We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Crewe
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Waited 5 mins to check in as only 1 person working between reception and bar. Booked double room but was given twin room. Bed not very comfortable. Breakfast was pretty bad very little choice. Wont be back here in a hurry

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank agp1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear agp1980

Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Express Crewe. Im sorry to read that you experienced problems during your stay. We have taken the comments on board and discussed these with the team to address the issues raised. I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

My sister works for holiday inn express so she booked us two rooms as we were attending a wedding in Nantwich. We had a pleasant stay the room was very clean and we had a great sleep! Staff were great checking us in and out. Car park was free. Breakfast was probably the worst out of all the holiday inn's I have stayed in, my sister said there was quite a few things missing off the breakfast, there wasn't much choice, no croissants and had to wait a while for sausages. I have recently stayed in the holiday inn express in Birmingham and the breakfast was fab there. Overall great for what we paid.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie-Aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Katie-Aaron

Thank you for review of Holiday Inn Express Crewe. I'm sorry to read that you have experienced problems with breakfast. I have taken all the comments on board and have addressed this with the team to address these issues. I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We had to stop at this hotel following a flood in our home.

Lewis was really helpful at check in, recognised us for being platinum elite customers and was also smiling and seemed genuinely pleased to see us.

The rooms here are really nice and had a good sized double bed.

As this was another brand of hotel previously, we even had a balcony on our top floor room. This would be great in summer even if it is on a semi busy road.

The complimentary breakfast was well cooked and presented and a real pleasure to stay here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DoozerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I hope we can welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The hotel is pleasant enough for a budget hotel of its type. Room and facilities good (was specifically given a room at the back to avoid noise from McDonalds - see earlier reviews). However the catering facilities and service were only made acceptable by the comedy they provided. Having looked around the area decided to eat at the hotel and on the first evening many of the offerings had "run out" (as had coffee etc in the rooms (also see previous revies - how can this happen?). On the 2nd evening I was told they had some gammon steaks in now so I ordered one. A little while later there was a strong burning bacon smell wafting from the kitchen and shortly after I was informed that unfortunately they had run out of gammon steaks again. Meanwhile the one member of staff waiting on table and serving at the bar, between checking in guests was dashing too and fro whilst the young lady from the kitchen dashed out to return with Tesco carrier bags (probably other things had "run out"). Breakfast was ok but I was amused se see not individual portions of butter or spread but a tub of "I can't believe it's not butter" complete with a communal knife and second hand toast crumbs. Despite all this I quite enjoyed my stay. It was more amusing than my previous stay at the Ramada up the road.

Room Tip: Room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I'm sorry to read that there was an issue with the evening food and breakfast. The butter issue was down to the suppliers not sending a full order and therefore the hotel went and brought butter from the local supermarket. In regards to the evening food i can only apologise, again the supplier never sent most of the order so items were out of stock. In regards to the gammon burning I have taken this up with the team to see if anyone needs additional training in cooking the products offered. I hope we can welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Service at the hotel was efficient, and I was soon checked in to my room.

The room was a good size, and spotlessly clean. The tv had all the free view channels, and there was reliable free wifi throughout the hotel.

The bed was comfortable, and the shower (no bath) was powerful enough.

Breakfast.....that's the disappointment with this hotel. The bar area doubles as the breakfast room, and it's a pretty soulless place. Now the breakfast is branded as free, but we all know it's loaded in the room rate! There were a few cereals available, with yoghurt and juice and coffee machines, so far so good.

The hot buffet was really disappointing, with a choice of 3-4 hot items, none of which looked very appetising and as though they had been there a while. I noted at the time I had breakfast (06:45) no other diners had any cooked items either.

Overall, the hotel is fine, just need to fix up the breakfast. There is a mcdonalds in the hotel car park if their breakfast suits you better.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Joolsleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review. I'm sorry to read that there was an issue with breakfast. The breakfast is something that we as a company are working to improve. The hot items offered is to the Brand Standards of Holiday Inn Express. I hope we can welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Nice big rooms , good location , average service , cold breakfast
I had a problem with my room the first night it was solved the next day by moving me to another room , the breakfast is ok bit cold, the room size is ok the hotel is really an express goof for one night

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanymaroun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear hany m,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is great to hear you found the rooms nice and our location good. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it is regrettable you were not fully satisfied with your experience with us. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We value your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Once again many thanks for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CraigPearmain, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crewe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crewe hotels
1.4 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 10 in Crewe
2,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#3 of 10 in Crewe
308 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Crewe Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Crewe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Crewe

Address: Macon Way, Crewe CW1 6DR, England (Formerly Hotel Crewe)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range: £59 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Crewe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Crewe, is an exciting addition to Crewe and the Holiday Inn Express chain. Located just a few minutes walk from the rail station, the hotel is perfect for guests travelling on business or guests looking to explore the beautiful Cheshire countryside and its many attractions; historic houses such as Tatton Park and Arley Hall, castles such as Beeston and Peckforton or explore the nearby cities of Chester, Liverpool and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Crewe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Crewe Hotel Crewe
Ramada Crewe
Crewe Ramada
Holiday Inn Express Crewe Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing