We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended for a special occasion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Manchester
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Handforth
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for a special occasion”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My wife and I arranged a celebratory lunch at the hotel for our Golden Wedding. The hotel has been recently refurbished and all the public rooms are modern and well furnished. (I cannot comment on the bedrooms as no one stayed overnight). Before we made the booking, we had lunch in the restaurant where we found the lunch time menu both appetising and reasonably priced.
Because of the numbers attending we hired a private room which costs extra although the hotel has packages for such occasions. From the outset we found the events organiser helpful and attuned to our requirements. The day went off without a hitch and a good time was had by all. Without exception the staff were pleasant and on the ball. The meal was well presented with good sized portions and reasonably priced. Alcohol, in keeping with most hotels, was more expensive of course. I have no hesitation in recommending the Hallmark for that special occasion.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshireite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    389
    322
    174
    156
See reviews for
228
553
37
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Ok it's true - this hotel is nothing much to look out from the outside but the decor inside has been really well done. The bar and restaurant are modern and buzzy and the room - although small - was very well decorated and had absolutely everything we needed.
There is nothing round here so unless you are prepared to drive you will have to eat in the restaurant or bar. We were on a dinner inclusive deal and the food was very good as was the service. Drinks were priced as you would expect but we didn't think they were overpriced.
Didn't use the spa - although we had a mini massage included in our package we never got around to booking the appointment! The tapas in the bar is served between 5.30 and 7.30 and this was included for one of the nights. There is a hot dish - which was chicken in tomato sauce the night we were there - and several cold dishes such as pasta and tomato salad etc. Just the thing early evening with a glass of wine!!
Manchester is about half an hours drive away with all you could want in shopping and entertainment and there are some lovely parts of Cheshire close by.
All in all we would recommend a stay here - modern decor, good atmosphere, great food and a very fair price for what we had. They even got our bill right - something hotels in this country hardly ever manage to do!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The hotel was gorgeous inside and all of the staff were beyond helpful and so friendly. The food was amazing and great value for money in both the bar and restaurant (the lady who served us in the restaurant had first class customer service she was fab!!).

The spa even though was in a different building was great, we had treatments- the massage I had was one of the best I've ever had!! The pool and sauna were lovely, all really clean and modern and the gym facilities looked great but I didn't use them.

The room was lovely too, very modern and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llxpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I think this hotel has been fairly recently modernised. Contemporary furnishing and bathroom.

It was my birthday when we stayed and balloons and biscuits had been put in the room which was nice. However, they did not make up for the horrendous view and noise out of the window. Flat roof and very noisy air-cond unit. Impossible to have window open. Moved to a room with better location, but nonetheless was not a good start.

Did not eat in hotel, had an (expensive) drink - with better pricing would have had another!

Hotel pleasant enough, but no way is it four star - would give it three stars.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of a voucher deal with buyagift.com.
The actual hotel is very modern and clean. The staff are all very welcoming and polite. The food is fantastic, and the service was fast.
The only fault we had was our mattress dipped in the middle!!!
Would definatly return again :)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happycampers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night as part of a special offer. We could not fault the hotel.

Reception was friendly, speedy and efficient. The room was large and very well appointed, clean and fresh-smelling. We used the gym, which had a good range of equipment and friendly staff.

The bar was pleasant, the tapas tasty and again, the bar staff friendly.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was really good, tasty and fresh. The staff were attentive and, yes, friendly.

Breakfast was very good, not too much on the buffet at once, so it wasn’t dried and cool (unlike many hotels who pile it on for too long).

The main theme was that the staff were young, obviously well-trained and friendly without falseness.

Would we go back – definitely!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonJan_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Rooms small, no A/C hot!
Bathrooms really small, washbasin a joke and no way a shave is easy! toilet so close to the wall, well you know what I mean....
Party nights till one o' clock and we were over a function room, then drunks took over in their rooms till three. Walls and floors are obviously paper thin because the sound really travelled. Assk for a room away from a function room but that will be difficult because they are dotted round the hotel.
There has been a recent refurb but its really only a makeover and the gaps are so apparent.
Leisure centre tired and not very clean but the pool at 20 metres was good
Breakfast was reasonable to good
The only saving grace were the staff but even there, they were too few!
I rated value as good because I got an external deal. I would rate it as terrible otherwise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook a function room. Good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Handforth
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
2.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 118 in Manchester
808 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Manchester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Manchester
Address: Stanley Road, Handforth SK9 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Handforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Handforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within beautiful leafy grounds, the Hallmark Hotel Manchester Airport is a comfortable, well presented four star property with a great selection of facilities for their guests. Boutique style decoration, relaxing public areas and well appointed rooms. Guest can enjoy use of the health club and spa and complimentary car parking during their stay. The Hallmark Hotel Manchester Airport is also a popular venue for party nights, themed nights, celebrations, meetings and weddings. The hotel has 88 comfortable bedrooms including eight family bedrooms and free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Handforth
Hallmark Hotel Manchester Handforth, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing