We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely relaxing night before our long flight the day after” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Manchester
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Handforth
Manchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing night before our long flight the day after”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

I have been lucky enough to stay at this hotel before for a spa weekend and I loved it so when it popped up under airport deals to leave our car here I told my partner how good it was and the airport deal was very good so without hesitation we booked it! Am I glad we did it was a great way to start the holiday! We were flying a long haul flight early the day after so thought this would be ideal rather than ordering taxis and our car would be safe and sound. Everything from start to finish was lovely; we made the most of the spa and gym facilities (a bit of last min exercise to get my bikini body ready ha ha) and the facilities were more than adequate for our needs. The gym is huge and pool relaxing, yes the jacuzzi was busy but they always are in most places and often get hogged by members but this isn't the hotel's fault. There was only one slight issue we encountered but it was easily resolved. We had requested the free champagne and chocolate strawberries on arrival as we were celebrating our 5 year anniversary but they weren't there. I guessed maybe they would be delivered after we'd had our tea but this wasn't the case. I was going to ring the reception but our phone wasn't working so had to use my mobile (which again is a minor issue) but once I'd spoken to them they quickly brought it up and it was worth the wait, only problem being I would have preferred it before my dinner as it was a big bottle of champgane and didn't want to get tipsy late at night before our big flight ha ha! The evening meal was lovely at it was last time, exceptionally tasty and well presented. Everything was such good value. We didn't get to experience breakfast because of our early flight but I know from having it last time it's out of this world. Thanks again Hallmark we shall be here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarangelaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for such a fabulous review on your recent stay. It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind compliments on our food and service which will be shared with the team.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    369
    304
    160
    143
See reviews for
213
516
35
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

My husband and I decided to take advantage of overnight babysitters and celebrated our Wedding Anniversary at The Hallmark Hotel. With a special offer that included dinner, bed and breakfast for £99, we booked over the phone with an exceptionally friendly and attentive Reservations lady. I came away from the call very impressed and excited! The little things count.
On arrival, the receptionist was lovely and checked us in, advising us of all the services available to us including the gym and spa.
When we got to our room, we were delighted to discover that we had been upgraded and a lovely card reading "Happy Anniversary" had been left for us alongside chocolate dipped strawberries and shortbread with balloons!
The room was lovely and the bed was huge!

At dinner, we were met by a waitress called Lisa. She was very attentive, professional and had a very good knowledge of the menu and wine list. I had the duck salad starter and slow roast lamb main. Both meals were very, very nice indeed as was the wine.
Later, we had cocktails at the bar and although there weren't many other guests, this did not affect the level of service and a young lady working on the bar that evening looked after us until gone midnight.
This was a fabulous occasion and brilliant value for money. Whether you're after somewhere to stay prior to travel from Manchester airport or a special occasion, I would definately recommend The Hallmark, Handforth.

Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jones184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such and amazing review. It was wonderful that you found the staff so attentive and that the attention to detail provided for your anniversary was recognised. I will share all your kind comments with the team.

Thank you again and I do hope we will welcome you back to the hotel for further celebrations!

Kind Regards

Linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

i went on my friends hen party,there was 11 of us,at check in we were asked for a credit or debit card per room because they needed to take 50 pound per room in case anyone used room service and that it would be put back onto our accounts 2 days later,ive personally never heard of this before and ive been to a few hotels,none of us had a card on us as we'd already paid for everything apart from drinks.......anyway the hotel was very nice,we enjoyed the spa and had a lovely massage,the rooms are nice but they only gave us one tea bag each and i like a few brews through the day ,so after phoning down they brought up some more...after seeing what the tapas consisted of basically chopped veg so decided not to have any it wern't even worth £2.50....we had a really good night at the decades disco at night,the food was very nice and great music,bear in mind the drinks are a bit pricey...the breafast was really good and tasty there were plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review on your recent stay. It was great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It is standard procedure for hotels to ask guest for credit card on check in to cover any extras taken, I do apologise that you were surprised at this.

Great to hear you enjoyed,

Kind Regards

Linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

I've stayed at the Hallmark Hotel on various work trips up to Manchester. The hotel is nice enough and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are reasonably comfortable and appointed (if quite warm!) and the hotel offers good value for money. However I feel like the food in the restaurant could be a bit better and certainly they could offer more healthy (but appetising) options. Also every time I've tried to use the gym it has been absolutely bursting full and I've given up in frustration at waiting to use the equipment. That said the staff more than make up for any slight shortcomings and overall I would recommend the hotel if you need to travel nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay's at Hallmark Manchester. It was good to read you enjoyed most elements of your visit. Apologies you have found the gym busy at times ... can only assume it is during peak hours you have visited, as we normally do not have an issue with it being too busy.

Once again thanks for your comments and I do hope we will welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Just returned from a wedding at the hallmark hotel. I would like to comment on how good the facilities are and the staff were excellent. I would definetly recommend the hotel either for a weekend away or wedding. Great breakfast buffet and rooms very comfortable and clean. Great weekend!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD27187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a positive experience with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your wedding experience with us and thank you for your kind comments on the team which will be shared.

Once again many thanks

Kind regards,

Linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We had an early flight out of Manchester and read about this place on TripAdvisor and really just wanted to concur with some of the others who commented.
Absolutely super value for money and it would have got 5 balls if the room had been a bit smarter and the heating in it more controllable, we fried ! However, Easy to get to, charming receptionist, damn good food quality, safe parking for a week , faultless taxis to and from the terminal meant a very stress free early morning flight and a bonus start to a short break.Note we were too early to try breakfast but if dinner was anything to go by ??
We will do it again in October.

Room Tip: Check the windows open !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jr_walker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest,

What a great review thank you! . Our park and fly package is popular with guests and it was great to read it met your expectations and that you enjoyed all elements of your package.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us in October.

Kind regards,

Linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilwinning, Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Just returned from a Spa weekend for my friend's 60th. Hotel staff at check-in were very helpful and pleasant. Rooms were ready for 12 noon which was a bonus. Lovely champagne & chocolate strawberries on arrival, delicious. Spa treatments were very good, girls were lovely. Pool area was adequate but VERY warm!!!!! No chance of chilling out in here! Tapas at 5.30 was tasty, although bar prices very expensive. Our 3 course dinner in the evening was delicious, and presentation was excellent, compliments to the chef. All of the above were included in our price for our overnight stay. Overall, a very pleasant experience and excellent value for money. But please, do something about the heat in this hotel! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenOfHols31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your excellent review on your recent stay. Your kind compliments have been passed on to all departments. It is always endearing when guest take the time to compliment the staff who do there upmost to make guests stay as enjoyable as possible. It was great to read you enjoyed your spa treatments and that you found the food offering so enjoyable .
I do hope we will welcome you back to the hotel at sometime in the near future.
Thanks again

Kind regards,

Linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Handforth
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
2.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
3.4 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Manchester

Property: Hallmark Hotel Manchester
Address: Stanley Road, Handforth SK9 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Handforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Handforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in leafy grounds Hallmark Hotel Manchester is a comfortable , well presented four star property with a great selection of facilities for guests . Boutique style decoration, relaxing public areas and well appointed rooms. Guest can enjoy use of the health club & spa and complimentary car parking for there stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Handforth
Hallmark Hotel Manchester Handforth, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing