We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

worse hotel i have stayed in, stayed here with my girlfriend and my daughter, the reason i stayed here woz to take my daughter to chesire zoo and then stay in this holiday inn for her 1st bday, wanted to make this special for her, ended up as a disaster all because of this hotel, heaters did not work! spoke to 3 different work staff, 1of the 3 was the manger regarding the heating, ended up sleeping in a really cold room, now for this me, my daughter and my girlfriend have suffered a cold for a week, i will be taking this further

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
widnes77, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Duaine b

Thank you for your trip advisor comment, regarding your stay with us. I am disappointed that you where un-happy with your stay. As you can see from other comments we normally score very highly with the team and there "can do" attitude to solve situations which may occur out of our control,

Please contact me direct on paul.borg@hiellesmereport.com so I can deal with your issues personally.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

A nice tidy clean hotel both from the inside and out.
The reception staff where very friendly and accommodating.
We ate in the restaurant for both evening meal and breakfast, both meals were a good standard and tasty. Good value for money.
Rooms were clean new and tidy, noise level was low and bed was very comfortable.

Used the pool and leisure facilities, all good but a little tired in gents changing room with a pretty dirty shower room and changing area.
Again staff were helpful and friendly.

Parking was quite sufficient but not too roomy, get in early if you need to park a large vehicle.

Room Tip: Always go for a top floor room if you want a quite night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilesmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stay at the Holiday Inn at Ellesmere Port on a regular basis for business and can thoroughly recommend it. I've tried many hotels in the area and this is the best by far. The staff are always very helpful; always happy to offer advice on local restaurants if you want a particular cuisine. The restaurant is perfectly decent if the menu is a little limited. My gammon steak last week was cooked perfectly. Special mention for the breakfast which is always hot, fresh and very tasty. (Two types of sausage is a nice touch.) The breakfast servers are in a league of their own for customer service and frienliness. The fans from the kitchen can be a little noisy in the summer with the windows open on floor 1 but that's about the only problem. Just wish i could rememebr my trunks one time tyo try out the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for level 3. Room 310 is by the lift but is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Booked for two nights. Unfortunately the hotel was extremdly busy with two wedding functions. Little things like, no knives on our table and no one to go find a knive for us to eat our meal with took thde shine off what should and could have been a great stay. The food was disappointing and bar prices very exspensive. £4.50 a pint in thr North East is close to a record. The beds are really soft, great if you like soft beds. Location is reallt stunning but needs additional sinage to find it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcgoo754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel Sat 14th Sept 2013 as he was going to the races and I was to join him later.
The hotel was fantastic, room great, bed large and very comfortable and for me, I loved the comfy leather chair at the desk with a mirror above, women need to sit whilst doing their hair, not stand by the long mirror outside the bathroom door like at the Holiday Inn 'Express'.
The staff were very friendly and professional especially Staci on reception, Gill, Duty Manager and Fran in the dining room. A credit to the hotel.
We did have a problem with a noisy room (107 - directly above the hotels extractor fans!) which yes did cause a sleepless night but we spoke to the hotel manager and has since been dealt with.
I have given it full marks as the hotel and staff deserve it. Next time we visit, and we will, it will be in a different room.

Room Tip: BEWARE... Rooms 105, 107 and 109 are directly above noisy hotel extractor fans!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillybobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The service here is great and the hotel is in good condition. I have stayed here many times and have found the service and quality to be very consistent.

The pool is good, but, there are swimming lessons that start around 10am on Sunday mornings so they take up 50% of the pool. Get in there early!

A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtriper110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Arriving after a 20 hour flight from Malaysia, the hotel was a surprising welcome to our UK holiday. There were plenty of parking spaces available and the location was not too hard to find. The reception was polite and prompt. We had our room in just a few minutes, a big welcome due to the jet lag. We had a room with a sofa bed for the kids and it was well above our expectations. The room was spacious enough, with comfy pillows and a quite surrounding, just perfect for our rest.

Breakfast was typically british and the view is second to none. You can sip you coffee while looking past canal boats along the waterway. Overall, having paid 70 pounds for the B&B for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids, it was great value and close enough for a spot of shopping in Chesire Oaks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellesmere Port
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
535 reviews
6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
5 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks

Address: Lower Mersey Street | Centre Island, Ellesmere Port CH65 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#4 Business Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ellesmere Port
Price Range: £52 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks, whether for leisure weekends in the Chester area or that business trip or conference to the North West. The hotel is delightfully situated on the tranquil and attractive Wirral peninsula near the historic river Mersey waterfront, adjacent to the award winning National Boat Museum, with immediate access to both historic City of Chester or across the River Mersey to Liverpool. Liverpool John Lennon Airport is only 30 minutes away, Manchester International Airport only 40 minutes away and with a P&O fast ferry service to Ireland available in Liverpool, the hotel is the most central position to explore the whole of the North West of England. All 83 luxuriously air conditioned bedrooms with HSIA connections have splendid views of the surrounding locks and canal waterways. Our Leisure club includes indoor swimming pool, sauna, sun shower and gymnasium. The hotel is near to Royal Liverpool Golf Cub, Chester Race Course, Blue Planet Aquarium, Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet Village & Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Hotel Ellesmere Port
Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port
Ellesmere Port Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Ellesmere Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing