We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab staff, fab Breakfast, Superb Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fab staff, fab Breakfast, Superb Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The clue is in the phrase Superb Value. This is a family run hotel where the staff are dedicated and the service is honest and friendly.

Our 3 night booking was clearly confirmed on arrival and we were shown to clean neat rooms.

As you can imagine this is not a 5* hotel so people expecting that are clearly unaware of what a hotel costs to break even, let alone make a profit.

Location, you're unlikely to be spending the day in your hotel room so the size of the room is not really relevant.

Breakfast was delightful and swift with both veggie and meat full English served with amazing speed despite the number of diners.

This place is clearly worth 5/5 for the simple reason it is so cheap and the staff service so high.

Room Tip: Room 10 was a little noisy owing to the bar over the road, I believe room 6 is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robidyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review, i really appreciate your comments, its very refreshing for someone to acknowledge how hard running a hotel in this current climate is. If your ever in crewe again, we would hope to see you.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    68
    40
    18
    21
See reviews for
23
59
30
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

our family stayed here for one night as we struggled to find other accommodation nearer to where we wanted to be, due to the bank holiday. I rang to book the hotel a few days previously but very disappointed that we weren't told there would be a wedding reception on on that night. We couldn't have anything to eat on Saturday evening as they don't do meals at weekends which was disappointing too. We have 2 small children and were put in a room right above the noise that went on til past 12.30 am. The room was ok but very warm and mattress wasn't comfy. Opening the window made it even noisier.The staff were helpful enough and the breakfast was very good but not a very nice experience and wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank war1game
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Many thanks for your review, we do listen to all your comments, im sorry you were not told that there was a reception on in the hotel the night you stayed, i can only assume it was an oversight, and i will be speaking to the lady who took your booking. The mattrases are all hotel contract beds, i had a lady ring me last week, to ask where we got them as its the best nights sleep she has had in a long time, so i guess its personal preference. I m pleased you enjoyed your breakfast, however, but sorry you didnt enjoy your time here.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crewe hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Great for a 1 night stopover as Crewe has no heart and soul, apart from the busy hub railway station. The price just £20 per person per night sharing, Room and Full English Breakfast basis on a busy August Saturday! The Duty Manager lady was doing everything, she deserves a medal.. She was there at 1 am and back to work for breakfast at 8am. She was the anchor of this Hotel I see which kept it afloat. The rooms do need a overhaul with regards to décor i.e. Red "gharish" curtains, old wardrobes and oldy worldly carpets, the kind you find in a house post world war two times. The Breakfast was the star attraction and it actually offered Smoked Kippers which swam in butter - but were a delight and gorgeous..You don't find Kippers in many a Hotels these days sad to say. The Cooked Breakfast looked mediocre and bland for a hotel breakfast. Cleanliness was great and car park was spacious! I would use this Hotel again if I was on a one nighter and passing, The only downside is that the bar is not 24 hour to residents and you are made to pay £10 if you check-in after 11pm - unless there is a busy function on when staff are there until 1am or so. £10 for a late check-in is highly unprecedented and a money maker for the hotel - quite discriminating as no Hotel I know charges for a late check-in. A good short stopover all round, thank you! But Crewe for a night out on the town..er..no thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JetsetZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Many thanks for your review, we do listen to all your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the most part.
im pleased you enjoyed the kippers, we do find them quite popular.
Yes the staff here do work extremly hard and long hours.
We are not a 24hour hotel, as we are only small, it would not be worth having an extra member of staff on all night, who would see no body most nights of the week. Also it adds to the cost of running the hotel which is extremly high. The £10 charge is to help cover the wages of the person who lives on site to stay on duty, in order to check the late arrivals in, which are very far and few between really.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights - room very small and didn't like the double bed up against the wall -made it difficult for one of us to get in and out of bed without waking the other. Bathroom was adequate although towels were on the small size and there was no shower gel, just one very small bar of soap in the sink. The shower wasn't brilliant but was adequate. Room was dark and very warm - we had to ask for a fan. The lady on reception was lovely - couldn't do enough for us. We thought the bar prices were very reasonable. Breakfast was lovely. We were travelling from the Station so was excellent location for our needs. There were lots of bars and eating places nereby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Many thanks for your review, we do take all comments on board, we only have 2 rooms that have the double bed against the wall, the others are bigger rooms, we would have tried to move you if you had asked. We are a budget hotel, we try to keep costs down as much as possible, ie no shower gel.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in one of the 'family rooms' which is in fact a 2 bedroomed house (2 bedrooms, shower room, living room, kitchenette, downstairs loo) accessed via the hotel but next to the main hotel building. We were extremely pleased with the amount of space we had and it was all very clean and fresh. It is ideal for parents who want to be able to put the kids to bed but still be able to sit in the living room and enjoy their evening. It is not self catering accommodation (there is a kitchen area with sink, kettle, microwave, fridge but there is no oven) but it feels very similar to that. We stayed on a Saturday night in August and although the beer garden is just next to the house we didn't find it noisy. There is free parking on-site.

Overall we were extremely pleased with our stay but I have a few points where I feel they could improve on. The towels were plentiful but quite old and worn. The house itself is newly decorated and carpeted etc but the patterned bedding detracts from the modern feel. As it is designed to be used by families and the bedrooms are upstairs, a stair gate, especially upstairs would be helpful (our 2 and 4 year olds both occasionally wake during the night and come into our room and so we were concerned about this happening and them being disorientated and falling down the stairs so we moved a bedside cabinet so it was blocking the upstairs hallway before the stairs!!).

Please note that this review is for the family room, I can not comment on the main hotel bedrooms or indeed the breakfast. The parts of the hotel we were in to get to our accommodation seemed dated and tired but it all appeared clean and as it is not a pricey hotel it is to be expected I suppose.

Room Tip: Family room - 2 bedroomed house next to main hotel building, double and twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Many thanks for your review, we do listen to your comments and try to improve from them.
We are so pleased you liked the house, these houses are brand new and have been open for less than 12 months. I can only apologise about the towels, however we have ordered new ones.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The biggest plus point of this hotel is its location, close to both Crewe Station and the Gresty Road football stadium.

Rooms are cheap and include a good cooked breakfast.

However the bedrooms are tired looking and could do with a face lift.

If location and price are your key considerations, then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Many thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The decor and facilities were basic. Bed very comfy but I disliked the dark blue bedding and towels. Shower on the small side with awful plastic curtain that stuck to you. Food available in the evening was very good and reasonably priced. Bar however was not so kind to your wallet! The breakfast was so so....toast made from cheap quality bread, quite unpleasant.

I wished I had spent a little more and gone for the hotel chain around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tigger41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Many thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback, and we do take your comments on board and learn from them, i would just like to say though that the bread we use to make our toast, is one of the leading brands in the country, maybe its just personal taste.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crewe hotels
1.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
1.2 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Property: The Waverley Hotel
Address: 9 Pedley Street, Crewe CW2 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waverley Hotel is a 22 bedroom family run hotel just 3 minutes walk from Crewe Railway Station and a short drive from J16 on the M6 motorway, making it an ideal choice to travel anywhere. Our friendly attentive Staff will ensure that your stay with us is comfortable and enjoyable, in a relaxed charming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Crewe
The Waverley Hotel Crewe, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing