We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star satff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Certificate of Excellence
Southfleet, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 star satff”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here last month and thought the service received from start to finish was fantastic. Check-in was speedy and efficiant and our meal in the evening was excellent. Breakfast the next day was really busy but the service was still really good we were seated by a lady called denise who was really friendly and suggested a few things for use to do on our trip out later on that day. We will definitly be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear ChrisP,

Thank you for your review following your resent stay at our Hotel and for your positive comments.

I am pleased to hear that you had such a good stay and that our staff assisted you with planning your day out.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon

Kind regards

Michelle Monaghan
Wedding Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    330
    85
    20
    18
See reviews for
337
246
20
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
bedford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here as we were spending the weekend at the National Waterways museum which is literally opposite the hotel. I was a bit apprehensive as I had seen previous reviews about the number of kids at the hotel and the difficulty some people had with the staff, but was pleasantly surprised. We arrived and booked in very quickly and the lady on reception was very helpful. Room was spacious and clean and had a great view over the canals. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotels on both days. Breakfast was buffet style and was excellent, I ate far too much as it was delicious! The lady who served us was lovely and offered to add the cost of the breakfast to the room as she said that was a cheaper way of paying for it, which was great. We were sat by the window with again, a view over the canal. The meals in the evening were from a fixed price, 5 choice menu. Drinks are extra. Again the food was good and the service was exceptional. One of the staff remembered us from the previous evening and came over for a chat, which was lovely. We asked her about getting some extra tea and coffee for the room and she got them for us straight away (and gave us far more than we could use ot be honest).For dinner and breakfast, the restaurant was fairly empty. The hotel is near the waterways museum, Chester Zoo, an outlet centre and we also saw signs for an aquarium. It's some way from us, but I will definitley go back and stay there to explore the surrounding area. We usually stay at Premier Inns, but this experience has converted us to Holiday Inn people!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and at the end of a corridor to avoid people going past your room and making no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliebedford99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear juliebedford99,

Thank you for your positive review following your resent stay at our Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you had a good stay, you were pleased with your bedroom, you enjoyed the food in the restaurant and you enjoyed our location.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the team members at the Hotel, we pride ourselves in good, friendly customers service.

We are pleased to hear that we have converted you to Holiday In people and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Michelle Monaghan
Department Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here before our wedding in the honeymoon suite last week could not have faulted. The suite we stayed in was perfect it had a jacuzi shower and massive bathroom, seperate living room and bedroom and a complimentary bottle of wine. We went to nearby restaurant Jabula for dinner which was fantastic (south african). Breakfast the next day in the hotel was lovely lots of choice

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcculla86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Mcculla86,

Thank you for your positive feed back regarding your resent stay at our Hotel.

I'm glad to hear that you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your guests back for your forth coming Wedding.

Kind regards

Michelle Monaghan
Department Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

It's now 2am, and the fire alarm has been going off for the last 10 mins.

I have checked with reception and it is a fault not a fire.

This has totally ruined my stay and tomorrow will be very hard.

As for the hotel, it could do with a refit, it's a little tired. I would not stay here again as there are so many better places to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank anynamewilldo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulborg01, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear anynamewilldo1

Many Thanks for your review of the hotel I am sorry that you found the hotel tired, we are however doing some work to the hotel.

The fire alarm was activated on the night you stayed, however the fire alarm is in place to preserve life, and activates when in makes rational judgement that there is fire in the building. With the guests safety being tour most important priority.

I am sorry that this did happen when you stayed, and hope you do choose to stay with us again.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have stayed here numerous times over the last 5 years due to business requirements so thought I would add a review.
There are other Holiday Inn's closer to where I work but I return here because the thing I really hate about a hotel is when you can hear what is going on in the room next door. When they converted this building to a hotel they must have used some serious insulation between the rooms because I have never been troubled by noise from next door.
The location is different, in the middle of a canal basin but quite interesting. The bar/lounge area is pleasant but they dont show Sky Sports any more.
Staff have always been friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lofty55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear lofty55,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our Hotel and facilities we are pleased that you enjoy staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Monaghan
Wedding Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I use the facilities here on a monthly basis to hold meetings and the staff are very accommodating to ensure all is as required. The location is tranquil and local facilities for food and entertainment plentiful. There is a small gym and pool complex for relaxing as well. Highly recommended for both business or pleasure.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Howard1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Howard1964,

Thank you for your positive feedback about our Hotel and that Facilities.

I am really pleased that you are happy with the service we provide and we would like to thank you for your regular business.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again next month and I hope that we continue to work together for the foreseeable future

Kind regards

Michelle Monaghan
Department Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I celebrated a significant birthday at the Holiday Inn in Ellesmere Port last Saturday with a party and it was fabulous - I couldn't fault it. The venue, food and disco were all first class and special mention must go to Sarah, the event organiser, and Hollie, the supervisor on the night, who were superb and couldn't do enough to help. I also stayed overnight and the room was good and the breakfast excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel as a venue for a celebration.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chehiretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Cheshiretraveller,

Thank you for your positive feed back following your Birthday Party which was held at the Hotel on Saturday.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great time and you were happy with the service we provided.

I will pass on your comments to Sarah & Hollie to ensure they are aware that their hard work has been recognised.

Kind regards

Michelle Monaghan
Wedding Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellesmere Port
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
444 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 44 in Chester
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.1 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks

Property: Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
Address: Lower Mersey Street | Centre Island, Ellesmere Port CH65 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#4 Business Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ellesmere Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks, whether for leisure weekends in the Chester area or that business trip or conference to the North West. The hotel is delightfully situated on the tranquil and attractive Wirral peninsula near the historic river Mersey waterfront, adjacent to the award winning National Boat Museum, with immediate access to both historic City of Chester or across the River Mersey to Liverpool. Liverpool John Lennon Airport is only 30 minutes away, Manchester International Airport only 40 minutes away and with a P&O fast ferry service to Ireland available in Liverpool, the hotel is the most central position to explore the whole of the North West of England. All 83 luxuriously air conditioned bedrooms with HSIA connections have splendid views of the surrounding locks and canal waterways. Our Leisure club includes indoor swimming pool, sauna, sun shower and gymnasium. The hotel is near to Royal Liverpool Golf Cub, Chester Race Course, Blue Planet Aquarium, Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet Village & Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Hotel Ellesmere Port
Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port
Ellesmere Port Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Ellesmere Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing