We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Gem”
Review of Woodcote Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodcote Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Certificate of Excellence
Port Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just a Gem”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at the Woodcote Hotel for two nights as a halfway stay between our home and holiday destination in Cornwall. What luck we had finding this lovely hotel on Tripadvisor.
From telephone booking, staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant.
We stayed in one of the little cottage rooms and were so pleased with the décor, furnishing and situation at the bottom of the "secret garden". with its apple and pear trees,
Dinner was great, as was breakfast, particularly the creamy porridge.
I loved the eclectic décor and furnishings throughout, I also particularly liked the uncomplicated information booklet in our room about the hotel and places to visit. They have it just right, as most hotels seem to bombard you with visitor information.
Hooton station with links to Liverpool and Chester is a two minute drive away with an all day parking charge in a huge car park for 80p. Well done Wirral - environmentalists would be proud of you!
Thanks so much to John and the staff at this wonderful hotel for your kindness, and natural care from booking to checkout.

Room Tip: The little cottage room 18 is so quiet, with lovely décor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review.

Room 18 is very popular as its a the very end of our cottage rooms overlooking our herb garden, and i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our garden really is a hidden gem as its fantasic in the summer.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards

Stuart Ross
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    58
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
107
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Got a last minute bed and breakfast deal and myself and wife were thoroughly impressed. The hotel is about 20 minutes or so outside of Liverpool by car and located in a nice quiet area. The room was extremely clean and bed nice and comfy. The rear has a lovely garden which is well kept. Breakfast was again really nice. All the staff were more than willing to help. I Would highly reccomend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wglen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards

Stuart Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Have been to this hotel a number of times and have never been disappointed. Beautifully clean and welcoming, staff cannot do enough to help. The food is fantastic, real surprise. If you're visiting Chester or even Liverpool, you cannot go wrong with a stay at the Woodcote!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review, the restaurant is getting great reviews, along with the hotel. We are very proud of our food and we hope more people come and see the restaurant as you dont need to stay to eat with us.

Warm Regards

Stuart Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel recently for a friends wedding. The hotel itself is great but we lucked out by getting one of the Garden Cottage rooms. Situated to the back of the hotel, they had direct access out to the walled Victorian garden and were comfortable and well appointed.

The hotel does a great breakfast - form cereal to pastries to the full English with options! They also have a good bar too and if the weather is good (which it was!) you can take your drinks out into the garden. The hotel does evening meals as well although not on a Sunday night - but not to worry, it's only a 5min walk to the Chimney's pub which was a great alternative.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome and 'at home'. The hotel is also in a great position - close to a train station and not far to drive to Cheshire Oaks outlet centre or Chester. All in all a great experience and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: Get a garden room if you can! They're especially good in nice weather!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripNaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your review.

The cottage rooms are very popular and offer a great view of our Victorian walled garden. I am pleased that you liked your room and the garden is great to have a few drinks! We hope to see you again and thank you for your kind words.

Warm Regards

Woodcotes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was the 2nd place to stay on our holiday tour. We picked it because it was roughly inbetween liverpool and chester, with the rail station 5 mins up the road. We stayed 3 nights and had a lovely evening meal on our first night.It was a family birthday celebration that night and most of the staff had the night of. Well we had the owner to attend to us, as he drew the short straw and had to work. What a lovely man he is, so open and friendly, with a soft irish accent.We had a meal at the other two eating places, only because we like to spread ourselfs around. Between the owner and his two lovely daughters they made our stay very enjoyable indeed. The room was very modern and clean, and lovely breakfast. They also have a comfortable bar and garden.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your review. Our restaurant is a lovely place to celebrate a number of occasions and i am pleased that you found the food and staff very good. I will pass you message onto John and his two daughters as they will be pleased that you had a lovely stay.

Hope to see you again soon.

Woodcotes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed for one night on a business trip. Booked last minute and paid £55 for bed and breakfast.

Very nice greeting at reception, and I was escorted to my room, which was two floors up... saved me getting lost!

Did not try the bar or restaurant at dinner, as it had been a long day already.

Breakfast was cooked to order, friendly service.

Sadly I left my 3g dongle in the room, but it was kindly posted back and arrived with me safely, at no cost.

I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RushtonDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope that you can use more of the hotel next time and hope to see you again soon.

woodcotes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Woodcote for two nights for our friends wedding just down the road at Inglewood. We received a warm welcome and were showed to our room which faced the garden. Great showers, big bathroom, brand new oak furniture and comfy bed. We had dinner down at the chimneys just at the traffic lights down the road (decent pub fare).
Breakfast both mornings were a treat. The staff laid a table for us and our friends in the breakfast room. The full English was great and they did some egg whites for our American friend, it was no trouble for them!
We ordered a taxi to the wedding which was late, and not big enough. However the staff kindly drove the rest of the party to the venue. If you are in the area, we recommend staying at woodcote instead of the travelodge/ premier inn / Marriott, the staff made the weekend for us, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Thanks again!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RozzyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you can come again and sorry again about the taxi firm, we wont be using them again!

Woodcotes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellesmere Port
0.6 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
1.0 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#3 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thor...
#1 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodcote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodcote Hotel

Property: Woodcote Hotel
Address: 3 Hooton Road | Hooton, Ellesmere Port CH66 1QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#1 Family Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ellesmere Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodcote Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Woodcote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodcote Hotel Ellesmere Port
Woodcote Hotel Cheshire/Ellesmere Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing