We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Manchester
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Handforth
Reviewed 9 March 2014

After booking the spa retreat and afternoon tea for a friends birthday, We arrived to dirty changing room with mould an dirty nappies on the floor after deciding to give the spa area a try was shocked to find children's swimming lessons going on in the pool! Which defiantly didn't make it a 'relaxing spa retreat' pool area was also in need of a good paint and clean! Wouldn't recommend to anybody!!!! Biggest false advertisement I have ever seen.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Nataliekingx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, it was disappointing to read you never enjoyed your visit with us and I do offer my apologies. As with most health clubs swimming lessons are on for a couple of hours twice a week and we do try to limit this to off peak times.
It is unfortunate that a guest cleary never use the bins provided, we do our up most to keep the changing rooms clean and I am sorry you felt they were not on this occasion, and your comments will be reviewed immediately .
Regards


Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Visited this Hotel for afternoon tea, bit of a disappointment, room dark with not much atmosphere, tables hadn't been cleaned and the floor needed a good hoover, food on the floor etc. The coffee was only just warm. Food was OK with plenty to eat. Sandwiches, cakes and scones. Didn't feel we had had a treat at all, which is what afternoon tea is all about. Won't be going back, what a shame.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrh146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

My sincere apologies you never enjoyed your afternoon tea experience with us. Feedback on this offering is normally excellent so your comments are disappointing. Coffee is brewed freshly to guest order Barrista style so I am unsure why the temperature was not hot enough however will review.

Kind regards

Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at the hallmark as a stop over before flying from Manchester airport the night before our flight and on the way back. The hotel is in a good area. within easy reach of the airport, the Trafford centre and has a mall just at the end of he road with a john lewis and sainsburys.
on our 1st night we had a three course meal and a breakfast the next morning which was in a package for £80 including our room, which was excellent value. there was a small supplement for steak or shell fish but well worth it.
There is a health club which can be used, the bar area is very relaxing although the drink is a bit expensive.
rooms are comfortable and of a decent standard
The APH car parking for the airport is a 5min drive away, easy to find and can recommend them as their service was excellent.
We arrived back in the uk at 2am but checking in was of no problem and check out was not till 11am, most places are usually 10am so bonus points for that.
Would definitely return to this hotel if flying out from Manchester airport or a trip to the Trafford centre.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgflooring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review . It was great to read you found your stay with us so enjoyable and such good value for money .

I do hope you will return to the hotel at some time in the near future .

Kind regards

Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were supposed to stay at another hotel but was sent here instead. If this hotel has had a 5 million pound refurbishment then the owner needs to get their money back!!! On entering the hotel it is partly painted, the roof had damp patches, the lifts didn't work and we were on the third floor,so we started up the steps only to have to wait for the cleaner to finish cleaning the stairs and this was at approx 14:30pm. The bar area was dark and dingy and not exactly clean and the drinks were very expensive. If we had paid the £98 I would be trying to get my money back, this is not even a 2*. Our bedroom had damp patches on the roof, it had not been cleaned the carpet was full of crumbs, the curtains looked like they had been screwed up and then put up at the windows in a hurry and the window frames were rusty and so we did not even try to open the window in case it fell out!!! The car park was full of holes and because of the rain it was muddy and it was difficult to find a decent path to walk to the reception. Not exactly what we expected of a 4* and certainly would not go again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annestephenson59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

What a disappointing review, I was sorry to read you never enjoyed your time with us.
I would have to disagree with the many comments you have posted and do feel they are out of context and unfair and in no way a representation of the product we have on offer. I can only put this down to personal preference.
I do hope guests will take notes of the many positive and accurate reviews on this site.

Once again my apologies you were not happy with the hotel.

Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We came to the Hallmark for a family wedding in March. The food we were served at dinner exceeded expectations, the service was good and everyone seemed to have a lovely day. Unfortunately our room- on the fourth floor with the lift out of order was stifling, we had no way of turning down any heating and had to sleep with the window wide open. (It wouldn't open a little it was wide open or shut)
In the morning breakfast was of a good standard with a decent choice and plenty of juice and tea/coffee, unfortunately the water pressure in the room was so low that I couldn't have a proper shower and wash my hair. Reception did say they would report it to maintenance though my fathers room on the first floor had the same problem.
With a bit of an upgrade the hotel could be great but it does need bringing into 2014!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocobear74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, it was good to read you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us.

My apologies the lift was out of order on your visit, it was waiting for the parts to complete the refurbishment and for guests safety was taken out of order. I apologise for any inconvenience caused.
My apologies for issues with the water pressure this is generally not an issue in the hotel, we have this checked out by our engineer - thank you for brining this to our attention.

Thank you again

Kind regards

Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Great stay at Hallmark, quick and easy, upgraded to dinner for £20 which was well worth the money, room lovely and clean with tea and coffee facilities, leisure club was an added bonus gym swim and treatments available, would defiantly book again !

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank joloblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The lift was out of order and we had to carry luggage up to 4th floor...we rang reception for our complimentary nibbles as we couldn't get in for dinner until 9pm as we had a massage booked. After 3 phone calls and 1hour later our nibbles arrived...a plate of crisps..grapes carrots and cucumber 2 dips and a thin slice of salmon was delivered. Our massage was cancelled as was our manicure but rebooked for next day. Evening meal was below average and not a lot of choice. A hair was found in our ice cream. Room extremely hot but the window would only open wide and it was very windy outside. 2 non alcoholic drinks were £9!!!On a positive note the breakfast was very nice but doubt we will visit again!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaznkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Handforth
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Handforth) Hotel
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 120 in Manchester
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
6.1 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
2.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Manchester

Address: Stanley Road, Handforth SK9 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Handforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Handforth
Price Range: £53 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within beautiful leafy grounds, the Hallmark Hotel Manchester Airport is a comfortable, well presented four star property with a great selection of facilities for their guests. Boutique style decoration, relaxing public areas and well appointed rooms. Guest can enjoy use of the health club and spa and complimentary car parking during their stay. The Hallmark Hotel Manchester Airport is also a popular venue for party nights, themed nights, celebrations, meetings and weddings. The hotel has 88 comfortable bedrooms including eight family bedrooms and free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Handforth
Hallmark Hotel Manchester Handforth, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing