We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Holiday Inn on the 19.11.13
On booking into the hotel (early by the way) the lovely receptionist (Derron) quickly sorted both my colleague and I our rooms out. Very professional and friendly by the way.
We presented our products to customers in a small room where the temperature control seemed to be an issue.
We had a buffet style hit lunch in the restaurant where the food and service was excellent and the chefs should be commended.
That evening after a meal at a local restaurant I retired back to my room for a shower and a good nights sleep.
Unfortunately I was unable to engage the shower mechanism and for ease resorted to having a bath. I was feeling cold after the bath and tried to adjust the room temperature which had no affect what so ever in the room. I suspect it was broke just like that of the room we had presented in earlier that day.
When checking out I informed a receptionist of the issue. She was concerned and summoned her line manager who really couldn't care less to be honest. She more concerned about guests arriving for a meeting. I was left feeling disappointed.
On attempting to leave the hotel I was first blocked in by a delivery driver and then after 10 mins I was able to get out of the carparking space to get trapped once again by a laundry truck on the small single track bridge for another 10 min. This was very inconvenient and annoying.
I don't think I would choose to stop here again. There are some basic fundamental issues that need addressing to make this a good place to stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

I had the plesure of staying at the hotel for just over a month due to my work on the shut down on the oil refinery, during my stay the staff..... Stacey, Toni, Rick and especially Holly to name a few were great. Some of the other staff were great to but i cant remember their names, sorry. The rooms were nice and clean and the food was the majority of the time good ....but it depended which chef was on. I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silver f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Holiday Inn from 6th - 8th of November. It was my first visit to Ellesmere Port to visit relatives. I took my mother. Let's get started on the review. ..
Staff: On arrival we were greeted by an amazingly friendly girl called Sinead. She was really welcoming and easy to get on with. We arrived at 10am so although our room was not ready Sinead kindly kept our bags. She always had a smile and a chat for us. Just a real gem. Vicky in the breakfast room too was brilliant at her job, always in hand to get anything we needed. Also Bernie one of the cleaners/fitness instructors was always buzzing about and good for a bit of banter Cheers folks.

Rooms: We had a double bed and sofa bed. Both comfortable and room clean. View out onto the lock with boats, ducks etc. Was just a nice temperature so I never used the air conditioning. Bathroom had shower and n bath with shampoo shower gel ect. Cleaners done a good job.
Location: Its located in a nice seeing beside the water. There are some nice old canal boats. Ellesmere Port itself does not have much happening but the Cheshire Oaks Shopping Center is only a 5 min ride away and is massive.

Breakfast: All you can eat self service breakfast. Lovely. You can have your cooked breakfast or cereals. One of the nicest breakfasts Iv had in hotels. Be aware if this is not into your room price its about £13 per person per day.

To sum the place up I would stay again no problem. The staff made the hotel and that means alot so if the managers reading this. .. give Sinead, Bernie & Vicky a big pat on the back cause they are a big part of what makes the place. See you again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Justin_Dreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed one night on a shopping trip. Staff really helpful and could not do enough for you. Hotel immaculate. Food ok but nothing special. Only fault was room too hot with air con not really working. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Booked this as closer to Cheshire Oaks than a Premier Inn, also has pool so thought the kids would have something extra to do. The hotel itself was pleasant although basic but the pool was too small (& on sat am was being used for swimming lessons), changing rooms were old & dirty & gym equipment was rusty! Otherwise the hotel was in a convenient location for Chester, Cheshire Oaks & Liverpool. Bar area was pleasant & rooms were adequate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KG1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
widnes77, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear KG1967

Many thanks for your comments regarding the hotel I am glad that you found the hotel pleasant. I have spoken to the fitness suit manager who will put a more rigid cleaning process in place.

Many Thanks
Paul Borg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on Oct 31 for Halloween and bought 2 rooms one for my wife and I and one for our daughter.
We were welcomed well with all staff dressed in suitable "horrific" style, they were however the total opposite, very charming, and to my eyes very hard working. Josie was particularly cheerful at breakfast. Good location near Cheshire Oaks outlet, adequate parking and a pool.The breakfast was good. We had some criticisms however, this hotel is looking a bit tired, the staff were not able to deal with the influx of guests for dinner and we had a long wait. Food was OK. I was disappointed with my shower,it seemed to be fixed to an average temperature? and was a bit weak. Beds were good. Nice lounge, liked the pictures. Overall average to good. Would be pleased to return after the makeover!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lingopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
widnes77, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear lingopete

Thank you very much for your comments regarding our hotel. I am was very pleased to read how you found the staff very charming in particular Josie.

I am sorry that you had a long wait for your dinner and I forwarded your comments to the food and beverage manger.

Many Thanks
Paul Borg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

When we arrived at the hotel reception we were met by a young lady who had a fit of the giggles and instead of attending to us continued to converse and fool around with another employee.
We eventually had our key and went to the room. It was a normal hotel room very comfortable and clean. During the rest of our stay the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was good.
I would just remind the reception that you only get one chance to make a good first impression and you failed

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normandmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellesmere Port
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
502 reviews
6.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
421 reviews
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks

Address: Lower Mersey Street | Centre Island, Ellesmere Port CH65 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#4 Business Hotel in Ellesmere Port
Price Range: £61 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks, whether for leisure weekends in the Chester area or that business trip or conference to the North West. The hotel is delightfully situated on the tranquil and attractive Wirral peninsula near the historic river Mersey waterfront, adjacent to the award winning National Boat Museum, with immediate access to both historic City of Chester or across the River Mersey to Liverpool. Liverpool John Lennon Airport is only 30 minutes away, Manchester International Airport only 40 minutes away and with a P&O fast ferry service to Ireland available in Liverpool, the hotel is the most central position to explore the whole of the North West of England. All 83 luxuriously air conditioned bedrooms with HSIA connections have splendid views of the surrounding locks and canal waterways. Our Leisure club includes indoor swimming pool, sauna, sun shower and gymnasium. The hotel is near to Royal Liverpool Golf Cub, Chester Race Course, Blue Planet Aquarium, Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet Village & Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Hotel Ellesmere Port
Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port
Ellesmere Port Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Ellesmere Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing