We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crewe Hall(Crewe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
75
121
117
40
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
121
117
40
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstesco expresshi expressadequate breakfastclose to the railway stationcomplimentary breakfastdanish pastrieswould stay here againbudget hoteltown centreretail parkthird floorbusy roadmain roadplenty of hot watershower roomsaturday nightshort stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The hotel is pleasant enough for a budget hotel of its type. Room and facilities good (was specifically given a room at the back to avoid noise from McDonalds - see earlier reviews). However the catering facilities and service were only made acceptable by the comedy they provided. Having looked around the area decided to eat at the hotel and on the first evening many of the offerings had "run out" (as had coffee etc in the rooms (also see previous revies - how can this happen?). On the 2nd evening I was told they had some gammon steaks in now so I ordered one. A little while later there was a strong burning bacon smell wafting from the kitchen and shortly after I was informed that unfortunately they had run out of gammon steaks again. Meanwhile the one member of staff waiting on table and serving at the bar, between checking in guests was dashing too and fro whilst the young lady from the kitchen dashed out to return with Tesco carrier bags (probably other things had "run out"). Breakfast was ok but I was amused se see not individual portions of butter or spread but a tub of "I can't believe it's not butter" complete with a communal knife and second hand toast crumbs. Despite all this I quite enjoyed my stay. It was more amusing than my previous stay at the Ramada up the road.

Room Tip: Room at the back
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I'm sorry to read that there was an issue with the evening food and breakfast. The butter issue was down to the suppliers not sending a full order and therefore the hotel went and brought butter from the local supermarket. In regards to the evening food i can only apologise, again the supplier never sent most of the order so items were out of stock. In regards to the gammon burning I have taken this up with the team to see if anyone needs additional training in cooking the products offered. I hope we can welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Service at the hotel was efficient, and I was soon checked in to my room.

The room was a good size, and spotlessly clean. The tv had all the free view channels, and there was reliable free wifi throughout the hotel.

The bed was comfortable, and the shower (no bath) was powerful enough.

Breakfast.....that's the disappointment with this hotel. The bar area doubles as the breakfast room, and it's a pretty soulless place. Now the breakfast is branded as free, but we all know it's loaded in the room rate! There were a few cereals available, with yoghurt and juice and coffee machines, so far so good.

The hot buffet was really disappointing, with a choice of 3-4 hot items, none of which looked very appetising and as though they had been there a while. I noted at the time I had breakfast (06:45) no other diners had any cooked items either.

Overall, the hotel is fine, just need to fix up the breakfast. There is a mcdonalds in the hotel car park if their breakfast suits you better.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Joolsleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I'm sorry to read that there was an issue with breakfast. The breakfast is something that we as a company are working to improve. The hot items offered is to the Brand Standards of Holiday Inn Express. I hope we can welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Nice big rooms , good location , average service , cold breakfast
I had a problem with my room the first night it was solved the next day by moving me to another room , the breakfast is ok bit cold, the room size is ok the hotel is really an express goof for one night

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanymaroun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear hany m,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is great to hear you found the rooms nice and our location good. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it is regrettable you were not fully satisfied with your experience with us. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We value your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Once again many thanks for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The small compact bar area doubles as the breakfast room and has a plasma TV. The staff are very friendly and attentive in the bar too. The room was great, very spacious with plenty of room to work. The bed provided a great nights sleep and had a choice of pillows of differing softness which was a nice touch. The one thing that let it down was the breakfast which consisted of a buffet style. The cooked choice being bacon, sausage, baked beans and scrambled egg (which was cold!).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agachi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I'm sorry to read that there was an issue with breakfast. The breakfast was temperature tested 4 times during the breakfast service on that day. I have spoken to all the team to ensure that this matter soes not happen again. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews