We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem in the Cheshire countryside close to several tourist destinations”
Review of Hopley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hopley House
Ranked #1 of 5 Middlewich B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the Cheshire countryside close to several tourist destinations”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Great hospitality from friendly family who went the extra mile by giving my wife and I the guest suite as it wasn't being used at the time. We didn't pay extra for this. Rooms are spotlessly clean. The breakfast is made with top quality local produce and cooked to order. We were within an hour of the two destinations we wanted to visit over our weekend, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Centre and Liverpool. We could have got a train into Liverpool but we had booked a show meaning we could not get the last train back. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raylavybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    17
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
25
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We're two 'mature' ladies who were cycling from Land's End to John O'Groats and we'd planned to stay in Market Drayton. However all rooms there were booked so we were delighted to be offered a room at Hopley House. We arrived late after cycling from Leominster and received a very warm welcome. Our bikes were locked away in the barn and we were shown to a very comfortable room with en suite facilities. Everything about the fixtures and fittings and the plumbing was good quality. The beds were really comfortable and we slept soundly. We half expected to hear traffic noise as it's on a main road, but we weren't disturbed at all, even though we had the window open. Breakfast the next morning was excellent, cooked individually for us and substantial enough for hungry cyclists. The hosts were very interested in what we were doing and were very kind and friendly. it was directly on our route, so couldn't have been a better location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColbaggerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithgow, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My mother and I found Hopley house by luck.
So glad that we did as the customer service was exceptionally outstanding.
We were stuck without a car for 2 days & the family went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble.
The 2 different rooms we stayed in both with ensuites were very clean & tidy, and fairly big in size (we had 5 suitcases in the rooms, still with plenty of space)
Nice to also have a cuppa in the room! AND the breakfast is by far the BEST breakfast I have had in the UK (ive had a few)!!
Would recommend Hopely house to anyone!!
Thanks again Trish & family for everything you done for both mum & I on our stay!!
Jenna & Christine

Room Tip: Room 3 & 8 - really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine2259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just returned and to be honest was a bit disappointed. Found it pricey for what it was. Have had far nicer breakfasts elsewhere . Pillows not great. horrible noises from a nearby room each time a tap was used. Welcome not friendly enough to compensate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 827Jen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishRyan, Owner at Hopley House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
I’m sorry you were disappointed by our bed and breakfast.
You booked a double en-suite room for you and your young daughter and paid £55.00 including breakfast for you both.
Breakfast is cooked to order. Unfortunately as soon as yours was ready your daughter spilt some milk and you wanted to change her so it was kept warm for you which is not how we like to do things.
I’m saddened that you thought I wasn’t friendly enough. If you wouldn’t mind sending me an email to stay@hopleyhouse.co.uk I’d love to hear your suggestions as to how I can improve my customer service.

Kind regards

Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This js a nice enough 3 star B&B on a busy road fairly convenient for Leighton Hospital (by car).

A gentleman welcomed me and was extremely helpful. My room (3) was clean and fairly interesting, typical of a barn conversion room. However the ambience was not enhanced by it's 1980's pine vibe! Traffic noise was prominent but not so much as to detract from sleep. The corridors and communal areas reminded me of my student hall of residence; functional. However, the absolute highlight of my stay was the gorgeous cooked-to-order fry-up complete with lean bacon.

Some people may find the facility of a little kitchen with microwave and fridge a real asset, particularly if travelling on a budget.

Much can be gleaned about a place from the quality of its coat hangers, and these ones? Plastic. And the internet? Slow. What about the partition wall with the next room? Well…..let's just say you can hear everything.

In summary, for £42 a night single occupancy, there are no complaints here…..but just one accolade - the breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 3 has an ensuite. The window faces sideways. Traffic noise is still loud, but when the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosieJosieJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Very clean, spacious and all basic facilities of a bed and breakfast you would expect for £55. However travellers who like to sleep with the window open should be aware that it is located on an incredibly busy road - trucks, sirens, motorbikes travelling at speed very close to the building. Could not get to sleep until about 3am and then woken at 6 by build up of fast and noisy traffic. No fault of the B&B - just worth knowing before you book.

Room Tip: none that I can think of
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank va t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

A comfortable spacious room with a king size bed, clean fresh and well maintained, with an adequate supply of tea and coffee.
Although we booked a double room with private bathroom, on the owner's website, we got a room with an ensuite shower which was quite roomy and OK for one night.
The breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: If you specifically want a room with a bath or a room with a shower, speak direct to the owners, oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlewich
2.2 mi away
The Sandhurst
The Sandhurst
#2 of 2 in Middlewich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Northwich South Hotel
4.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
2.2 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#4 of 5 in Middlewich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kinderton House Hotel
Kinderton House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Middlewich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopley House

Property: Hopley House
Address: Hopley House Nantwich Road, Middlewich CW10 0LN, England (Formerly The Harvest Store)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Middlewich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Middlewich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hopley House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cheshire, this 200 year old barn conversion has been lovingly restored into bed and breakfast accommodation. Hearty cooked breakfasts are served from 7am to 8.30Am Monday to Friday and as requested at weekend, serving fresh local produce. We now have a Sliver Award for our Visit Britain 3 star B&B. Hopley House has rapidly gained a reputation for its service, quality produce and a welcoming, relaxed atmosphere. We have 7 rooms on the first floor and 4 rooms on the ground floor, each with its own bathroom, a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and tea/coffee making facilities. We are just 2 miles south of Middlewich and 8 miles north of Nantwich on the A530 with plenty of parking space. In Cheshire we have Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, Jodrell Bank, Stately Homes and lots of other things to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hopley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopley House Middlewich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing