We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The English Dining Room

The English Dining Room
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmes Chapel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The English Dining Room
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very welcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We booked an overnight stay for a family occassion. The accommodation was excellent with a very high standard and well equipped en-suite. Both the evening meal and breakfast were first class with plenty of food on offer. The food is traditional English fare but to a high quality.The staff were very friendly without being over bearing and nothing was a problem. It was extremely good value for money. Although off the main roads it is well worth a visit it if you are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireGas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sandbach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Owners had double booked us and upped the price 17 days prior to our wedding, we had to find a reception elsewhere so please beware. Get things in writing with a signature. Marriage is a stressful time and the owners do not care about how special the event is. We were left over a barrel with no where to turn and even though we had booked the rooms in advance she let them out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

The English Dining Room is hidden away down a half mile concrete track near Kermincham. It is a lovely Cheshire farm house and Bettie goes to extraordinary lengths to ensure her guests satisfaction. The Food is superbly English and her staff an example that needs to be copied elsewhere.

It is not licensed so bring your own...there is no corkage!

Wonderful surroundings and great ambiance this cannot be recommended more highly

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rameman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Now this was like nothing we had experienced before. Went along to celebrate my husbands birthday. This is private dining at it's best. You do need to pre order your meal from a variety of dishes approx 3 days before hand and the minimum is six persons. This is Bettie and Anthony Riddells home, from the moment you step into it, you are welcomed and feel instantly at ease. We felt it a bonus to take our own alcohol as the premises are unlicenced.
Our party indulged in toasted honey and sesame goat's cheese, leek and potato soup, beef wellington, roast pork, bread and butter pudding, gooseberry fool and cheese and biscuits. All the courses were cooked to perfection with the most attentive service.
Do go along if you get the opportunity as you wont be dissapointed. We loved every moment of our 3 hour time spent at Field farm, felt special and valued.

Room Tip: Sorry just ate
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hazel3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holmes Chapel hotels
0.0 mi away
Bridge Farm B&B
Bridge Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Holmes Chapel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
0.0 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Swan Inn
Swan Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmes Chapel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The English Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Dining Room

Property: The English Dining Room
Address: Fields Farm Forty Acre Lane | Kermincham, Holmes Chapel CW4 8DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Holmes Chapel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Holmes Chapel
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The English Dining Room Holmes Chapel, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing