We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - No Complaints Whatsoever”
Review of Woodcote Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodcote Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Certificate of Excellence
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent - No Complaints Whatsoever”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had to organise a funeral three weeks ago. The sensitivity shown to me by the staff, (in particular the owners Ingrid and John Macferran) was very much appreciated. The buffet was superb and the staff were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. A big thank you to you all.
We are looking forward to sampling the food in your restaurant in the very near future.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tzar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid M, Owner at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we appreciate that funerals are difficult times for our guests, so we thank you for taking the trouble to post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    61
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
60
109
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mijas, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Celebrated our sons christening here on the 13 July 2014. On the morning of the christening we were told they had a problem with the bouncy castle that they had previously agreed to, after a heated discussion they agreed but charged us 25.00 pound for the electricity!!!! Yes you heard that right, they charged us electricity for the castle!!! The situation was handled extremely unprofessionally and i was left quite upset. We were planning to stay there after the christening but cancelled due to the fact my husband didn't want to hand over any more money to them after their performance earlier. The afternoon tea buffet option we chose can only have left our guests hungry as there was a huge shortage of sandwiches, poss 2 finger sized sandwiches each! Apart from the cakes which my friend prepared that saved the day the buffet at 10.50 per person was a total rip off. Don't use this place to host your future function if you want value and service. Apart from the beautiful garden and the younger members of staff who are lovely who unfortunately have to work for this twit of a family I have nothing positive to say about this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid M, Owner at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are very sorry that you felt this way about your recent christening. If I can take your points step by step, firstly the bouncy castle. We were only informed that you were having this 3 days before your event the person who you spoke to was a new member of staff and was not aware of our policy on this as we do not allow these items for health and safety reasons, as there has been quite a number of accidents and our insurance does not cover this. We did ask the provider for his insurance which he was not able to provide. I was extremely unhappy about this. You opted for afternoon tea for your function which was not an adequate
Choice for the time of day as afternoon tea is what it is, 1 round of sandwich per person, which I can assure you you received, and scones, and at least 3 if not 4 cakes per person, in fact there were cakes over. Your friend who works for the hotel did make some of the cakes but not all of them, we have books of cards from many happy customers,and yours is the first time we have had such negative comments, but we take them on board and thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked 3 rooms. It is an average hotel with good communication. A little misunderstanding at check in when the landlord thought my husband was checking in with another man! We were at a wedding and didn't get back to our rooms until after 1am so my daughter was not impressed to be woken a couple of hours later by a smoke alarm in the main building. Then again at 5.30 by an alarm call she didn't request. The landlord was apologetic but I don't think she was over impressed! I am sure these things do not occur on a regular basis. Rooms were fine, bed comfortable, only 1 pillow each which was too soft for my taste, basic drinks facilities, shower pressure not great.Ok for an overnight stop but a little overpriced based on similar hotels elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordharvills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid M, Owner at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry that you were woken by the fire alarm but it is there for the safety of our guests, it does not go of frequently as it is well maintained. I do not understand who could have woken your daughter at 5.30 as my staff do not come on duty until 6.30, and they have to physically ring a room for a wake up call, so this one baffles me. Also there are spare pillows in the wardrobe for those people who need an extra pillow, or if you call reception we could have sorted this out for you. Once again thank you for your comments which we take on board
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

arrived at this hotel on Saturday night outside looks nice, plenty of car parking but nothing else around.
Not sure if guy had just bought the place but was faffing around the young girl who was actually doing ok.
Place is really clean however they had a "charity section" just the other side of reception that actually smelt like a charity shop, think this needs to go or put some air fresheners up. It also,has a pub attached.
The room itself was very clean and had the usual TV, kettle with complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits.
Didn't have the best nights sleep but this was due to not wanting to leave the windows open.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTNZ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingrid M, Owner at Woodcote Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for comments and for taking the time to write a review. In our reception area we have a small vintage and new goods shop which we have operated for the past 4 years, it has grown because our customers love it, and we sell a lot from there. It may not be to everyone's taste but I can assure you that it certainly does not smell. We do not have a pub attached to the hotel, but we do have a bar in our function room. We have taken on board your comments thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warri
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding, really nice helpful staff we were even shown upto our room and we were allowed to checkin a little earlier due to the fact we wouldn't be able to get back till after 23:00 hours.

Room was pretty comfortable usual facilities available in the room, large ensuite bathroom which was nice and clean. Although the shower was pathetically weak! Which really let this place down, even reducing the temperature to tepid didn't improve the pressure. Such a shame.

Breakfast is over priced at £8.50 pp 1 sausage 1 rasher of bacon...... Dining area is nice, bright and fresh although I can imagine it being rather cramped when full.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel for a short stay

First impressions
Room looks good when you walk in the room but once your in the room for a while, you notice areas that are a bit tired ie marked or damaged

We spotted wallpaper peeling on the walls
grout that coming away from tiles in bathroom
Scuff marks on the walls and bed
It just felt like a tired old room that needs a revamp

Staff hardly bothered and just left us to it most of time we were there

I felt for the price we paid it wasn't value for money and we expected a better service/experience


Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pixietrixie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for only one night as we were up for the Open Golf at Hoylake but our stay was excellent, very friendly staff, excellent room, and great food. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesFoxylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellesmere Port
0.6 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
404 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
1.0 mi away
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
473 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
770 reviews
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodcote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodcote Hotel

Property: Woodcote Hotel
Address: 3 Hooton Road | Hooton, Ellesmere Port CH66 1QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ellesmere Port
#1 Business Hotel in Ellesmere Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodcote Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Woodcote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodcote Hotel Ellesmere Port
Woodcote Hotel Cheshire/Ellesmere Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing