We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of The Dining Room

The Dining Room
Ranked #27 of 131 Restaurants in Ellesmere Port
Cuisines: British, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

14 ladies from the Catenian Association spent a very pleasant evening at the "Dining Room" on Thursday. I can only praise Sean, his staff and students for the wonderful "Fine Dining" experience. The Students were both courteous and professional throughout the evening.
Value for money is amazing. As a group we eat at various restaurants on the Wirral but I can honestly say this betters most.
The presentation and quality could match any 5 star restuarant.
WELL DONE

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    7
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Have been many times here, and always had an excellent meal. Their lunchtime and early doors menu is excellent value. Dining later in the evening is a relaxing and enjoyable experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynmar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Recently enjoyed an excellent meal in The Dining Room. The summer pudding was the best I have ever had. Delicious! Yes, the waiters are learning on the job but I don't see that as a problem. Can't wait for the new term to start so we can go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ajs_EP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I can't praise The Dining Room highly enough - it's, quite simply, fantastic! I recently won a competition for a meal (for 2) in a Michelin Star restaurant so, last Sunday, I went for lunch at one such establishment. (This cost £125 - including wine, but excluding tip!!) I can honestly say that the meals I've had in The Dining Room were equally as good, if not better! Apart from the excellent quality of the food and it's superb presentation, the service is friendly and attentive, but not intrusive. The attention to detail for the themed meals is extremely impressive e.g. appropriate floral table decorations, illustrated menus, tastefully folded napkins. As if all this wasn't enough, the prices are fantastic, which makes eating here such good value for money. I only 'discovered' The Dining Room this year and wish I had found it much sooner. The only "downside" for me is that it's not open at weekends (although, of course, I do understand why not). Try it as soon as you can, you WON'T be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Celticditsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always worth Visiting”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have visited The dining Room 3 times now and every meal we have received wonderful service and great food
The students might be learning but the attention to detail is fabulous
The Restaurant is as you would expect in any fine eatery and doesn't look at all like a college
The best night to go is Tuesday when they do a 3 course meal for £10
Sometimes they are themed with the Chef choosing the menu
Wine is under £10 a bottle so a fine night out for a fabulous price

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank usnmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Childer Thornton, Ellesmere Port
 
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 

Been to The Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing