We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and good price”
Review of Handforth Lodge

Handforth Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Handforth Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Handforth B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing and good price”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed for three nights at this hotel. The hotel was very clean, outstanding, set out in nice surroundings of countryside. They provided tea and coffee facilities free of charge. Internet was free of charge. There was a good selection of continental breakfast and the lady even went out of her way to make a full English breakfast. There were many different types of bread, and tea - the finest quality and a very secure car park. The location was very good many clean takeaways nearby and the train station right next door too. I will definitely come back again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    5
    3
    6
    9
See reviews for
2
7
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I completely agree with Jacki S. Very disappointing. Hall telephone out of order - for how long I wonder as the sign looked pretty old. Curtain which fell right off the curtain rail when gently drawn back. Dodgy - and loose - door handles; no light bulb at all in overhead ceiling light. The cheapest and hardest bed possible gave very little rest. I was bitten alive - I do hope not from fleas. And difficult to watch the tv which was secured to the wall at a funny angle to the bed. The tv was TINY, the text and picture blurred and of very poor quality. As for cold hard boiled eggs for breakfast as the only choice of a "cooked" part of the breakfast - really! And why is half the entrance hall way taken up with a HUGE (and I mean huge) large stuffed Tiger toy stretched out on the carpet as a final bizarre twist? Unlike the other reviewers I was not charged £30 (in which case I might be more forgiving) and in fact was charged much more. So feel even more disappointed, that I trustingly pre-paid for a comfortable night's rest. The manager/owner needs to deal with the maintenance issues, upgrade the place to a reasonable standard, and install a 21st century tv - at an angle which allows viewing from the bed without a neck strain. Someone who monitors B&Bs on behalf of the Council needs to monitor this place and suggest improvements very soon before more people are disappointed. Rabi was, however, very helpful - but I am afraid it did not make up for the terrible bed, a cold boiled egg offering for breakfast, and the other issues listed above.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 454Traveller454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Handforth hotels

Albufeira, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Very very basic.... I was disappointed that my rooms en-suite was a toilet and basin... no bath/shower.... which meant using the shared bathroom which was a surprise i was not expecting. the room was noisy and sheets were clean but stained. The television was at an angle that was impossible to see from my bed and that turned out not to be a problem because there was only one channel working. The Price was lower than others in the area and that was the reason for the choice. Breakfast was as basic as it could be; toast, cereals, jam and cheese... and hard boilled eggs.... The Staff were friendly however and helpful.

Room Tip: Know what you are getting yourself into... if you dont need frills and dont mind noise and sharing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I was attending a course nearby that started early and so decided to stay here for the night to save the early morning commute. For £29 i got a clean, quiet room with a comfy bed to sleep in, free wifi (which was handy), clean towels and breakfast included. Check in was quick and easy, gentleman on front desk was very helpful and recommended me a lovely Indian Takeaway just round the corner for dinner. I couldn't have really asked for more.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2013

value for money.. Needs updating the rooms decorate new tvs not 15 yr old ones. Comfy beds it was oright warm worth 30 quid Breakfast was very good serve yourself good location for things to do its like 5 mins away from manchester airport

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john1557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I needed somewhere to sleep at short notice and that's what I got. It was cheap, so didn't expect luxury. Room was tatty but clean. Shared bathroom was not ideal. Staff were helpful on arrival. Due to a tight schedule I had to leave before 7am so did not get chance to try the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

This is the worst place I have ever had the misfortune of staying. We were forced to stay here when we went to see stone roses as we had been double booked elsewhere and this was the only place that had rooms left (surprise!!!).
It was NOT CLEAN, I don't Mind staying in hostels etc if they have basic cleanliness, this quite bluntly didn't.
Stains on bedding, one of our party had to get antibiotics from dr when we got home from bed bug bites!!! MOULD all over the shower and bath and up the walls, I was convinced I would have contracted some awful lung infection just from breathing in that place.
Do yourself a favour and DO NOT stay at the hand forth lodge...... You have been warned.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsmccork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Handforth
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Manchester
2.3 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Handforth) Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
48 reviews
1.9 mi away
Deanwater Hotel
Deanwater Hotel
#10 of 15 in Stockport
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handforth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handforth Lodge

Property: Handforth Lodge
Address: 188 Wilmslow Road, Handforth SK9 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Handforth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Handforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Handforth Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Handforth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handforth Lodge Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing