We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Golden Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Lion
Ranked #4 of 5 Middlewich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2013

stayed here on a sunday night. Nice pub.... relaxed atmosphere with 2 open roaring fires... nice and cozy.

Rooms very clean.. all ensuite, No nose at night.i would recoomend people to stay here. we booked off late rooms.com for £40 for 2 people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Golden Lion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

had intended to go to the Big Lock for Friday lunch but closed at 12:15pm so decided to see if the Golden Lion was a Dog friendly pub as we had our lovely little Maltichon Snowie with us and yes they were!

This pub has a lovely friendly atmosphere and all the staff are just so helpful.

They have lovely cozy seating and very welcoming open fires.

They even had Sauvignon Blanc

Can't comment on the rooms but the staff the food the atmosphere is outstanding

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Snowiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Best overnight stay of the year. This is a super friendly pub, nice locals, well kept beer, and very helpfully staff.
Very Cleen rooms -nice and well appointed.
Overall I couldn't have wished for more.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraint S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My fiancee and I decided to spend the night here before our flight home the next day. We were unsure as what to expect but were pleasantly pleased with what we saw. The pub upon entry was cosy and warm and the atmosphere was very friendly. We were shown to our room, which included a double bed, en-suite and a TV that dwarfed the tvs from premier inns we were used to staying in. Being a man, I appreciated this very much!! We decided to make the most of our stay, and had a drink at the bar snuggling up beside the log fire. A quiz night was also on, which we decided to join in. Sadly we didnt win, but we enjoyed the experience none-the-less and the people we met made it all the better. We went to bed around 12 and were pleasantly surprised that no noise could be heard from the bar. The bed was very comfortable and it didnt take long for us both to fall asleep. In the morning we used the bathroom facilites which were very clean and modern, and my fiancee enjoyed the power shower very much. Breakfast wasnt included with the very reasonable price we paid for an overnight stay, however we got a very tasty bacon sandwich from the breakfast grill next door just before we left for the airport

I would recommend anyone to stay here for its exceptional value for money, welcoming atmosphere and a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holmeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We booked a room at the Golden Lion. When we got there, we were asked to pay before we got to see the room (as we had booked through Laterooms they already had our credit card details so we would have been charged anyway even if we hadn't taken room). They would only take cash and didn't offer a receipt. Our room was on the second floor-I was surprised that these stairs were considered safe but assume the planning dept has inspected them. Room appeared fine (new Ikea furniture), although quite dusty. Bathroom was new and everything worked (although shower started dripping when sink tap turned on). We were told we had to back in by midnight, as it would be locked up, and they couldn't give us a late key. We were back at 11.55pm and bar stayed open till at least 1am and noise continued to 2am. Then got woken up at 6am as sun came shining in the inadequate vertical blinds.
There are no breakfast facilities in the pub, and we had been led to believe that once we left in the morning, we would not get back into the room.
Next time I'm in Middlewich, I'll go to the Travelodge (Golden Lion was not a cheap alternative-we paid considerably more than the £29 on their website)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JeanBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlewich
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Middlewich
Travelodge Middlewich
#1 of 2 in Middlewich
154 reviews
3.4 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
0.1 mi away
The Sandhurst
The Sandhurst
#2 of 2 in Middlewich
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#3 of 5 in Middlewich
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kinderton House Hotel
Kinderton House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Middlewich
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion

Address: 61 Chester Road, Middlewich CW10 9ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Middlewich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Middlewich
Price Range: £33 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular location in Cheshire, this popular hotel offers easy access to a variety of town & countryside destinations. Located in the heart of Middlewich, the Hotel offers fantastic transportation links being only 1 mile from Junction 18 of the M6 Motorway, the town of Winsford is only 1 mile away, Northwich is 3 miles & Crewe is 4 miles away. The Hotel boasts excellent travel connections being only 1 mile from Winsford Train Station & 2 miles from Sandbach Railway station. Manchester Airport is approximately half an hour drive. This is also a great location for short breaks & holidays with plenty to see & do. Nearby sites of interest include Jodrell Bank Science Centre, Delamere Forest & Oulton Park. The Golden Lion Hotel dates back to the 16th Century & offers a fully licensed bar offering award winning hand pulled Ales together with a wide range of other alcoholic & non-alcoholic drinks to be enjoyed in front of real log fires. The Golden Lion Accommodation offers modern clean rooms at good value. All rooms have flatscreen television up to 42", tea & coffee making facilities & free high speed wi-fi. Also available for all guests is a free on-site car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Golden Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Middlewich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing