We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away day”
Review of Woodcote Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodcote Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Away day”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed one night with a friend for a catch up and shopping. Everyone was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Large rooms, comfy bed, nice furnishings and toiletries (Out of Eden), good shower and lovely food. A couple of very picky criticisms - rainfall shower but no shower cap so be prepared to get your hair wet, no shelf in bathroom for toiletries or hook/ring for towel by basin. None of which will stop me from staying again or recommending to friends and family (I've already sung their praises). Give it a go!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cshore2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to see you soon in 2013.
Warm Regards

Stuart & Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    58
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
107
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I organised a shopping weekend with a friend and thought we'd try the Woodcote Hotel. From the very first phone call to them, to saying goodbye, the service was excellent. We decided to book dinner/bed & breakfast and the food on both occasions was fantastic. I have special dietary requirements and they catered for me with no trouble at all. In fact, nothing was too much trouble. The prices were also excellent. The room I stayed in was large, modern and had everything I needed for a weekend stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and have already done so to a number of friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
purley
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Easy to find, easy to park together with a warm welcome from the owner on arrival and shown to a nice comfortable very clean room makes a good impression and puts you in a good mood as it was well priced to.

Dinner however was average and let down an otherwise very good stay and an excellent recommendation. Food choice was not available, no roll with soup "sorry we don't have time to warm one before the kitchen closes" and the food seemed packaged and warmed through rather than freshly prepared. Breakfast however was excellent.

All the staff were cheerful and chatty and a personal goodbye from the owner at my car door is a very nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardPurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you felt that the experience that you received in our restaurant was not upto standard. All our food is freshly prepared and localy souced and is not packaged. I am shocked that a roll did not accompany your meal as this is always done, and this is being investigated.

I thank you for your kind words about breakfast and our rooms, and i hope to see you again in the future.
Warm Regards
Stuart Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

discovered this hotel on the internet and booked in for the weekend. Polite and friendly greeting before being show to one of the garden rooms. The room was well presented and extremely clean, comfortable bed and hot towels which make showering even better. We were offered an excellant choice for breakfast with everything cooked to order and served on hot plates. We dined in the restaurant one evening and the quality of food offered was of the highest order. I would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archibind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a well run family hotel. The staff are ever so helpful and polite, and nothing it seems is too much trouble for them to ensure your stay is comfortable. Other reviews here really show how good this place is - although, to be honest we did have some minor hiccups! On arrival, one of the bedside lamps didn't work and there were only TWO hangers in the wardrobe (for a double room !!) However, these were soon rectified once I mentioned them at reception. Great. The staff were so nice that I really didn't want to mention any of the other things that 'niggled' us..... a constant sound of dripping water from the upstairs accommodation, the bathroom fan that didn't work, the plug in the washbasin that jammed, and the complete lack of mirrors. There was a small 'shaving' mirror in the bathroom and a small mirror on the dressing table - both completely inadequate in my opinion. I think a full length mirror should be a required minimum in any room. The location is certainly good to be used as a base for touring in the area, and I think I would probably return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cambrensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for your review. As a family run hotel we do our upmost to make sure our guests are happy and satisfied, any problems or complaints with the room we will resolve these straight away, i am sorry that you didnt advise us of the other issues as i would have made sure that these would have been rectified asap. I thank you gain for your review and hope to see you again in the future. Warm Regards Stuart Ross (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

Great little family run hotel.
Warm friendly welcome, lovely big very clean bedroom. The only downer was the shower, I do like a good shower not one that struggles to rinse out the shampoo.
I had finger and cooked breakfast both very nice.
Good value well looked after.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDSB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed here with my wife when we went to Chester races, hotel is wonderful room was immaculate with lovely views across a typical english garden, the staff were fantastic and could not do enough for us..The food was lovely and service excellent. Can not thank the owners and staff enough for making our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellesmere Port
0.6 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
1.0 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thor...
#1 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodcote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodcote Hotel

Property: Woodcote Hotel
Address: 3 Hooton Road | Hooton, Ellesmere Port CH66 1QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#1 Business Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ellesmere Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodcote Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Woodcote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodcote Hotel Ellesmere Port
Woodcote Hotel Cheshire/Ellesmere Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing