We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate”
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Fairly old establishment which while being rather basic is totally fine for the odd night. The furniture and general feel is from another millennium but it has its charm I guess. Don't expect a bath or A/C in your room (Room 19 where we stayed didn't have either of those). Do expect late night music/party till midnight, especially if staying on a Saturday night (to be fair we were told at check-in). Breakfast is ok, not a real buffet as such (apart from yogurts and cereals), on the plus side your freshly cooked b/fast is brought to your table rather quickly.
Tip: Do walk around the city centre. Few restaurants and bars on offer but there are a few gems to be found.

Room Tip: Beware of late night music at week-ends. And do bring your own toiletries!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_Chicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Hi, many thanks for taking the time to review the waverley hotel, i have taken your comments on board . We do only have functions on within the hotel from time to time, its not every week, i do agree it is noisy in certain parts of the hotel until midnight when it shuts off, as its only a small hotel. We don't and never have advertised or offered a buffet style breakfast, it has always been table service for your cooked food, as this works best for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    72
    41
    18
    21
See reviews for
23
62
31
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Had the BEST Sunday lunch here! I come every Sunday when I can and have had a few Christmases here too. The staff are friendly and relaxed and the food is cheap and served promptly. Very pleased with every dining experience I have had at this establishment! :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SilversunPickups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Hi , many thanks for your lovely review, myself and my staff work very hard to provide an excellent service to such a busy sunday lunch service, so to read your review is wonderful, i shall pass your comments on to all concerned. We hope you continue to enjoy our service here at the Waverley Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Just checked out from a lovely 1 night stay.
My room was clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful and attentive.
Dinner in the restaurant last night was superb value - where else can you get a delicious, hearty starter and main for £7.50??????
How previous reviews can accuse the staff of being unfriendly beggers belief, as the complete opposite is true. Helpful service with a smile.
Should I need a hotel room in Crewe in future, I would not hesitate booking into the Waverley again. 10/10

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoasterGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review, we hope to welcome you back to the waverley hotel in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed one night on business
More than adequate hotel, priced correctly as it is in a rough part of town but the staff were very good and friendly and the place was clean and generally appointed as well as any british hotels. The breakfast was served quickly, toast available and coffee that felt fresh which is always a plus.
would stay again, not exciting or amazing but definatlety good for the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axlrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review, we hope to welcome you back to the waverley hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Staffs are very unprofessional, call conversations are not recoded incase of credit card fraud.Lights not working in the bathroom.Towels were dirty OMG Service is overal poor. The railway hotel nantwich is by far better even though its cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diva4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2015
The only response to this review i have is that I'm very unhappy you accused myself and my colleague of being racist , and screaming and shouting in the breakfast room at breakfast time, because we had to say no to a request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crewe hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The staff are absolutely fantastic. Food is of a high quality and hot. Rooms are clean and well kept. I had my wedding here and a number of guests booked room we all had a fantastic breakfast prepared and served by Gina and Dana with a smile :) x the wedding itself was beautiful. All 70 guests enjoyed a 3 course meal and the 100 at night enjoyed a lush buffet. The room itself was well prepared and absolute stunning. Warm friendly clean and welcoming would highly recommend x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douwannabuild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Hi Kelly,

Many thanks for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your very special day, many congratulations once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crewe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

recently went to a function at the waverley hotel,stayed overnight and got to say great value for money,place was clean staff were nice and friendly food was first class , i could not fault any of the service ,the evening entertainment was probably the best disco ive seen for a long time ,just had a brilliant all round experience

Room Tip: get a room at the furthest point from the lift so you get less people walking past your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motorcityCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyduke87, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review, we are all very pleased you enjoyed your experience here with us at the Waverley Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crewe hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crewe
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Property: The Waverley Hotel
Address: 9 Pedley Street, Crewe CW2 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waverley Hotel is a 22 bedroom family run hotel just 3 minutes walk from Crewe Railway Station and a short drive from J16 on the M6 motorway, making it an ideal choice to travel anywhere. Our friendly attentive Staff will ensure that your stay with us is comfortable and enjoyable, in a relaxed charming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Crewe
The Waverley Hotel Crewe, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing