We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Customer Service”
Review of The Woodland

The Woodland
Ranked #66 of 132 Restaurants in Ellesmere Port
Price range: US$1 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

my husband and I go here for tea at least once a week, the food is excellent and staff can not do enough for you. Last night I took my son and his friend and they said their beans where cold they asked a member of staff if they could have them warmed up but the response from the staff was impeccable they replaced the boys beans and gave them both Free puddings which was a delight to them but the staff where really apologetic. It is not very often you experience such a high level of customer service which was really refreshing. We will continue to visit once a week as the service, value for money and friendly staff is a pleasure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ststham70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWoodland, Guest Relations Manager at The Woodland, responded to this review, 4 October 2016
Dear Guest
It has been sometime since you left us a review and we would like to thank you for leaving a review.
We have a new menu coming out on the 12th October and we would like you to pop in and have a look.
We also have our Christmas menu and festive party menu out now if you are looking to book your Christmas or have a festive party meal.
We look forward to your visit.
Thank You
Kind Regards
Guest Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    17
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Popular pub”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Like the atmosphere, also busy and lots going on.
Don't tend to eat there not my sort of food, cheap and cheerful. But very busy on the food side.
The best pub in Ellesmere Port, although not many to choose from!!
Staff are always friendly
As previous comments the toilets really do need sorting out....

Helpful?
Thank Cazzagoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWoodland, Guest Relations Manager at The Woodland, responded to this review, 4 October 2016
Dear Guest
It has been sometime since you left us a review and we would like to thank you for leaving a review.
We have a new menu coming out on the 12th October and we would like you to pop in and have a look.
We also have our Christmas menu and festive party menu out now if you are looking to book your Christmas or have a festive party meal.
We look forward to your visit.
Thank You
Kind Regards
Guest Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An enjoyable visit”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We visited the Woodlands with relatives on Wednesday evening.The 4 of us had a lovely meal.
Our waitress Mel was excellent .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWoodland, Guest Relations Manager at The Woodland, responded to this review, 4 October 2016
Dear Guest
It has been sometime since you left us a review and we would like to thank you for leaving a review.
We have a new menu coming out on the 12th October and we would like you to pop in and have a look.
We also have our Christmas menu and festive party menu out now if you are looking to book your Christmas or have a festive party meal.
We look forward to your visit.
Thank You
Kind Regards
Guest Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
157 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Surprising good choice on menu”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very reasonably priced food, surprisingly good choice on menu and very good vegetarian options. The only problem with this place is (as previous reviewer said) the toilets and the wait at the bar - both of these things are down to poor management. Its as if they don't care about this side of the service, as it has been the same for years. The staff turn around is high, occasionally (as it was last night) there were good staff on, but this is inconsistent and person dependent.
Such a shame as food good for the price - but facilities and service MATTER.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWoodland, Guest Relations Manager at The Woodland, responded to this review, 4 October 2016
Dear Guest
It has been sometime since you left us a review and we would like to thank you for leaving a review.
We have a new menu coming out on the 12th October and we would like you to pop in and have a look.
We also have our Christmas menu and festive party menu out now if you are looking to book your Christmas or have a festive party meal.
We look forward to your visit.
Thank You
Kind Regards
Guest Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thursday 24th April 2014”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Arrived at 5pm, atmosphere and staff pleasant and welcoming. service fast and helpful. My meal arrived promptly and the waitress came to check that I was happy, I finished with a simple ice cream and was very pleased and satisfied.
HOWEVER! as I was leaving [to play bowls as it happens] I called into the 'Gents' [approx 6pm] one wash basin was half full of sick and the floor was more or less awash with water, I did not linger!
During the bowls match I returned to the 'Gents' [approx 7.30pm] to find it had been cleaned apparently with a hosepipe as the walls were as wet as the floor, there was no soap and no toilet paper, empty soap dispenser and two toilet roll cores on the floor though! I brought tissues from my car but, again did not linger. PS I know your staff are busy and clearing up sick is not nice but just a little more effort would have made all the difference. Jim Clarke

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWoodland, Guest Relations Manager at The Woodland, responded to this review, 4 October 2016
Dear Guest
It has been sometime since you left us a review and we would like to thank you for leaving a review.
We have a new menu coming out on the 12th October and we would like you to pop in and have a look.
We also have our Christmas menu and festive party menu out now if you are looking to book your Christmas or have a festive party meal.
We look forward to your visit.
Thank You
Kind Regards
Guest Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Woodland also viewed

Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 

Been to The Woodland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing