We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Relaxed Meal”

The White Bear Middlewich
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Middlewich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$23
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: 17th Century former Coaching Inn fully restored at the end of 2011. Freehouse offering choice of 4 or 5 changing real ales on hand pump. Food available all day from Noon with light bites and baguettes to larger main meals all freshly cooked using local produce. Children welcome as are dogs. Free WIFI , daily newspapers and log burning stoves in the bar and snug. Separate function room available to hire for christenings, family celebrations and business meetings. CAMRA good beer guide 2016 and 2017
Reviewed 12 February 2020

Enjoyed a meal with friends. The food was good quality and portion sizes were just right as the food wasn't piled high which I find off putting. Reasonable selection of drinks including real ales. Staff friendly and helpful. Decor relaxed, modern and clean looking. Toilets clean although could do with some heating. Would return again.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2020

We chose The White Bear for our family Christmas Eve dinner as its our local pub. We were a party of 10 and we pre-ordered. The menu choice was excellent and for 2 courses it was £16.95 which was amazing value. Every single starter, main course and dessert was delicious and cooked to perfection and we can honestly say that it was one of the best meals we’ve had. So to John (the chef) well done – it really made our Christmas Eve even more special.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 December 2019

After a long 20 minutes of trying to find somewhere to eat in a strange town, eventually stumbled into this beautiful comfortable restaurant.. seated quickly and served promptly by polite friendly staff, I went for a lamb shoulder with veg, potato and gravy - and my god this was the most amazing lamb I’ve ever had, the meal cost £13.95 and I honestly would be charging a higher amount for such a glorious meal, the chefs deserve a lot of credit for the meal, the two friends I was with also thoroughly enjoyed their meal. Amazing!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank davidrG1471LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 November 2019 via mobile

I went there for tea on my own as I was working away. Great staff, very friendly and informative. I had the steak pie and a pint of stout. Lovely food and nice atmosphere. Would defiantly recommend.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank jpc0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 November 2019

Superb food and drink in lovely surroundings.
Excellent menu and great service.
Well worth a visit in Wheelock Street.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank dodgeyhodgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The White Bear Middlewich also viewed

Middlewich, Cheshire
 
Middlewich, Cheshire
Middlewich, Cheshire
 

Been to The White Bear Middlewich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.