We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant location, better than average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pleasant location, better than average stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

The location of this hotel is at the end of the Ellesmere canal near to the Boat Museum alongside the river Mersey. The hotel was better than expected from the usual Holiday Inn portfolio of hotels, but did suffer a bit from 'Corporate Flu'. -- Everything is as it should be but done to a formula rather than because someone cared.
There was a large convention on over the Friday and Saturday and the car park was overflowing causing us to have to walk some distance with our cases.
the evening meal was edible and fairly well presented, but lacked a bit of 'love'. Nothing wrong, but if felt like a glorified McDonalds. Breakfast was tired, almost cold but edible.
Bar prices were over the top for not very good products.
If given the option I would stay again, but if somewhere else was found better I would 'jump ship'

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveE787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear SteveE787,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port / Cheshire Oaks. We are pleased that you had a good stay and would return to the Hotel.

We did have a very large conference on at the Hotel over the weekend which our staff managed very well although this did mean that Car Parking was limited.

Thank you for your comments regarding our restaurant I will pass these onto our Food & Beverage manager who I am sure will take these on board and make sure any relevant training is carried out.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel again in the future

Kind regards

Michelle Monaghan
Department Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    324
    82
    19
    18
See reviews for
321
241
20
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed here whilst on business in the area. The hotel is in a fairly quiet location, and the lesiure centre opposite was a nice addition. I didn't check out the gym, but the pool was practically empty the whole time I was there which was nice. Room average size, bed fairly comfortable (bit soft for my liking though!) and a choice of different pillows. Reception staff friendly and happy to provide a few bits I'd left behind! Restaurant was a bit of a letdown. Breakfast was ok, but dinner was a set menu with quiet a small choice and food which you'd expect to receive in somewhere like a harvester or little chef (just twice the price!). Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Meg W

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port / Cheshire Oaks. We are pleased that you had a good stay with us.

We are going to take your comments regarding our restaurant on board and our Food & Beverage Manager is going to carry out extra training with staff and look at improving our Menus.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon

Kind regards

Michelle Monaghan
Department Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I had a good experience with Holiday inn. Good location on the canal with nice views over to Liverpool docks also. 5 minutes drive to Cheshire oaks so a great location. Hotel was clean, staff were friendly. Room had everything we wanted: tea, biscuits, iron, shower gell etc. Good size room, enough to fit me and a cot. Bed was solid but comfortable, good pillows and quilt. Flat screen tv. Clean and tidy. Facilities at the hotel where great, swimmingpool was small but perfect for a short stay. Didn't use the gym so can't comment. The restaurant in the evening started of with slow service but was recovered by on going good service and excellent food. Kids under 13 eat free which wa brilliant. The steak I had was great, menu was limited but I didn't expect a huge amount. Dry good value food. Breakfast was good, lots of choice. Parking at hotel was ok, some spaces in front of hotel otherwise you had to park around the corner which was a little annoying with lots of bags and a little one to carry. Overall a great stay and would certainly stay here again. Price was around £62 + breakfast (around £10).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauns_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Shauns_Holidays

Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to view your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port / Cheshire Oaks.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Michelle Monaghan
Department Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here on 17th January 2014 with my partner. We found the hotel very easily and in a quiet location. All the staff were professional and very friendly. We ate in the restaurant and the food was of high quality and hot. The room was very spacious, bed lovely and comfy/clean and so quiet which was a surprise as usually I hear doors banging etc. My only two negatives are: We both found the shower hard to operate and the windows had been left open, leaving the room freezing. If the windows had been shut, my rating would have been an excellent!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyg96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear daisyg96

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port / Cheshire Oaks.

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the meal you had in our restaurant.

Next time you are planning to stay at the Hotel if you could please advise us at the time of booking, we can put a note on your reservation and make sure that the windows in your bedroom are closed prior to your arrival.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon

Kind regards

Michelle Monaghan
Wedding Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Have stayed here twice in 2013 and both times have been an enjoyable stay. The staff are very friendly, atmosphere is relaxed and is an ideal place to stay for visiting Chester, Chester Zoo and Cheshire Oaks shopping outlet. Five minutes walk from the hotel is a superb South African restaurant. There is also a waterways museum at the back of the hotel which is worth a visit. We love the setting of the hotel surrounded by canals. Will be sure to be going back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicd40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIchelle M, Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Nicd40

Thank you for your feedback and lovely comments. We are delighted that you had such a good stay at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Kind regards

Michelle Monaghan
Department Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here for one night on a recent business trip. Have stayed here before and overall i quite like it. The food is quite good, the location is also good and the facilities also good.
The breakfast is very good.
I have one big complaint though ............. This hotel (in common with many others) uses those totally useless low energy lamps in the rooms. The light they give off gives an institutional feel to the area they light up and makes it difficult to read or do things that require "proper" lighting. If they have to use this form of energy why not LED lamps? But as thing stands I would most likely stay elsewhere if i had work to do that required lots of reading. Or perhaps take my own light bulbs ??

Room Tip: Take your own light bulb if you need to read.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jones4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIchelle M, Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear jones4d,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port / Cheshire Oaks and for your comments.

The hotel does use energy saving light bulbs to save on our carbon footprint, we are also part of the IHG world wide green initiative scheme called Green Engage. Next time you are planning to stay with us if you advise us when making your reservation we can arrange for an additional lamp to be put into your bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Monaghan
Department Manager

Kind regards

Michelle Monaghan
Department Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Lovely location,staff very welcoming and friendly.Hotel very clean and bedroom was really nice.Our room overlooked the canal and locks which was very nice to see,and very peaceful. There was a new years eve function going on in the hotel,so very busy,but staff still made time and effort to please.Our meal was lovely,and we were not disturbed by the function once we went to our room at the end of the night. Can not fault this hotel and would return.

Room Tip: Room 321 was perfect overlooking canal and locks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ange62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIchelle M, Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear ange63

Thank you for taking the time to review your New Year's Stay with us at the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port / Cheshire Oaks.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our staff made you feel welcome and you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Kind regards

Michelle Monaghan
Department Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellesmere Port
2.9 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thor...
#1 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
6.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks

Property: Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
Address: Lower Mersey Street | Centre Island, Ellesmere Port CH65 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#4 Business Hotel in Ellesmere Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks, whether for leisure weekends in the Chester area or that business trip or conference to the North West. The hotel is delightfully situated on the tranquil and attractive Wirral peninsula near the historic river Mersey waterfront, adjacent to the award winning National Boat Museum, with immediate access to both historic City of Chester or across the River Mersey to Liverpool. Liverpool John Lennon Airport is only 30 minutes away, Manchester International Airport only 40 minutes away and with a P&O fast ferry service to Ireland available in Liverpool, the hotel is the most central position to explore the whole of the North West of England. All 83 luxuriously air conditioned bedrooms with HSIA connections have splendid views of the surrounding locks and canal waterways. Our Leisure club includes indoor swimming pool, sauna, sun shower and gymnasium. The hotel is near to Royal Liverpool Golf Cub, Chester Race Course, Blue Planet Aquarium, Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet Village & Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Hotel Ellesmere Port
Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port
Ellesmere Port Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Ellesmere Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing