We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Handforth Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deanwater Hotel(Stockport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsley Lodge(Wilmslow)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
6
5
4
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
5
4
6
9
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2012

When we arrived at the lodge, we were greeted in reception by a giant stuffed tiger teddy bear sprawled across the hallway! We found this pretty amusing...this suddenly dawned on us that the hotel was going to be tacky!
It took the young girl on reception awhile to find our booking, then we gor showed to our freezing cold room. The young girl went off to find us a heater, she said some of the rooms were cold.
It wasn't the cleanest of hotels, but i've seen worse.
I had to ask at reception for toilet roll in the shared bathroom, as there was none.
The young girl on reception was polite and helpful, we did not see any other members of staff.
The bed was the most uncomfortable bed i've ever slept in.
I would say this hotel would be ok for one night for a basic place to sleep, but definately not for a longer stay. We wouldn't stay there again, we'd pay the extra and stay in one of the hotels right near this.
This hotel is very outdated, poorly decorated and only surfaced cleaned.
We didn't bother going for breakfast as we reckon it would have been a complete waste of time.
So all in allm it's not awful, but it's certainly not pleasant.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, get en-suite.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4yannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Our long stay at the Handforth lodge will be a happy memory as the manager Mr Rabbee, and his family made us feel right at home from the beggining!
A very good B&B with warm and hospitable people who will do anything for you to feel comfortable!
We would definatelly reccomend it to everybody.
S+E from Greece

Room Tip: Excellent location. Great value for money!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smbmp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

i stayed at the handforth lodge for one night as me and my husband were attending a wedding reception and the hotel was full.Has we live in bolton it would have been expensive in a taxi has the wedding was in cheadle so we found the handforth lodge online it was a short distance from the wedding venue.The place looked a lot better online than in reality,we arrived and both sort of sighed,luckily we did,nt arrive until 6pm as we ate out and did some shopping which left less time in the shabby room.Good job we showered before we left the small bathroom was in need of a decent clean the toilet was stained with stale urine and muck under the toilet seat.The shower was small and had damp patches around and slight scum stains euk!Also i took all the relivent toiletries but i did,nt pack soap has ive stayed in many hotels and expected a small toiletry pack oh no all there was was a bottle of antibac soap so had to wash in this not good.The toilet roll holder was broke and the bathmat was soiled.On the plus side clean towels were supplied.breakfast was of a continental style but we gave it a miss and headed home.On our departure it said ring for the housekeeper to leave your key we rang numerous times and nobody came to us,some member of staff saw us waiting so we asked her if we could leave the key with her she was very rude and said wait for the housekeeper we told her we wanted to leave she shrugged and walked away,eventually the young lady who checked us in took our key and another guest began complaining to her about the standard of her room not good.The older guy who was on reception on saturday evening to be fair was very pleasent and helpful but at £43 per night it was well over priced.It was dated dull dismill and in need of a complete steam clean.I could,nt wait to leave on Sunday morning and get home for a nice bath and freshen up.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shazf68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

stopped two nights.staff were spot on nothing to much trouble.room was warm,clean and cosy and ensuite.Bus stop to manchester 50yrds up road..bus stop to stockport 20 yrds up road.Regular services.Best sleep i had in long time.I OVER SLEPT!
would def recommend and def coming again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trustmemaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and friend to visit relatives in a care home in styall. welcomed to hotel and shown rooms but after travelling from Scotland we just dumped the cases as we wanted to get to the care home and did not come back to the room till 9.30.p.m. in room 11 our friend found the toilet had been used and not flushed and had to clean all the toilet before she could use it. In ou room (12) someone had used the toilet and human dirt still left in it. sink had a scum over it and when I opened the shower door to find an empty sachet of shampoo on the shelf and the tiles were disgusting, filthy and no way could I use the shower.
On the computer breakfast shows eggs ect. but it was help yourself to make tea,coffee orange juice and a loaf of bread still in its wrapper. so all we could have was toast and coffee. I know it was continental breakfast but it was the most basic they could do, no staff to be seen!!!!
next time we will go to a premier inn, cheaper and most definately cleaner.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgess68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews