We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Classy Pub”
Review of The Rising Sun

The Rising Sun
Ranked #18 of 207 Restaurants in Crewe
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional Inn serving great food and a tempting range of quality cask ales the regularly change and wines served by the glass or by the bottle. We also have a range of Gin. Large garden and patio areas for the Summer time
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Often passing by this pub I'd pop in for a quick pint or bite to eat, food is fantastic, especially the mixed grill literally a man down moment with portion size. Full of flavour wabtes to carry on but couldn't.

Great selction of ales, wines and service is friendly.

Thank Chris_Carty818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCMLX1, General Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the great comments and nice review
Its always nice to get great feedback , a nice reward for all the teams had work

See you soon

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The pub is set in beautiful countryside with adequate parking. The staff are very friendly and gave us a very warm welcome. We were seated straight away and were offered drinks. The food was lovely and fresh and came in a good amount of time. The beer garden was stunning and gave a overly view whilst we ate our food. Overall a lovely visit, with amazing staff and the food is superb!

Thank Nicole_Vale_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCMLX1, General Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Looks like we ticked all the boxes!
Thanks for the nice review I'm sure we will see you again very soon

TTFN

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came in last night for a quick bite to eat, it can sometimes be a nightmare due to gluten and dairy allergies. Lauren was fantastic helping go through the menu and offering alternatives to allow me to have a 2 course meal. Brilliant pub with a great understanding of allergies.

Thank haribo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCMLX1, General Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Another great example of Lauren going the Extra mile to make it special, Im sure she will be very pleased to get the recognition and feed back. Thank you for taking the time
Im sure we will see you again soon

Kind regards

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with friends a few days ago, great staff, great atmosphere. Vegan choices on menu is growing too which is a huge bonus. Food is awesome

Thank Stef_275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCMLX1, General Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your nice review and feedback, great to hear we are moving in the right direction

See you again soon

RGds

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We called in on a pleasant, busy evening for dinner. The waitress showed us to a nice table in the bar, left some menus and took a drinks order, which came quickly.
We had to pass round menus as they were clearly in short supply, but agreed that the two-course dinner menu looked decent and good value.
After a long time we asked a passing waitress about taking our order, who told us to go to the bar to order food, then changed her mind and said she would take the order.
The first course was average.
The main course was more difficult. One person believed the menu and asked for asian salad with sea bass. Her dinner consisted of a plate of salad, but no fish. Another asked for pie and chips, and ended up with pie mash and gravy.
Clearly we did not wish to stay for pudding. But we still had to overcome the hurdles at the bar, where one young man was working very hard, with a number of other staff looking busy but doing nothing.
Conclusions?
A pity about the food. Those who got what they were expecting said it was no better than one prepares at home. The others were disappointed.
A pity about the service. The words used were: patchy, inexperienced, poorly trained, disinterested.
Someone needs to get a grip.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Driver_in_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCMLX1, General Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your detailed review of your visit, certainly there are a few points that will be investigated and addressed. We always, as a team take good look when we drop the ball and plan to avoid similar in the future.
There is a fair amount of information in the review but It would be really great if we could chat over a pint or coffee next time you are in town, the more details I have is a great help to fix the issues

Kind regards


Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rising Sun also viewed

 

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;