We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel lovely, shame about the spa.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Manchester
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Handforth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel lovely, shame about the spa.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Arrived at hotel staff very nice on reception, arrived before check in time but able to use pool e.t.c. Pool was a reasonable size, sauna and steam room lovely but jacuzzi cold. Changing area quite worn but clean. Hotel room was lovely a little noisy though first thing in morning could hear them putting glass bottles in the bin. Evening meal was really nice, breakfast was too. The big let down of the weekend was our treatments, me and my husband had booked back,neck and shoulder massage. Husband said his was okay and ran 5 minutes longer than mine, the massage I had hurt and left red marks on my shoulder, during the massage i could hardly relax not only due to it hurting but also the girl kept sniffing. Would never use the salon again. Hotel said it would look into it but never heard anymore.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlytroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to pass your feedback on your recent stay. It was great to here you enjoyed most elements and thank you . It was disappointing to here you did not enjoy your beauty treatments. The therapists do ordinarily ask guest on arrival what pressure they would like during massage and do a comfort check during to ensure guest are happy with the treatment, so there should have been opportunity to ask for lighter pressure. I have passed your comments on to our Beauty manager who would like to be associated with my apologies that you did not enjoy.

Once again thank you for your comments,

Kind regards

Linda
Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    372
    310
    161
    148
See reviews for
218
524
35
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Well this is my second review of this hotel and I must say everything would have been perfect if it hadn't been for the noise from the disco.
We booked with laterooms so the room was on the small side but then we didn't expect anything better booking late. The wardrobe space was awful but we coped ok with it.
The staff were all very helpful and couldn't fault the waiting on staff.
Food was very good we booked 3 nights and ate in for 2 of them, we ate out the 3rd night as the soup and hot dessert were the same both nights really do think these should change each evening but that is a minor complaint.
Now I can only say if you book this hotel check where your room is located if there is a party or wedding as we were over the disco and saturday and sunday there were weddings and the noise was unbearable, we felt as though we were in the disco with them it was very loud and the music went on until 1 o'clock we could hear every word of every song and it was torture, to top it all the guests then stand under our room singing and shouting until 2 am.
We checked on the 3rd day to see if there were any weddings that evening as we would have gone home, this was a leisure break and the 3rd day we were exhausted with lack of sleep, we did use ear plugs but they were no use at all. We complained at reception after the 2nd night and were told we should have rang down and the music would have been turned down, I really don't think a wedding party paying over £5000 would accept this and as our location to the disco was so close even the lowest possible music would have been heard. I also don't believe we are the first to complain about noisy revellers so the staff should check when the party ends that all guests have left the premises and are not singing doh a deer etc at 2am!
I am very disappointed because I had been working really hard and needed this break and I came back home still very tired and it was a waste of money, but as I said earlier the hotel is very good and if the other 2 days had been like the 3rd I would have been writing a totally different review and giving it 5 stars. One way around this in my opinion is to give the wedding guests the rooms near to the disco as they would be going to bed late and the noise wouldn't affect them.
I would go back but would check out a few things before booking.

Room Tip: Don't book a room near the party room unless you are one of the party as the noise will drive yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to pass your feedback on your recent stay. It was great to read you enjoyed the hotel and had a pleasant dinner with us on two evenings. Thank you also for your kind comments on our staff.
I do apologise you were disturbed by other guests attending a wedding in the hotel. We do are take into consideration when allocating rooms to keep guests not attending functions in quieter rooms, on occasion this is not possible I am sorry if this was the case. Our night team do always react to guest request to try and irradiate disturbance when ever possible.
Thank you again for your kind comments and I do hope you will be visiting us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Linda
Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed one night at The Hallmark for our anniversary, Very impressed with the Receptionists, friendly and helpful. The room exceeded our expectations, welcomed with some chocolate coated strawberries. Plenty of room to move around, and spotless. Quite liked the wall mounted large Flatscreen TV. We walked into Handforth for a curry, not a great town to be honest, and the pubs were a bit ropey, would suggest Wilmslow, However the Curry was Spot on. One Minus point, the 70's style single paned metal windows did nothing to block any outside noise, but to be fair it was only the odd passing car. Breakfast was ok. Would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simo92
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Everything about it is perfect, we had absolutely no complaints. We tried the leisuer centre which we enjoyed, the food in the brasserie was perfect. We have booked to come again for a park and fly package in jan.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Really good value for money hotel. Taxi only £7 from airport rail station (£19 in a black cab!!) we had booked onto the Motown disco and buffet night and were part of a hen party, for just over£50 pp we got b& b and Motown disco evening with a 2course buffet! Bargain which was a really good evening. The rooms were modern and pleasant just marked down due to no air con and no fridge! All in all it was a good clean hotel near to the airport would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago for the second time. On this occasion though, we booked a park and fly package as we were flying out of Manchester airport- as the receptionist said its like starting the holiday a day early!

The package had been recommended by reception on our last stay. I was a bit concered as to how it all worked with the transfers but i need not of worried! The girl on reception gave us all the information on check in.

Again we ate in the Brasserie, a different menu this time but I was glad to see some of my favourites still being offered. I also noitced that the leisure club area has had some work done, looks much better!

One down side, I still don't like the sheets and blankest on the beds- about time the hotel upgraded to duvets! But at t just £99 including a weeks parking and transfers, this package is a bargin! Will be back later in the summer to do it again.

Room Tip: They tend to put you on the ground floor as its easier for moving luggage around :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Y0rkshire82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at The Hallmark as part of a 2 for 1 deal on a
"bed and breakfast" basis.
Also attended a Michael Buble tribute act with dinner £25 per person and well worth it.
The stay was a good, the rooms were fairly spacious and kept clean.
The staff were friendly and attentive .The breakfast was buffet style with plenty of variety,
the location of the hotel was good for Trafford centre, and local towns. It was not noisy dispite being close to the airport.
All in all a good experience

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluenose42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Handforth
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
2.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Manchester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Manchester
Address: Stanley Road, Handforth SK9 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Handforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Handforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within beautiful leafy grounds, the Hallmark Hotel Manchester Airport is a comfortable, well presented four star property with a great selection of facilities for their guests. Boutique style decoration, relaxing public areas and well appointed rooms. Guest can enjoy use of the health club and spa and complimentary car parking during their stay. The Hallmark Hotel Manchester Airport is also a popular venue for party nights, themed nights, celebrations, meetings and weddings. The hotel has 88 comfortable bedrooms including eight family bedrooms and free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Handforth
Hallmark Hotel Manchester Handforth, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing