the function room back to one of the guests room and partied until the early hours. We could hear every conversation around us so the walls must be poorly constructed. The bar meals were nice and sensibly priced and the beer was well kept.
We'd stay here again but only if we got the same good rate and we'd remember to bring earplugs!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToonBarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crewe
1.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Crewe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
4.9 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
664 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunters Lodge

Property: The Hunters Lodge
Address: Sydney Road | Sydney, Crewe CW1 5LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hunters Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hunters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunters Hotel Crewe
The Hunters Lodge Crewe, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing