We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hopley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hopley House
Ranked #1 of 5 Middlewich B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just returned and to be honest was a bit disappointed. Found it pricey for what it was. Have had far nicer breakfasts elsewhere . Pillows not great. horrible noises from a nearby room each time a tap was used. Welcome not friendly enough to compensate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 827Jen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishRyan, Owner at Hopley House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
I’m sorry you were disappointed by our bed and breakfast.
You booked a double en-suite room for you and your young daughter and paid £55.00 including breakfast for you both.
Breakfast is cooked to order. Unfortunately as soon as yours was ready your daughter spilt some milk and you wanted to change her so it was kept warm for you which is not how we like to do things.
I’m saddened that you thought I wasn’t friendly enough. If you wouldn’t mind sending me an email to stay@hopleyhouse.co.uk I’d love to hear your suggestions as to how I can improve my customer service.

Kind regards

Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    16
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
25
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This js a nice enough 3 star B&B on a busy road fairly convenient for Leighton Hospital (by car).

A gentleman welcomed me and was extremely helpful. My room (3) was clean and fairly interesting, typical of a barn conversion room. However the ambience was not enhanced by it's 1980's pine vibe! Traffic noise was prominent but not so much as to detract from sleep. The corridors and communal areas reminded me of my student hall of residence; functional. However, the absolute highlight of my stay was the gorgeous cooked-to-order fry-up complete with lean bacon.

Some people may find the facility of a little kitchen with microwave and fridge a real asset, particularly if travelling on a budget.

Much can be gleaned about a place from the quality of its coat hangers, and these ones? Plastic. And the internet? Slow. What about the partition wall with the next room? Well…..let's just say you can hear everything.

In summary, for £42 a night single occupancy, there are no complaints here…..but just one accolade - the breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 3 has an ensuite. The window faces sideways. Traffic noise is still loud, but when the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosieJosieJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Very clean, spacious and all basic facilities of a bed and breakfast you would expect for £55. However travellers who like to sleep with the window open should be aware that it is located on an incredibly busy road - trucks, sirens, motorbikes travelling at speed very close to the building. Could not get to sleep until about 3am and then woken at 6 by build up of fast and noisy traffic. No fault of the B&B - just worth knowing before you book.

Room Tip: none that I can think of
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank va t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

A comfortable spacious room with a king size bed, clean fresh and well maintained, with an adequate supply of tea and coffee.
Although we booked a double room with private bathroom, on the owner's website, we got a room with an ensuite shower which was quite roomy and OK for one night.
The breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: If you specifically want a room with a bath or a room with a shower, speak direct to the owners, oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Friendly welcome. Shown to room 2. No en suite, bathroom is only for room 2 but at the other side of the shared landing :-( not impressed. Only one night so put up with it. Place is nice and clean, tiny TV, Tiny bath towel, both need to be bigger. Tea and coffee provided, little shy with the milk. Breakfast is very nice. I would stay here again, but not room 2.

Room Tip: NOT ROOM 2..... It's 2013 all rooms should be en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saywhatisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishRyan, Owner at Hopley House, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your fair review of our B&B.
The only thing I’d like to clarify for future guests reading this is your comments about the bathroom.
Not all our bathrooms are en-suite and we don’t advertise that they are. 4 out of 11 rooms have their own private bathroom no more than 2 steps across the corridor. As it was our old barn that we converted we physically couldn't have all the rooms’ en-suite so we did the next best thing.
If you’d like to guarantee having an en-suite room, book via our own website and choose the en-suite option or give us a call.
Thanks
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I had to write following a stay at Hopley House as from the moment of booking through to time of departure I was made to feel really welcome and valued as a client. Nothing was too much trouble and Tricia and her parents do a fantastic job from start to finish. The rooms are tidy, clean and spacious. The breakfast was terrific with a choice of food which was all freshly prepared and served hot and not too greasy like a lot of places. They helped out with where to go for an evening meal and their recommendation was spot on. All in all a really helpful and friendly resting spot that proved good value for money.

Room Tip: Any! They are all fine from as the building is not overlooked or on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irwin_005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Our inability to read maps nearly resulted in a"no show".
We were glad that eventually we found it.Middlewich traffic is terrible and even when we left cars were nose to tail in the town.
Hopley House was an establishment I would return to.Large bedroom huge bathroom and a delicious breafast made it an enjoyable stopover on a long journey.Great beds also

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlewich
1.5 mi away
The Sandhurst
The Sandhurst
#2 of 2 in Middlewich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Northwich South Hotel
4.6 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#4 of 5 in Middlewich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kinderton House Hotel
Kinderton House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Middlewich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopley House

Property: Hopley House
Address: Hopley House Nantwich Road, Middlewich CW10 0LN, England (Formerly The Harvest Store)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Middlewich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Middlewich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hopley House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cheshire, this 200 year old barn conversion has been lovingly restored into bed and breakfast accommodation. Hearty cooked breakfasts are served from 7am to 8.30Am Monday to Friday and as requested at weekend, serving fresh local produce. We now have a Sliver Award for our Visit Britain 3 star B&B. Hopley House has rapidly gained a reputation for its service, quality produce and a welcoming, relaxed atmosphere. We have 7 rooms on the first floor and 4 rooms on the ground floor, each with its own bathroom, a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and tea/coffee making facilities. We are just 2 miles south of Middlewich and 8 miles north of Nantwich on the A530 with plenty of parking space. In Cheshire we have Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, Jodrell Bank, Stately Homes and lots of other things to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hopley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopley House Middlewich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing