We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real gem!”
Review of Woodcote Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodcote Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Have been to this hotel a number of times and have never been disappointed. Beautifully clean and welcoming, staff cannot do enough to help. The food is fantastic, real surprise. If you're visiting Chester or even Liverpool, you cannot go wrong with a stay at the Woodcote!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you very much for the kind review, the restaurant is getting great reviews, along with the hotel. We are very proud of our food and we hope more people come and see the restaurant as you dont need to stay to eat with us.

Warm Regards

Stuart Ross
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel recently for a friends wedding. The hotel itself is great but we lucked out by getting one of the Garden Cottage rooms. Situated to the back of the hotel, they had direct access out to the walled Victorian garden and were comfortable and well appointed.

The hotel does a great breakfast - form cereal to pastries to the full English with options! They also have a good bar too and if the weather is good (which it was!) you can take your drinks out into the garden. The hotel does evening meals as well although not on a Sunday night - but not to worry, it's only a 5min walk to the Chimney's pub which was a great alternative.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome and 'at home'. The hotel is also in a great position - close to a train station and not far to drive to Cheshire Oaks outlet centre or Chester. All in all a great experience and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: Get a garden room if you can! They're especially good in nice weather!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripNaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your review.

The cottage rooms are very popular and offer a great view of our Victorian walled garden. I am pleased that you liked your room and the garden is great to have a few drinks! We hope to see you again and thank you for your kind words.

Warm Regards

Woodcotes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was the 2nd place to stay on our holiday tour. We picked it because it was roughly inbetween liverpool and chester, with the rail station 5 mins up the road. We stayed 3 nights and had a lovely evening meal on our first night.It was a family birthday celebration that night and most of the staff had the night of. Well we had the owner to attend to us, as he drew the short straw and had to work. What a lovely man he is, so open and friendly, with a soft irish accent.We had a meal at the other two eating places, only because we like to spread ourselfs around. Between the owner and his two lovely daughters they made our stay very enjoyable indeed. The room was very modern and clean, and lovely breakfast. They also have a comfortable bar and garden.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your review. Our restaurant is a lovely place to celebrate a number of occasions and i am pleased that you found the food and staff very good. I will pass you message onto John and his two daughters as they will be pleased that you had a lovely stay.

Hope to see you again soon.

Woodcotes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed for one night on a business trip. Booked last minute and paid £55 for bed and breakfast.

Very nice greeting at reception, and I was escorted to my room, which was two floors up... saved me getting lost!

Did not try the bar or restaurant at dinner, as it had been a long day already.

Breakfast was cooked to order, friendly service.

Sadly I left my 3g dongle in the room, but it was kindly posted back and arrived with me safely, at no cost.

I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RushtonDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope that you can use more of the hotel next time and hope to see you again soon.

woodcotes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at Woodcote for two nights for our friends wedding just down the road at Inglewood. We received a warm welcome and were showed to our room which faced the garden. Great showers, big bathroom, brand new oak furniture and comfy bed. We had dinner down at the chimneys just at the traffic lights down the road (decent pub fare).
Breakfast both mornings were a treat. The staff laid a table for us and our friends in the breakfast room. The full English was great and they did some egg whites for our American friend, it was no trouble for them!
We ordered a taxi to the wedding which was late, and not big enough. However the staff kindly drove the rest of the party to the venue. If you are in the area, we recommend staying at woodcote instead of the travelodge/ premier inn / Marriott, the staff made the weekend for us, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Thanks again!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank RozzyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you can come again and sorry again about the taxi firm, we wont be using them again!

Woodcotes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

As I travel a lot on business I get to spend many nights in hotels and eat in loads of restaurants. The night before this I was at the Midland in Manchester, it was ok. Dinner was at 63Degrees and I have posted my review already. The following day I had a meeting in Ellesmere Port and was looking for a quiet peaceful small hotel with good food and the Woodcote hit the ballseye. Check in had a personal touch, being taken to one of the rooms ajoining the hotel by the receptionist, unlike the usual 'your room is in the block outside to the left', it shows the owners and staff understand customer service. The room was really nice with the facilities you would expect. Dinner & breakfast were superb, excellently cooked food, the Cod Loin was particularly good. The Woodcote also had a good selection of wines very reasonably priced. If i come back to this part of the country, which I am sure Inwill, I won't have to look any further.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank G4UET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your review, we always make sure that our guests feel at home and we have such a fantasic team that it shows when they are showing guests around the hotel.

Thank you.

Woodcotes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Having been stuck for a venue for a meeting, we were all pleasantly surprised at this gem within easy access of Liverpool, yet in the heart of rural Wirral.
There were about 20 of us at the meeting and we were totally spoilt. The lunch was delicious and the garden was perfect for drinks before hand. I know if I were to get married locally this would be an ideal spot - the staff were delightful and nothing was too much trouble - I would certainly go back and sample their b & b on a getaway with hubbie.

Room Tip: Go by train - if you ask they will pick you up from Hooton Station on the Liverpool /Chester line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelliepennyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your review. The hotel is pleased that we can fully cater for your meeting and please feel free to pop into our Woodcotes Restaurant for some fantastic food.

Woodcotes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellesmere Port
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
0.6 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
425 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
519 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodcote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodcote Hotel

Address: 3 Hooton Road | Hooton, Ellesmere Port CH66 1QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#1 Family Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ellesmere Port
Price Range: £64 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodcote Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Woodcote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodcote Hotel Ellesmere Port
Woodcote Hotel Cheshire/Ellesmere Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing