We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sitting next to the chef for breakfast without choice ?”

Kinderton House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kinderton House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Middlewich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sitting next to the chef for breakfast without choice ?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

As a seasoned business traveller I often stay away in line with my work commitments. With frequent visits to a wide range of hotels you gain experience of what you find acceptable and what you most certainly do not. For example; if the Wi Fi is bad you tend to go elsewhere next time but will use the place as a back-up if a better choice is not available, if the bathroom and bed is unclean you never visit again.
At this particular establishment I encountered a new situation which put me most definitely in 'never visit again' category. I am 36, I have a professional occupation and most of the time I would just like a hotel to provide a comfortable room with some decent food so I can get work out of the way and go home quietly. I am most certainly not 10 years old so be treated like a 10 year old and be put in a position of either complaining or having to leave at 8am for something so basic in terms of running a hotel made me quite agitated first thing in the morning .....
To be clear; when paying the asking price for the accommodation and then coming down for breakfast at 8am I do not under any circumstances whatsoever expect to be informed that I will be sitting next to the chef/ owner on the same table as him for breakfast and that “he does not bite / what do I want for breakfast” all in the same sentence while seemingly interrupting his toast. For a hotel to charge £18 for a fish course, to have at least 15 tables free for breakfast sittings to put its guests in a no choice position of sitting next to a complete stranger for breakfast would suggest they need to look at some of the basic ways of doing things that many hotels seemed to have grasped with ease. Paying guests unless with their party do NOT want to sit next to strangers for breakfast without a choice!

Room Tip: You will need to request an iron & ironing board seperatley as one is not supplied in the room
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Christo197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    19
    5
    4
    12
See reviews for
23
29
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with friends on a Saturday night . We stayed in rooms at the top of the hotel. Both rooms were very nice and clean with ample room. We ate in the hotels restaurant and can give it nothing but praise, the restaurant was very busy with people out for christmas parties yet the food was top quality and nothing was too much trouble. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Would recommend the hotel and restaurant. Had an extremely pleasant stay and will be booking again for next year. Fantastic.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank graduate19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

A warm Welcome from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave, the hotel is spotless , The Rooms are spacious and modern, with flat screen Tv's . I will be joining a fitness club the minute i arrive home as the food here is superb.
Carole and all the staff are so friendly, I was travelling solo for business and never once felt alone as they make you part of the family.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a lovely leather sofa, which gives you that " At Home " feeling . Really easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Slightly overpriced for lunch food was quite good but not as good as it was when I went couple of years ago, staff friendly, small portions chips came in a bucket ! Think it was a gimmick to serve fewer chips

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Big thank you to all the staff at the Kinderton House Hotel had a great weekend cant do enough for you rooms spotless breakfast very filling and hot, outside area great for your early morning coffee big thank you from all 17 of us from Westhoughton Marie

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Recently renovated, spotless,modern and well managed. Ideally situated by the canal. We enjoyed the Middlewich Midwest very much.delicious breakfast. Lovely outside area,spacious with smart variety of facilities.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quiet when there are live music gigs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathrynNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Ate here on a Friday night, menu choice was good, food was excellent!!!! I mean excellent!!! At about 10pm, a live band began to play and the atmosphere was brilliant!! Outside area at the back is excellent with plenty of modern tables and umbrellas and even better for a nice day there is a huge field and play area for children! Great place to go in a very tired middlewich.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlewich
0.5 mi away
The Sandhurst
The Sandhurst
#2 of 2 in Middlewich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
3.0 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
3.4 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Northwich South Hotel
0.0 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 5 in Middlewich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#4 of 5 in Middlewich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinderton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinderton House Hotel

Property: Kinderton House Hotel
Address: Kinderton Street, Middlewich CW10 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Middlewich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Middlewich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kinderton House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kinderton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinderton House Hotel Middlewich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing