We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms , good location , average service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Doha
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice rooms , good location , average service”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Nice big rooms , good location , average service , cold breakfast
I had a problem with my room the first night it was solved the next day by moving me to another room , the breakfast is ok bit cold, the room size is ok the hotel is really an express goof for one night

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanymaroun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear hany m,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is great to hear you found the rooms nice and our location good. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it is regrettable you were not fully satisfied with your experience with us. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We value your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Once again many thanks for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    111
    102
    28
    15
See reviews for
22
91
24
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The small compact bar area doubles as the breakfast room and has a plasma TV. The staff are very friendly and attentive in the bar too. The room was great, very spacious with plenty of room to work. The bed provided a great nights sleep and had a choice of pillows of differing softness which was a nice touch. The one thing that let it down was the breakfast which consisted of a buffet style. The cooked choice being bacon, sausage, baked beans and scrambled egg (which was cold!).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agachi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I'm sorry to read that there was an issue with breakfast. The breakfast was temperature tested 4 times during the breakfast service on that day. I have spoken to all the team to ensure that this matter soes not happen again. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My partner and I slept in one of the 3rd floor rooms at the back, with slanted roof and ceiling window.
The positive side is that it's quiet.
The negative sides: The bed is on a "pedestal" which sticks out and is a potential "hazard" of being tripped over or hit with your foot, which happened to my partner (they do put a warning on the bed, but still...).
The ventilation is opposite the bed, above the TV, meaning you have it directly blowing into your face. Very unpleasant. Also it's noisy, and there's no remote for it. So when you're in bed and want to switch it off, you have to get up and go to the main switch near the door.
I enjoyed the bathroom, as it was large, and had been redone.
Breakfast is "free of charge", and okay.
We paid 57 GBP, so the price/quality ratio was allright for us.
If I return, I'll ask for a double room at the back on 1rst or 2nd floors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back on 1rst or 2nd floors when you book. Be specific wether you want a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divehigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Divehigirl,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with your room accommodation. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We hope you give us the privilege to continue to serve you in the near future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
795 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way to Lake district.
Location wise it is very convenient.
Rooms are outdated. we did have issues with our room but in the end it was well handled by the Duty manager and we were compensated, what we feel, in a fair manner due to inconveniences caused.
I think issues can occur anywhere, it is how the end result is dealt with that matters.
Where the hotel can improve is attention to detail - clean mugs in the room, to start off with.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I'm glad to see that the issues that happened during your stay were resolved upon check out. Its difficult ot read that the rooms are outdated as the hotel only opened in February 2012. The rooms offered bost the new Holiday Inn Express standards and is the concept that is still being rolled out in new hotel in 2013. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

stays at this hotel on the 28/09/13 for one night, got are keys from reception room 210, went to room first thing i saw was, there was no tea, coffee, went down told reception was told they are waiting for a delivery which will not be till Monday so no tea, coffee.

the room was small put clean, a double bed small bathroom, tv on wall etc etc. we went out for the night for a meal and drink as it was my birthday got back about 11.30pm, went to bed got up for are b/fast went down about 9am.

the b/fast was very poor there was hot beans and sausages. no bacon, or mushrooms, or toms just beans and sausages. so i went to get two cups of coffee there was no milk ask for some milk was told sorry no milk waiting for delivery which will be on Monday.

on checking out told the reception we were not happy and the b/fast was very poor was told the b/fast is free so that's what you get as for the tea and coffee and milk that is down to housekeeping for not putting a order in on time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I'm sorry to read that you experienced an issue with the room and breakfast. All the bedrooms should all have tea/coffee making facilities, i have taken this up with the housekeeping team to ensure that orders are in on time and that we do not run out of stock. In regards to breakfast there is a Holiday Inn Express Brand Standard and that is that the hotel offer 3 hot items, these consist of beans, sausage and scrammbled egg. Bacon, tomatoes and mushrooms are not part of the standard and we are not to offer any hot items apart from those stated in the standard. The milk for the machine was unavailable but fresh milk was available in the fridge. I have spoken to the member of staff that was upon check out altough she is correct in saying that the breakfast is Free there is still a service that is offered. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crewe hotels

Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I like Holiday Inns and HI Express too as "value for money / does what it says in the label" hotels so when one doesn't quite hit the mark, it's disappointing. Don't get me wrong, it's not bad, it's just not up to the standards I have had elsewhere.

The room as sufficiently big enough but the bed mattress really, really needed changing unless of course you were both happy enough to roll into the centre of the bed. Add to that the room was extremely warm, the air conditioning (when you got it to work) was extremely noisy so you were left with no choice but to undo the window. Bad move!!! The McDonalds next door is a true 24 hour restaurant and in the very early hours of a Sunday morning we were treated to thumping bass music, shouting and singing and topped off with revving of engines as the "diners" departed!

Breakfast was ok, the standard HIE fare but the eating area is pretty cramped and in need of a face lift.

Will we be back to Holiday Inns? Yes. Will we return to Crewe? Possibly. Will we return to Crewe HIE? No, the one experience was enough.

Room Tip: If you are staying and you like to sleep with a window open, you must ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I'm sorry to read that there was an issue with the Air Conditioning and the mattress in the room both of these issues have been passed to our maintenance team to resolve. McDonalds unfortunatley have been granted a 24 hour license despite push back form the hotel and surrounding business. There is very little control that the hotel have on the McDonalds guest but calls are made to the restrauant to ask them to remove them from the car park. I'm disspointed to read that you will not return back to the hotel. I hope that should you be in the area you will allow us to prove that Holiday Inn Express Crewe is the place to stay when visiting the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crewe hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe Central Hotel
1.4 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#8 of 9 in Crewe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Crewe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Crewe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Crewe
Address: Macon Way, Crewe CW1 6DR, England (Formerly Hotel Crewe)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Crewe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Crewe, is an exciting addition to Crewe and the Holiday Inn Express chain. Located just a few minutes walk from the rail station, the hotel is perfect for guests travelling on business or guests looking to explore the beautiful Cheshire countryside and its many attractions; historic houses such as Tatton Park and Arley Hall, castles such as Beeston and Peckforton or explore the nearby cities of Chester, Liverpool and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Crewe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Crewe Hotel Crewe
Ramada Crewe
Crewe Ramada
Holiday Inn Express Crewe Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing