We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value budget hotel”
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Crewe
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The one thing every hotel should be regardless of the price of the rooms is clean and this hotel is spotless. The building internally is a bit tired looking but not scruffy and for the price you pay it's good value. The hotel has two small cottages attached which are really well decorated and very comfortable looking but no mention of them on the website. There is a bar very close to the hotel that was noisy up until about midnight but then it was all quiet and I got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creightonfoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Many thanks for your review, we do advertise the 2 houses on the online booking agents that we are associated with, will look into getting them on out website thank you.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

The Waverley Hotel is not posh, no haute cuisine and not ultra modern. It has a heart and soul that comes from the manager of 22 years.

It is a slightly shabby building but it is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The food is basic but plentiful and very well cooked. You leave the table feeling as full as you would wish. The garden area is like a small oasis in the dinge that is Crewe. I really enjoyed our overnight stay and will definitely be going back for two nights later in the year.

Room Tip: there is no lift so book early, ring the hotel and ask for advice on which rooms would suit your nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Many thanks for your review, we hope to see you again later in the year.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great staff, great value, clean room, great breakfast. Very quiet considering the location.
I had a great nights sleep in would use this hotel again if passing through.
A big thank you to all members of staff for making my stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyfs251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Many thanks for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

3 very pleasant nights - nice people - room rate very fair and good value for money. Crewe has little to offer by way of night life unless you like Indian restaurants of which there are many. Fine India was the best we found. There is also a Japanese restaurant which was bust the night we went. All within walking distance of the Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Many thanks for your review, we appreciate your comments.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The clue is in the phrase Superb Value. This is a family run hotel where the staff are dedicated and the service is honest and friendly.

Our 3 night booking was clearly confirmed on arrival and we were shown to clean neat rooms.

As you can imagine this is not a 5* hotel so people expecting that are clearly unaware of what a hotel costs to break even, let alone make a profit.

Location, you're unlikely to be spending the day in your hotel room so the size of the room is not really relevant.

Breakfast was delightful and swift with both veggie and meat full English served with amazing speed despite the number of diners.

This place is clearly worth 5/5 for the simple reason it is so cheap and the staff service so high.

Room Tip: Room 10 was a little noisy owing to the bar over the road, I believe room 6 is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robidyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review, i really appreciate your comments, its very refreshing for someone to acknowledge how hard running a hotel in this current climate is. If your ever in crewe again, we would hope to see you.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

our family stayed here for one night as we struggled to find other accommodation nearer to where we wanted to be, due to the bank holiday. I rang to book the hotel a few days previously but very disappointed that we weren't told there would be a wedding reception on on that night. We couldn't have anything to eat on Saturday evening as they don't do meals at weekends which was disappointing too. We have 2 small children and were put in a room right above the noise that went on til past 12.30 am. The room was ok but very warm and mattress wasn't comfy. Opening the window made it even noisier.The staff were helpful enough and the breakfast was very good but not a very nice experience and wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank war1game
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Many thanks for your review, we do listen to all your comments, im sorry you were not told that there was a reception on in the hotel the night you stayed, i can only assume it was an oversight, and i will be speaking to the lady who took your booking. The mattrases are all hotel contract beds, i had a lady ring me last week, to ask where we got them as its the best nights sleep she has had in a long time, so i guess its personal preference. I m pleased you enjoyed your breakfast, however, but sorry you didnt enjoy your time here.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Great for a 1 night stopover as Crewe has no heart and soul, apart from the busy hub railway station. The price just £20 per person per night sharing, Room and Full English Breakfast basis on a busy August Saturday! The Duty Manager lady was doing everything, she deserves a medal.. She was there at 1 am and back to work for breakfast at 8am. She was the anchor of this Hotel I see which kept it afloat. The rooms do need a overhaul with regards to décor i.e. Red "gharish" curtains, old wardrobes and oldy worldly carpets, the kind you find in a house post world war two times. The Breakfast was the star attraction and it actually offered Smoked Kippers which swam in butter - but were a delight and gorgeous..You don't find Kippers in many a Hotels these days sad to say. The Cooked Breakfast looked mediocre and bland for a hotel breakfast. Cleanliness was great and car park was spacious! I would use this Hotel again if I was on a one nighter and passing, The only downside is that the bar is not 24 hour to residents and you are made to pay £10 if you check-in after 11pm - unless there is a busy function on when staff are there until 1am or so. £10 for a late check-in is highly unprecedented and a money maker for the hotel - quite discriminating as no Hotel I know charges for a late check-in. A good short stopover all round, thank you! But Crewe for a night out on the town..er..no thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetsetZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Many thanks for your review, we do listen to all your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the most part.
im pleased you enjoyed the kippers, we do find them quite popular.
Yes the staff here do work extremly hard and long hours.
We are not a 24hour hotel, as we are only small, it would not be worth having an extra member of staff on all night, who would see no body most nights of the week. Also it adds to the cost of running the hotel which is extremly high. The £10 charge is to help cover the wages of the person who lives on site to stay on duty, in order to check the late arrivals in, which are very far and few between really.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crewe hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
1 mi away
Travelodge Crewe Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#3 of 10 in Crewe
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe Central Hotel
1.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 10 in Crewe
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Address: 9 Pedley Street, Crewe CW2 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range: £53 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waverley Hotel is a 22 bedroom family run hotel just 3 minutes walk from Crewe Railway Station and a short drive from J16 on the M6 motorway, making it an ideal choice to travel anywhere. Our friendly attentive Staff will ensure that your stay with us is comfortable and enjoyable, in a relaxed charming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Crewe
The Waverley Hotel Crewe, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing