We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Woodcote Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodcote Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Certificate of Excellence
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed here with our friends one w/end.Cannot really add to what has already been said by other travellers,Very clean Hotel,food was all home cooked and well presented,Staff were very friendly and polite at all times,Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anybody

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jono-wales123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    59
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
107
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Excellent small, friendly, family-run hotel in an excellent location for travel around the Wirral and beyond. My room was clean, comfortable and very nicely decorated with some nice individual touches. In a little annexe at the back with a lovely view of the walled garden. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and seemed genuinely interested in their guests and making sure they have a good stay. Fabulous breakfast with plenty of real coffee. I hope to have more family events where my Mum and Dad can't put me up so I've an excuse to come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon_McG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We would like to thank the lovely friendly staff at the Woodcote Hotel for making our first visit to the area very special. We enjoyed everything about the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very clean and comfortable. During breakfast on the Friday morning my husband reported that the shower tray in the en-suite bathroom was leaking onto the floor. Straight away they upgraded to the Boudoir suite which was very large and plush. We ate in the hotel for breakfast and evening meals which were excellent and good value for money. The hotel is conveniently situation for visiting Chester which has a very good park and ride and for catching the train into Liverpool. We would definitely stay in this hotel again. Thank you once again for making our first visit very special. Lynn and Christopher Simkin

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simkin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We again booked the Woodcote for New Years Eve as we had enjoyed it so much last year. Yet again we had a wonderful time. The buffet was superb and yet again the DJ played really good music from 60s 70s and 80s. We again stayed in the garden rooms which are warm comfortable clean and quiet. I am really struggling to write this review as everything that I want to say has been said before. We have already booked for New Years Eve to stay again in the garden rooms as the hotel gets full very quickly. Hoping to fit in a little stay during the year but best wishes for a prosperous new year to Stuart and Katie and everyone else who make this little hotel a special place in our hearts. If you are in the area please go you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Have not seen the rooms in the hotel but would recommend the garden rooms as they are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We would like to thank the staff of this lovely hotel for making our daughters birthday party a wonderful memorable occasion. They took all the pressure off us by decorating the room, putting up banners, displaying the cakes and serving a tasty well presented buffet. It was a family party and as some people had traveled a distance, a number of rooms were booked. Everyone was very impressed with their rooms and enjoyed their stay, bar one who didn't sleep well but admitted it was nothing to do with the room more her husbands snoring! We joined the guests for a delicious freshly cooked breakfast the following morning spending a few hours relaxing in the lovely light airy restaurant, a lovely finish to an excellent night. Thank you once again to the staff and we look forward to our next family party in January .
Karen & Steve

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ska_w92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review. The party was very good and you have a lovely family. All my staff commented on how good it was and also everyone in your party was very friendly.

We will see you again soon.

Warm Regards

Stuart Ross
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

As it says this was my second visit to catch up with a friend, do a bit of shopping - the usual girlie stuff. Just as friendly, food good, rooms spacious, clean and comfortable. More redecoration and refurb done since the last time. Still need a showercap if you don't want to get your hair wet - but hey I'm struggling to find anything not so nice to say!! We were surprised to see the breakfast room so full the next morning, it was so quiet we thought we were the only ones in - how wrong, they had a full house and so may it continue. We will be back again - be warned . . .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cshore2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and i am going to order some shower caps!

See you soon.

Warm Regards

Stuart Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

May i start by apologising to the management for the very late review of your excellent hotel , i thought i had completed and posted a review in April but the technology got in the way.
We were a party of 6 from the channel islands taking part in a classic kart event at nearby Hooton Park and had lucked upon the Woodcote hotel as our accomodation for the weekend.
Location for us was perfect ( if a little too close to Cheshire Oaks designer Outlet for the health of our credit cards only joking !)
The Welcome was warm , the manager was genuinely interested in the purpose of our visit and nothing was too much trouble. One of our party is lactose intolerant and the staff went beyond the call of duty to cater for her needs .
Our accomodation was one of the garden rooms and what a delight , well maintained and equipped .

The food was excellent in all aspects , we had a 60th birthday in our party and celebrated it in fine style in the restaurant ,

very good value Packed lunches were also availailable if you were going to be out and about for the day, all in all the management and staff can be very proud of their gem of a hotel , we will be back next April hopefully

Room Tip: If you can get a garden room they are a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reggio1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcotehotel, Manager at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review, no apoligies are needed, as we are pleased everything was ok and we hope to see you again in April.

Warm Regards

Stuart Ross
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellesmere Port
0.6 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
394 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
757 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodcote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodcote Hotel

Property: Woodcote Hotel
Address: 3 Hooton Road | Hooton, Ellesmere Port CH66 1QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#1 Family Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#1 Business Hotel in Ellesmere Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodcote Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woodcote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodcote Hotel Ellesmere Port
Woodcote Hotel Cheshire/Ellesmere Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing