We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired and not very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Manchester
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Handforth
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very tired and not very clean”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Three of us spent a day there at the Spa and for afternoon Tea. On arrival at the Spa area the canopy over the door was filthy as was the door step. There was one person on the reception desk (who was lovely and very helpful but over worked as she was trying to deal with 3 groups make coffee and book swimming lessons) The seating area was shabby and not very clean. On finding entering the changing rooms it evident that the whole area could do with a complete revamp, especially the toilets. When booking a spa day you should be warned that Saturday morning is full of children's swimming lessons so very noisy, There are only 5 lounger chairs around the pool and there were quite a few groups of people so getting one was impossible. On the positive side the hot tub/Jacuzzi was the best i have been in at a hotel and the sauna and steam rooms were excellent too. The afternoon tea was ok again there was only one member of staff, they are served in the bar area, we were told to find a place we would like to sit and she would bring over the food. Again the area could have done with a clean or even just a dust pan and brush to get rid of the food on the floor. When the afternoon tea came the sandwiches were all together even though they had been told that one of our party was a vegitarian and although there were 3 of us there were only two of each type of cake, one pot of jam and one small bowl of cream for three scones. The member of staff was really helpful when we pointed this out. This may seem a bit trivial but we had paid £95 for this spa day (only one member of the party had a 1 hour treatment included in this price) I have paid this price in the center of London and had a much better experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. It is disappointing to read you did not enjoy some elements of your visit with us and I do aplogise that this was the case. I am surprised at your comments regarding cleanliness as the hotel prides it's self on our high housekeeping standards, your comments will be discussed with the team immediately,
On occasion the pool area will be busy during certain periods, however I was pleased to read you enjoyed your Jacuzzi.

Kind Regards

Linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    393
    322
    177
    157
See reviews for
231
560
37
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We visited over the Easter Bank Holiday after securing an offer on their website for a Spa Break. The deal included a night in the hotel, Tapas, a three-course meal, Breakfast and a 30 minute treatment.

The hotel is nice and clean, the rooms were nice and the food was very good. We were a little disappointed that a few of the items off the menu were unavailable (table was 8:30 but perhaps this was due more to it being the bank-holiday weekend) but nonetheless the food was excellent, as was breakfast.

Tapas was good and took the edge off our hunger following a swim but whilst it was advertised to begin at 5:30 it was gone six by the time it arrived, quite a few guests were left waiting. Drinks are expensive (£3:90 for a pint of Diet Coke).

The treatments were good but the Spa wasn't the best. There was no real problem with the pool area (although certainly nothing special) but the changing rooms are not nice at all. They were dirty, very dated and like a few reviewers have commented, were more like a poor council-run leisure centre. The whole spa area (which is set in a different building) was worse than any of the 4*+ Hotels or health clubs (Village, Virgin Active, David Lloyd etc) I have visited.

All in all a good Hotel which we would recommend, excellent food, good treatments but the Spa was poor and therefore wouldn't receive a recommendation.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mercurial1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to pass your feedback on following your recent stay.
It was great to here you enjoyed your dinner, breakfast and tapas during your visit. I am aware a couple of dishes were sold out on the menu apologies for this but on occasion this will happen. But your comments are very kind and will be passed on to the team .

I am sorry you felt disappointed with he health club, however do think the comments are a little harsh to the product and do think the facilities on offer are far superior to a public facility .

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards

Linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Beautiful food -lunch, dinner and breakfast. Youngsters were left in charge in the evening with no direction, so though they did their best, service suffered. The hotel has been well refurbished, but dust and bits lying around gave slightly scruffy air. (The empty glasses and rubbish in the entrance area when we arrived were still there six hours later.) Rowdy guests spoiled our night's sleep, though staff dealt with them. The spa needs to be next in line for a refurb! Very handy for all local attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ancra1g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments it was good to read you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding our food offering. The evening of your visit the restaurant manager was on duty and have checked if there were any issues with service she was unaware from guests on the night so my apologies if you felt this. We receive many positive comments regarding service so will ensure this feedback is also reiterated back to the team.

Thank you again for your comments


Kind Regards


Linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We were bought a night in the hotel with spa treatment included for my 30th birthday and the hotel were good enough to let us stay on a friday night. When we arrived we were really impressed with the room, the wine and chocolate dipped strawberry's waiting for us and the tasty tapas. Reception staff were very helpful and we were feeling good. The bathroom in the room did smell slightly of vomit but we didn't think anything of it we were just so pleased with the rest of the hotel.
We tried the pool and gym facilities and they were also okay. We had the treatment booked for Saturday Morning.
The meal which was included in the gift was AMAZING. The food was beautifully prepared and very tasty. We would gladly have gone back to the hotel for the food alone. Again the staff could not have been any nicer.
Unfortunately for us there was a wedding happening in the hotel on that night and some of the guest using the residents bar were alittle loud and very drunk. We decided to take our drinks back to the room and settle for a nice relaxing night infront of the big tv. Shame it never happened :(

We watched tv for a while and had to turn it up to distract from the noise of people running down the corridors and the constant door slamming. We were on the 3rd floor and sadly over reception so that never helped our case for some peace and quiet.

When it came to going to sleep we struggled to lie still. The mattress was extremely uncomfortable and had a dip in the middle, at first it was something to laugh about but at 1.30am when your trying to sleep and your keep rolling back in the middle it doesnt seem so funny. (my partner sells beds and mattresses if they need new ones).

The generator noise, the drunken guests (police were called) and the uncomfortable bed was a constant annoyance. At 2.00am we packed up and checked out! Never in my life have we had to leave a hotel in the middle of the night but this was a must. I would rather drive the 45mins home and at least get a few hours sleep then stay there another half an hour. We had big plans to celebrate the next day and this terrible night did put a cloud over it due to being tired. We never got our spa treatments so could not comment but the rooms did look lovely.
The guy on reception didnt seem that bothered when i told him we were not happy and it was best we left. He was checking someone else in at the time so it was best I didnt go in to detail.

I may consider going to the hotel for the Meal and maybe to try a treatment but not to stay over.

Room Tip: Do not go to 318
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Guest .

Thank you for your comments. I was delighted to read you thought the food in the hotel was amazing and that you enjoyed your dinner so much. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the staff. My sincere apologies you were disturbed by other guests attending a wedding in the hotel. It is a shame this was the case and I am aware the night team did there upmost to stop disruption at this event.

I do hope you will give the hotel another try in the future as you suggested.

Kind Regards

linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Handforth hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Stayed Friday 15th March with a Living social deal.
Big car park, reception really nice, friendly people. Our room was on the third floor so we had to use the lift to take suitcase up, couldnt find it to star with then noticed the ancient looking door was the lift! Dont use if you have a lift phobia didnt use it again for any of the trip. We had chocolate treats in our room which were really yummy, but abit odd, as we had 3 strawberries and one biscuit between us 2, not easy to decide who had to have the extra fruit!

Used the pool shame its in a different building but no biggie, staff were nice showed us to the changing rooms which for the girls at least was huge and dry in the right places, even supplied little cotton buds. Pool was good, had to wait ages to use the jacuzzi as it was taken up by kids and lots of middle aged men who werent even sitting in it, just dangling their feet in. But it was worth the wait.

We had a deal which gave us an appetizer plate of tapas between 5.30 and 7.30pm we arrived down at around 6.30pm and ordered drinks which are abit expencive something like £3.90 for a pint of coke. Most of the tapas food was GONE :( There was no bread left, no rice, almost none of the chicken in tomato sauce, no mushrooms. All that was there was some bits of fish, olives and salad type veg. We sat and ate what was left of the chicken thing and some tomatoes as we didnt feel we could complain as we were getting it for free. We were still hungry so we got a sandwitch to share. The young girl behind the bar was really lovely, chatty and helpful.

The room was really lovely decorated, but as others have said the 'shell'of the building tells its past. The windows are old etc. Bathroom was good apart from the glass door, which offers NO privacy in terms of noise reduction, would not feel comffy using it with anyone but your OH in the room which was still awkward.

Breakfast was amazing as usual in hotels lots of choice and the woman who served us was very attentive.

The only real problem we had was with checking in and out, they required you to put your card in and a random amount would come up, but wouldnt be taken out of your account and it would be put back when you checked out. Well ours took £50, and weve only just had it put back into our accounts over a week later.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swigoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay at the hotel. It was great to read you enjoyed all elements and thank you for such positive comments. We do take pre-authorisation to guest account on check in as is standard practise for any extras, unfortunately the length of time varies from bank to bank and is out of our control - apologies if you felt this was the case.
Once again thanks for you lovely comments and I do hope you will consider us again or a future visit .

Kind Regards

linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed here recently before going to the airport. Quite a find really. Big car park and plenty of spaces near the entrance. Reception was excellent. Bar staff were very good and friendly. Pleasant bar meal and good wine. Room was really nice and to a high standard. I particularly liked the amount of space in the bathroom. We used the pool and sauna- which was a bonus. Quite close to the airport also. Breakfast was filling and relaxed. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeftravelfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It was great to read you enjoyed all elements of your package and was so pleased with the room, facilities and park and fly offering.

Hope you had a good holiday! and come back and see us soon

Kind regards

linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crook, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

My wife & I stayed on Friday night. The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly as was the young lady at the bar when we had our tapas. Used the pool and sauna which were very acceptable and settled down to bed with a large screen wall mounted TV. Breakfast was plentiful and very enjoyable. Would have stayed an extra night but the hotel was full.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Handforth
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
2.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 118 in Manchester
819 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Handforth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Manchester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Manchester
Address: Stanley Road, Handforth SK9 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Handforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Handforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within beautiful leafy grounds, the Hallmark Hotel Manchester Airport is a comfortable, well presented four star property with a great selection of facilities for their guests. Boutique style decoration, relaxing public areas and well appointed rooms. Guest can enjoy use of the health club and spa and complimentary car parking during their stay. The Hallmark Hotel Manchester Airport is also a popular venue for party nights, themed nights, celebrations, meetings and weddings. The hotel has 88 comfortable bedrooms including eight family bedrooms and free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Handforth
Hallmark Hotel Manchester Handforth, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing