We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If I am having to over-night at a hotel for Manchester Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Handforth
Certificate of Excellence
Evergem, Belgium
Level Contributor
223 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“If I am having to over-night at a hotel for Manchester Airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

If I am having to over-night at a hotel for Manchester Airport, I normally stay at a place on the complex, however as they were all fully booked I chose the Best Western instead.

I was plesently surprised, after the first heat-sinking moment seeing there are renovation works under way. In fact these are will managed and not an issue.

The rooms must have been very chic when installed in the 1980's, though despite looking dated, they are well maintained, comfortable and clean.

The location is also fairly convenient to the airport (5km) and Manchester city centre.

The staff are very friendly, and the restaurant is newly refurbished, offers a fantasitc menu and while not cheap, the price is Ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Scott_Pinewood, General Manager at Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Neil

Thank you for your positive feedback on Trip Advisor in regards to your overall experience at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pinewood on Wilmslow.

I’m so pleased that found my Team very friendly and that your dining experience was one to remember for all of the right reasons.

I will certainly discuss your kind comments with my Team.

Thank you again.

John Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    202
    79
    24
    16
See reviews for
138
257
34
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
202 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself looks nice, staff are friendly the rooms are spacious and clean the bed is very comfortable. A couple of gripes 1st the restaurant the restaurant is very trendy looking after a refurbishment but the menu was a let down over priced and not much choice the main I had was chicken with a banana wrap in ham covered with breadcrumbs with rice and curry sauce to me it just doesn't work but you have to try these things I guess. But the biggest problem is the early wake up at 5:45am the heating kicks in and it's loud I'm a heavy sleeper but it goes through you, I phoned the front desk ask to turn the heating off because it was noisy and came up to the room to check for him self. The noise did die down an hour later but had to be up then! This is room 102 don't know about the rest of the hotel but avoid this room if you can.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Scott_Pinewood, Manager at Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your feedback regards to your overall experience at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pinewood on Wilmslow.

First and foremost I would like to apologise for the issues raised regarding the noise from the radiator in your bedroom, I will look into this matter and rectify accordingly.

In regards to your comments relating to the restaurant it is unfortunate you did not have the best experience, the chicken and banana dish is our most popular dish at the moment however as we have just opened the newly refurbished restaurant we appreciate all feedback and I will relate your comments to my Head Chef.

Apologies again for any inconvenience caused on this occasion and thank you for all your feedback.

Kind regards

John Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at the Best Western Pinewood Hotel. This hotel is of a very high standard on many levels. The room was of a very good size. Bed was great and comfortable. The desk/workspace area was also brilliant. I had a beautiful view of the garden. The wardrobe was big and had a mirror and there was an iron and ironing board. The bathroom was great and had some nice extras like a very good body lotion, etc. I didn't take such a relaxing bath in a long time! The food and restaurant was also very good! Everyone I met from the staff was exceptional and especially the lovely Hannah was very helpful. She informed us of ongoing building work prior to our arrival and arranged for us to have a very nice room. We asked for half an hour later check out and this was also accomodated. I wanted to say that the building works did not affect or disturb our stay in any way so please don't be out off by some reviews here stating it's a big problem. This hotel has really everything I expect from a bery good hotel! It was perfect. There was also a good wine list and some nice wines. Overall brilliant! Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank couple1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Scott_Pinewood, General Manager at Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback that you have recently posted on Trip Advisor in regards to your recent stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pinewood on Wilmslow.

It gives me great pleasure to read such a lovely review and I will certainly communicate your kind words to my Team especially Hannah who you found very helpful.

I’m so pleased that you enjoyed the food that you were served and that you found enough choice on our new wine list.

Thank you again and I will look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

John Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Firstly I would like to thank John and all his team for making our wedding day a very special day! My Wife and I booked the Pinewood for our wedding on the 15th March 2014 in February 2013 some 13 months before our wedding date to be told in January 2014 there would be major building works lasting until the end of April this I can tell you caused us both considerable stress in the weeks leading upto our wedding date what with rooms being out of service no operating stair lift (one of the reasons we booked the Pinewood!) But the staff and John in particular were fantastic they really looked after us and made our day a success although we did not get the wedding we booked we were both very happy that our day was one to remember and for this I thank you next time I get married I will definately be using this hotel ;)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Scott_Pinewood, General Manager at Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Trisha & Andy

Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to your Wedding Day at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pinewood on Wilmslow.

I am delighted that you both enjoyed your very special day at the hotel and that my Team and I made sure that you and your guests were looked after to a high standard.

I fully appreciate your concerns leading up to your Wedding Day and I cannot apologise enough for this situation occurring. As discussed with you both in various meetings together it was always my full intention to make sure that your Wedding Day was a success and a memorable one for all of the right reasons.

Thank you again and all the best in the future.

Kind regards

John Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

My parents were due to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary at the Hotel on March 30th with an event for 50 guests. Some were travelling internationally to be there and stay at the hotel. They were somewhat concerned with lack of information and attention to detail from the original hotel event planner (to remain nameless). So they visited the hotel in late Feb to be confronted by major building works. They were not informed ahead of time of the sheer scale of construction so were concerned at the effect on the party and the arriving guests. I arrived at the hotel on Wed 26th March to see for myself and met a new event planner called Hannah (original girl on holiday) and also John the manager. They were both extremely helpful and willing to please, which left everyone with a much better feeling everything would be fine. The event could not of been better, the function room was excellent and all the staff were efficient and professional. I would of given 5 stars but the building work did disrupt proceedings. But once they are all complete in mid April, I am sure the Pinewood will be a perfect choice while staying in the Wilmslow area or using Manchester Airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJHWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Scott_Pinewood, General Manager at Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Mr Williams

Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor in regards to your Parents 50th Anniversary Lunch that was held at the Pinewood Hotel on the 30th March 2014.

I’m so pleased that your parents, immediate family and friends enjoyed every aspect of this special day and that I was able to reassure you that everything would go to plan on the day. It was always my intentions to make sure that your parents Anniversary Lunch was successful and that I pulled out all of the stops to make this happen and from your comments we have done so.

I will certainly communicate your positive feedback to my Team, especially Hannah who you found extremely helpful and willing to please.

Thank you again.

Kind regards

John Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

fanastic rooms...price...champanye.....food

well done team really enjoyed my stay last year

sporry its taken so long didnt know you could do this so doing all my reviews today

pat on back esp. giovanni thanks for not pimping yourself out, even if my wife did request.....alot

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captain m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Scott_Pinewood, General Manager at Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor in regards to your recent stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pinewood on Wilmslow.

I will certainly communicate your kind words to my Team, especially Giovanni who looked after you so well.

Thank you again.

Kind regards

John Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I would not recommend until building work is completed - not purely because of the noise, but it appears to be disrupting the services. Breakfast is up to 10am but on our first day heaters under food turned off at 9.30 so had cold breakfast. Good breakfast on day 2.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Scott_Pinewood, General Manager at Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Judy

Thank you for your overall feedback in regards to your recent stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pinewood on Wilmslow.

I do apologise for the inconvenience cause on this occasion. As you rightly mention it has been a disruptive time throughout the refurbishment program which in turn has impacted on my Team and the overall customer experience.

The main building work is nearly complete, whereby our new Restaurant One Eighty is fully open for all guests to enjoy.

Thank you again.

Kind regards

John Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Handforth
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Manchester
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Handforth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
Address: 180 Wilmslow Road, Handforth SK9 3LF, England (Formerly Pinewood Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Handforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Handforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are staying for business or pleasure, our well appointed and stylishly furnished bedrooms will more than satisfy your requirements. With comfortable beds and fluffy duvets, Freeview TV and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel we have everything you need for a great stay. A choice of room types, dining options and impressive gardens completes the picture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pinewood On Wilmslow Hotel Handforth
Menzies Pinewood Manchester
Hotel Menzies Pinewood
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel Handforth, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing