We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel ,good food and warm welcome could not fault it”
Review of Woodcote Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodcote Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Certificate of Excellence
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent hotel ,good food and warm welcome could not fault it”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

May i start by apologising to the management for the very late review of your excellent hotel , i thought i had completed and posted a review in April but the technology got in the way.
We were a party of 6 from the channel islands taking part in a classic kart event at nearby Hooton Park and had lucked upon the Woodcote hotel as our accomodation for the weekend.
Location for us was perfect ( if a little too close to Cheshire Oaks designer Outlet for the health of our credit cards only joking !)
The Welcome was warm , the manager was genuinely interested in the purpose of our visit and nothing was too much trouble. One of our party is lactose intolerant and the staff went beyond the call of duty to cater for her needs .
Our accomodation was one of the garden rooms and what a delight , well maintained and equipped .

The food was excellent in all aspects , we had a 60th birthday in our party and celebrated it in fine style in the restaurant ,

very good value Packed lunches were also availailable if you were going to be out and about for the day, all in all the management and staff can be very proud of their gem of a hotel , we will be back next April hopefully

Room Tip: If you can get a garden room they are a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reggio1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review, no apoligies are needed, as we are pleased everything was ok and we hope to see you again in April.

Warm Regards

Stuart Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    59
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
107
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Fabulous 2 night stay at The Woodcote. The welcome and service was warm and polite. The room was clean, beautifully furnished and very very comfortable. The bath room was modern and clean with a fantastic shower. Choice of breakfast was extensive, fresh and all ingredients of a very high quality. So impressed ... Made my trip to a friends wedding an added delight (plus the garden was beautiful, even in the rain!)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FarrahK-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review, and we are pleased you enjoyed the stay and thank you for giving us 6 stars!

Warm Regards

Stuart Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I've been coming here for over three years now when ever I'm working in the area. Every time I stay here it's unbeatable. Always a warm welcome from Kate, Lee and all the staff. All the rooms are to a high standard and spotlessly clean as is the rest of the hotel. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order. No help yourself dried out shoe leather for bacon here! Top quality all through. Same quality goes for the evening meal a great menu which can leave you spoilt for choice. Unbeatable value for money hotel. Can wait to come back...

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary_S_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review, i will pass on your comments to lee & kate.

Hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards

Stuart Ross
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here Saturday 12th October with another 3 couples what a lovely friendly Hotel and staff rooms lovely but room 2 was fab food good would stay here again definately.
Breakfast was good and plentiful lots of top ups on tea coffee toast etc.
came back in from 50th party and they still opened up and got us all a drink from bar

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for those kind words, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards

Stuart Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We booked a nights stay at Woodcote Hotel when we planned an impromptu trip to Chester Zoo, and what a great experience. We were greeted with by a very friendly lady who was most helpful in helping us decide where to dine for the evening and showed us to our beautiful room.The bedroom was thoughtfully furnished and the ensuite spotlessly clean and modern.

Breakfast next morning was a great way to end our stay, as we received excellent service and a vast choice of breakfast options.

Couldn't recommend this hotel enough; thank you Woodcote!

Room Tip: Our room was situated next to the 'Secret Garden'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Warm Regards

Stuart Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had our wedding here in August 2013. We had celebrated previous family events here and had always been impressed with the food and service. Leading up to the wedding and on the day, the Woodcote could not have done more for us. There wasn't a single guest that didn't comment on how beautiful the hotel was and how nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The hotel has a lovely family feel and I can't imagine anybody giving us a better wedding. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europeangirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review, we are really happy that we helped make your wedding very special. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Stuart Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We recently stayed here for my Uncle's 80th birthday celebrations. Both our daughters and their children also stayed here. All three rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The rooms were beautifully decorated and far exceeded our expectations.
Much thought and effort has gone into the decor throughout the hotel. Breakfast was served in a lovely sunny room and was delicious. A good choice of cereal, juices and dried fruits were followed by a great choice of hot breakfast fayre. The scrambled eggs were fabulous.
We also ate at Woodcote on the night of the 80th celebration. The food was wonderful, tasted delicious and was beautifully presented.
The staff were wonderful and didn't so much serve you but rather looked after you. Nothing was too much trouble. Special mentions to Sally and Stuart. A real credit to the hotel.
I would not hesitate to stay and eat at Woodcote again. Thank you all so much for a great weekend.

Room Tip: One of our daughter's had the Boudouir room, it was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redrose59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind words and also thank you for taking time to leave a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards

Stuart Ross
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellesmere Port
0.6 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
394 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
1.0 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
444 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
757 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodcote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodcote Hotel

Property: Woodcote Hotel
Address: 3 Hooton Road | Hooton, Ellesmere Port CH66 1QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#1 Business Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#1 Family Hotel in Ellesmere Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodcote Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Woodcote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodcote Hotel Ellesmere Port
Woodcote Hotel Cheshire/Ellesmere Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing